? 10/14 Lola PMPS 164 (AT2) Hold dose? +1 163; +2 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pookie (GA)

Member Since 2020
This is her lowest PM reading, and I'm thinking I should skip the evening dose. Her appetite is good and behavior playful.
 
OH you DO need advice. Looks like everyone is busy at the moment. Good you you reading the stickies. I'm interested in what the advice would be.
 
I remembered reading a thread recommending that AT2 users add 25 pts to a 200 pt threshold since AT2 meters read higher. The threshold on the human meter for no-dosing is below 150. If I add 25 points to arrive at a no-dose threshold of 175, Lo is below that. Hence my comfort with holding the dose. (And Lola doesn't mind forgoing another needed stick - really!)

High numbers are scary, but low numbers terrify me. I do not want to go there! I'm not worried that she'll go there tonight since I'm holding her insulin, but I've set up my ketone testing kit just in case. ("Honey, why is the soup ladle in the bathroom?")

Thanks for holding my hand through this.
 
I remembered reading a thread recommending that AT2 users add 25 pts to a 200 pt threshold since AT2 meters read higher. The threshold on the human meter for no-dosing is below 150. If I add 25 points to arrive at a no-dose threshold of 175, Lo is below that. Hence my comfort with holding the dose. (And Lola doesn't mind forgoing another needed stick - really!)

High numbers are scary, but low numbers terrify me. I do not want to go there! I'm not worried that she'll go there tonight since I'm holding her insulin, but I've set up my ketone testing kit just in case. ("Honey, why is the soup ladle in the bathroom?")

Thanks for holding my hand through this.
I think you are doing the right thing. lol on the ladle :D

I'm off to start dinner you and a relaxed evening! ;)
 
I remembered reading a thread recommending that AT2 users add 25 pts to a 200 pt threshold since AT2 meters read higher.
No, any time you see someone trying to compare the two are being speculative, there IS no comparison. Human meters typically run lower, the higher the number the farer apart the numbers will compare, the lower the number the closer they will be.

The Prozinc sticky only lists 150 as the no-shoot number because it applies to both Alphatrak and human meters. I asked about it once. :p

You are fine skipping if you prefer, but you will have to get used to those low numbers eventually! Another option is given a token dose - only 10-25% of the regular dose, or feeding, waiting 2 hours, and then shooting based on that number if your schedule allows it and it is a shootable number.

I think 1u seems to be a good dose so far. Keep getting some mid-cycles each day. A +2 for every cycle is hugely beneficial to knowing what the cycle will be like - a noticeable dip will tell you to keep an eye out and be watchful.

Rough guide (doesn't have to be exact, just helpful reference):
+2, +4, +6 one day
+3, +5, +7 the next

+2 and a "before bed" test every night

These will fill in the gaps and help tell you when Lola is ready for an increase or decrease. :)
 
Her +1 is 163, so a drop of 1pt. I really wish I hadn't skipped her mid-cycle reading today. I wonder what her nadir was? (This was the day I was going to get post PM shot readings to round out my spreadsheet.)
 
Thanks for all of that information! If Lola is going to start hanging out on this end of the scale, I'm buying a human meter.

Her +1 was a 1 point drop from PMPS, and that was after eating (but she's a grazer, not a scarfer, so she's not done eating for the night).

If the protocol says 150, then I'm trusting it. I'll try to get as close to 1/10th of a unit as I can.
 
Here we go - this is under the SLGS protocol on the Prozinc sticky

Requisites when following the Start Low, Go Slow Method:
  • Learn the signs of and how to treat Hypoglycemia and prepare a Hypo Toolbox.
  • Test regularly for ketones and know about Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA).
  • Use a meter calibrated for humans, not a pet-specific meter. Reference numbers given are for measuring blood glucose with a human meter. If you still wish to use a pet meter, you will use the same reference numbers for making dosing decisions as you would with a human meter. For example, with a human or pet meter, a drop below 90 requires a reduction.
  • Most kitties are easier to regulate when fed small meals throughout each cycle. Others adapt well to free feeding.

And just that fast I changed my mind. I'm going to no-dose her tonight.
There is nothing wrong with skipping if pre-shots are lower than you're used to! Gotta do what you're comfortable with. :P
 
If you still wish to use a pet meter, you will use the same reference numbers for making dosing decisions as you would with a human meter. For example, with a human or pet meter, a drop below 90 requires a reduction. ...

How did I miss that? There's so much to learn! Thanks for the guidance.
 
The Prozinc sticky only lists 150 as the no-shoot number because it applies to both Alphatrak and human meters. I asked about it once. :p
I'm curious. Can you remember the reasoning behind this, Elizabeth. I ask because 150 on an Alphatrak is the upper bound of the normal reference range, so would be equivalent to a human meter reading of 120.


Mogs
.
 
I'm curious. Can you remember the reasoning behind this, Elizabeth. I ask because 150 on an Alphatrak is the upper bound of the normal reference range, so would be equivalent to a human meter reading of 120.


Mogs
.
I wondered the same, I don't think I got a reason (I think I asked Deb?), just that there is no pet meter number because it applies to both. @Marje and Gracie , could you enlighten us as to why the Prozinc sticky requires human meters and pet meters to use the same reference numbers, like for pre-shots?
 
I wondered the same, I don't think I got a reason (I think I asked Deb?), just that there is no pet meter number because it applies to both. @Marje and Gracie , could you enlighten us as to why the Prozinc sticky requires human meters and pet meters to use the same reference numbers, like for pre-shots?
All of the methods of regulation used on this board were devised for use with human meters. There are no equivalent numbers between human and pet meters, so Mogs, (@Critter Mom) a 150 on an AT is not equivalent to a 120 on a human meter. This is a concept Jill had been trying to get across long before she passed.:)

Even though the TR protocol for Lantus and Levemir has 50 on a human meter as the reduction point for a newly diagnosed cat and 68 on a pet meter for reduction, that does not mean 50=68. It means those are the lower thresholds for those meters that allowed for a safety margin for a newly diagnosed cat.

If you look at the “Micro/AT” tab on Gracie’s SS, you’ll see I ran comparisons and a specific number on the human meter did not always, in fact rarely, result in the same numbers on the AT, using the same blood drop and, in some instances, not even close. In other words, a 38 on a human meter might be a 76 on a pet meter one time and 58 on the AT the next.

While I did not record the BG comparisons on that tab that I took the last few days of Gracie’s life, I found several instances where the human meter was actually higher than the AT2; that was when Gracie was quite ill and had high BGs like she’d never had.

It is a member’s decision on whether they want to use a pet or human meter but we don’t rewrite our methods to try and make something equivalent that has no equivalency. Therefore, they have to use the human numbers or buy a human meter ;):)

Excellent question, Mogs and Elizabeth! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to explain so we get the right info on the board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top