10/14 Julia AMPS 117, +2.25/50, +2.75/47 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Saturday

The short version...Julia is doing great! I would much rather her AMPS and PMPS numbers be green but the in between numbers are good. So good in fact that on Saturday morning she earned her reduction with a 45 on F0.1 (2 avg drops in our syringes) and then we decreased Saturday night to 0.1 (1 big drop). She's been at 50 on Sunday morning as well as this morning. It's not quite as easy to bring the numbers up now and it has taken a full can of 20% plus at least 4-6 drops of karo each morning. Should I drop her down to F0.0 (1 good drop) using Dyana's suggestion from Saturday to let the syringe take in what it will? The preshots have me hesitating but yet she has been in the 50's three days in a row. Are her higher nights a tiny bounce from all of the carbs? Full depot? Drop dose? Me = confused. :lol:

The spreadsheet is updated with all of her numbers.

Sending lots of prayers, hugs, and songs to Libby and KK as he crosses the Bridge this evening. Fly free sweet boy and land softly knowing you will be sorely missed. wings_cat rb_icon
 
I think the higher numbers are a combination of high carbs and a little bounce, but she sure breaks them quickly. If she goes down below 50, you might try something other than 20% and see if you can get her to just surf along in the 50-60's

I think you're right in trying to go down to 1 drop first. Give her pancreas every last chance to go into a strong remission and then go for the OTJ trial :mrgreen:

Julia sure is doing great!! Good luck with her!
 
elizabeth, when you say you have to give her an entire can of 20% carb food and 4 drops of karo to pull her up this morning, that makes me really nervous. that's a lot of intervention to pull up numbers on a very small dose. and with all of those carbs, she only went to 159 today.

i read your last post and you said there is a smaller dose you can give. if julia were mine, i'd drop the dose to the smaller dose and see if julia keeps these green numbers without needing so many carbs. it's hard to know if those blue numbers are maybe from the high carb food, as Chris is thinking.
 
I would also drop the dose. I'm not so sure the mid cycle high numbers are the result of carbs.

I think it is "possible" Julia is throwing inverted curves. Inverted curves can be from too much or too little insulin. But since you've been fighting to keep her up, perhaps it's too much. I'd reduce and see what she does. You can always go back up if need be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top