10/14 Josie AMPS 308 +8.5 261 PMPS 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Josie is doing fine, but I am being run ragged, hence the lack of recent posts.
No change in her legs since starting the b12, but i guess it can take weeks.
 
Re: 10/14 Josie AMPS 308

for you, the weekend cometh! for josie, i don't have experience with the methyl b-12, but i have heard you have to be patient with it.

enjoy your day!
 
Re: 10/14 Josie AMPS 308

Hi guys .. glad to hear josie is doing good .. I hope that you start to notice a difference in her legs .. and I hope you have a restful weekend!
 
Re: 10/14 Josie AMPS 308

I hope you get some rest Angela! I've got no experience with the B-12 but it sounds like others are saying that patience pants are in order! Have a great weekend.
 
Re: 10/14 Josie AMPS 308

seems to me that the methyl b12 really began to kick in for binks when he got well-regulated...

and that was awhile...

hope you get some rest time!
 
Re: 10/14 Josie AMPS 308 +8.5 261

Hi Angela & Josie,
So glad to hear that Josie is doing well. Now, if you can get some good sleep all will be great! I'm sure the methyl b12 will begin to work in it's timely fashion. I don't have any experience with it, but those who do seem to say that it takes a while to kick in.

Have a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm glad the weekend is ahead and hopefully you can get some rest.

I'm thinking she's been at this dose a while and not doing much. What do you think about asking for opinions about a possible dose increase to try and bring her down? I'm not well-versed in the SLGS protocol but I believe you hold doses 1-2 weeks max and Josie has been on this dose a couple weeks.

I'd ask....
 
I will post a new thread to ask.
I just worry about raising it since at this dose she still has several night numbrs too low to shoot at. Wont that be more common at a higher dose?
 
Hmmm....I only saw one night that you didn't shoot and it was 9/29 I believe.

Well...no crystal ball here to be able to predict how a dosecrease would affect her. If you look at Weezer's SS and at Champ's SS when they first started, they had to do several dosecreases before they found the fitting dose. But I know Josie was on a higher dose and had to come down so "perhaps" you are not too far off.

However, I worry about a kitty staying high for a long time.....you always want to be sure you are checking for ketones every day.
 
Sorry...you are correct. I was just looking for the last time. Since she's been on 1.5u, you've not skipped and you've shot a reduced dose twice....but those were shootable numbers; so she isn't getting into numbers that can't be shot. It's just difficult with your situation of having to go right to bed and so you have little latitude to stall. And your days are long and very busy.
 
Methyl B12 *methylcobalamin" takes several weeks to months to work--My Moonie has neuropathy for several yrs, & is still on it- It has helped her tremendously..Keep giving it to her!

As for the dosing, we have dosing helpers here, but after looking at your SS, I see no numbers that I would not shoot..You are shooting 1.5U which is not a big dose, her numbers look pretty much the same for a while. Shoot low go slow is for newbies , but I think it's time you asked about dosing for your kitty--
Dosing helpers-Sienne, Libby, Jill and several others...Oherwise these are normal numbers for a new kitty--
We usually do a dose increase when we will be home to monitor..

The more data you have, the more you can see where she goes during the day & night--
One very helpful thing is an auto feeder, which I use when I will be out all day--I set it for +3 and at Moonie's nadir which is usually around +4 or +5 & put in either LC mostly, or if she has been running lower, MC--
Please accept the Patuience Pants :mrgreen: --Takes some time to get regulated..You are doing fine, I just feel you are a little apprehensive & I understand completely--So SLDS is just fine for now-
Please put dosing help into your sunject line tomorrow--OK? Have a good nite-Not to worry!
 
Well we arent even doing SLGS, as the vet started her really high, and then I dropped it after being on here. The reason we arent doing the tight regulation thing is that i am the only caregiver for Josie and simply cannot be home to test her very often. Her shots are at 11 and 11, so i go to bed shortly after giving her night dose, and since i bus not drive, coming home mid cycle is a 2 hour break.
I am doing the best i can, but i know i am not getting anywhere near the amount of readings other people take.
 
I am saying you are doing just fine...I do understand being the only caregiver--
It was unclear to me how you came to this dose so now you have clarified.
Using an auto feeder, you can be sure Josie is getting food during the day, and so that you dont have to worry..Just trying to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top