10/14 Heffernan 242 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

Well without a lot of mid-cycle tests I'm gonna take a quick stab in the dark, but it looks like you could have a lot of rebound happening.

Okay let's see what we can get figured out with helping you get a few more tests in so we can start getting a better idea of what's going on in Mr Heff's body.

So what does your normal schedule look like? As in when do you get up in the morning, have to be out the door for work, back home again and usual bedtime etc. And when do you typically test and shoot? Preshots are nice to tell us he's high enough to need insulin but not how low a dose is taking him and that 24 on 9/15 is scary.

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

PMPS was 405, +5 was 180. He gets tested & Fed at 6:15-6:30 I leave by 7:45 Monday-Friday. I'm home by 5:45. Shot time between 6:15-6:30 pm. Bedtime 10pm. Saturday I volunteer at 9 at our SPCA and get home between 3-4 pm. Sunday's are up in the air.
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

And when do your feet hit the floor and your a human again? I will never ask for a test before coffee Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

I test & feed and scoop the 2 boxes on the 1st floor while it's brewing. It was worse when we fostered. Kittens demand food first! And if they escaped their bedroom, breakfast was mayhem.
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

good luck with your bouncing kitty Laura. hope he settles soon.
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

lak99 said:
I test & feed and scoop the 2 boxes on the 1st floor while it's brewing. It was worse when we fostered. Kittens demand food first! And if they escaped their bedroom, breakfast was mayhem.

Laura, you're making me dizzy! :dizcat


:smile:
 
Re: 9/26 Heffernan 108 AMPS

Ha!!! Sorry! I'm not good at sitting still.

This morning I rotatated laundry, gave insulin & snacks (my sister covered testing & feeding), scooped boxed all before coffee & a shower!

This weekend we run a rummage & bake sale to benefit our shelter. Going to be insane 3 days!!

Heff's AMPS was in the 160's (my sister tested) so I only gave 1 unit. I contemplated no shot, but he's going to bounce then. I figure when I gave him 1 unit with this AMPS was 96 last week he dropped 70+pts to 24. If he drops 70+ pts to 80-90 he's still in a safe number. I can't go home to test for lunch, so I left some moderate carb food out.
 
Re: 9/29 Heffernan 160's AMPS

It must be so hard to have to leave Heff during the day. I'm at home all the time but I still end up a nervous wreck every time I give Saoirse insulin. nailbite_smile

Bake sale, eh? Yum!! I hope you get a good turn-out. :smile:
 
Re: 9/29 Heffernan 160's AMPS

We raised over $8000 last year for our SPCA between the basket raffle, rummage sale & bake sale. It's insanity for a few days, so so worthwhile.
 
Re: 9/30 Heffernan 309 AMPS

Poor Heff was pooping little "nugget's yesterday. He got a good dose of Miralax last night & this morning. Hopefully that gets things moving!
 
Re: 9/30 Heffernan 309 AMPS

Oh do I know that nugget pooping poor fella hope things are moving along better soon for him. Although that might be where his high numbers today came from, stress of trying to get it out...I know it would me, plus the icky tummy cramps it usually brings with it.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/30 Heffernan 309 AMPS

I had the sympathy tummy ache with him. I **think** there was a larger piece of his poop in the box this morning. With multiple cats it can be tough to tell, but he's such a big cat that his poop is normally toddler size. He was tucked in to his cat bed this morning when I left for work so he was quite comfortable.
 
Re: 10/1 Heffernan 176 AMPS

I wonder if Heff's elevated numbers were as Mel suggested--constipation! The miralax FINALLY kicked in over night. We have poop. LOTS & LOTS of poop. Thank god! I gave him a belly massage last night & sang the "move the poop" song. And I wonder why I'm single!

I went to visit a cat last night we are thinking of adopting. I need some sense talked in to me! We have 6 cats, surely this "stray" Persian doesn't need me!
 
Re: 10/1 Heffernan 176 AMPS

Sorry can't talk a single lick of sense into you. Afterall I am the crazy lady with 16! Most of which are ones no one else would tolerate living with. cat_pet_icon :o

But did you say PERSIAN! Oh thank god you're not local to me, I just can't resist those smushed faced puff balls. What I can tell you about Persians from my years of my mom showing and breeding them is they are extremely loving and usually very quiet kitties. If you need a cuddle bug that wants nothing more than to be in your lap and your shadow get a Persian. Its kind of what they were originally bred for, being lap cats to royalty. I miss both my Himmies and Persians greatly because of that velcro personalities. But if I even add a pet rock to the household right now I would be joining the line of single crazy cat ladies... :lol: :lol: :lol: Actually he's worse than I am about dragging home strays and keeping them.

Heff is looking beautiful in blue this morning, keep the poop moving and the numbers down buddy. And you should hear the ridiculous things I sing to my cats, especially the sugars. So you aren't alone there. :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/1 Heffernan 176 AMPS

We fell in love with the Persian breed in 2008 when we fostered a 10 year old Orange persian who was surrendered because his owners went to assisted living. He'd just about given up, he lost his home and then his brother, a brown tabby Persian died in another foster home. We took Murphy for a weekend of TLC and he never left. He died in 2013 of CKD and we miss him terribly. We've fostered several other Persians & Himmies--there is really something about that breed! You don't get it until you live with one. Our one civvie cat Zosia is an Exotic Shorthair we adopted for $20 at a shelter in Philadelphia on vacation in 2012. They had no idea what breed she is--she was listed as a Persian Mix. She is the funniest sweetest 5 lb little minx I've ever met!

I have a call in to the girl that runs the off site adoption program for our shelter. Sunshine the Persian (we've already renamed her in our heads), wouldn't make eye contact last night, play or seek attention. The corners of her eyes were goopy--we told them it will be about 2 days before she's sick if not sooner. SIGH. Our 3 year old Bessie pees everywhere when we bring new cats in the house, that's why we gave up fostering. But this year we've only fostered adult males & that seems to be a trigger for her.
 
Re: 10/12 344 AMPS 256 AMPS

And so the pink #'s continue. His numbers are definitely higher when he's slightly constipated & we've found the wellness blends don't agree with him.
 
Last night's PMPS was 171...and anything under 200 I've been halving his dose because he drops 100 points or more--sometimes....so I gave 1.25 units and tested at +3 when I went to bed and he was at 168. Hmph. So this morning was 242 so he didn't have a huge bounce which is good.
 
Laura,

You and Pam have the same problem and you both lose a lot of ground when you do it. And that is when you give a reduced shot you roll the dose too far back. If his normal dose is 1.75 then to give a Big Chicken Shot the dose would be 1.5 to 1.25, when you half the dose you are draining most of his shed so he spends 3 days rebuilding that shed and then that is about the same time he gives you a lower than normal preshot, you freak out, drop the dose too much and he goes higher from not enough insulin and you rinse and repeat.

Now there are two ways to handle this situation, either 1) reduce the dose to 1.50 and let him just run slightly higher, or stay at what looks like just about a perfect dose for him and learn to shoot low to stay low.

The thing about a depot insulin unlike the in and out insulins is that the same dose that drops them 100 pts from a number in the 300s may not drop them that much when they start out in the 100s. It is just one of the quirks of working with the L insulins. Once you hit that perfect dose they will remain basically flat with small rises in response to food intake.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I dont know why it's been so hard for me to grasp that concept Mel! I feel more comfortable with him him than low since we aren't home to test. But he's been flirting with decent numbers and then I fudge things up. I need to update his SS but the past two days he was below 300 and mostly below 250 on that lower dose.

I have no clue how to shoot low to stay low. He has his annual vet visit this Saturday, so I'm curious what my vet will say since I've completely ignored his dosing advice-he wanted him on 4 units BID! Without testing! I've kept him alive for a year, so I guess I'm not a complete failure.

And we didn't adopt that Persian. But we are going to a cat show in a few weekends...god help us if there are retired Exotic Shorthair breeders. I may be doomed. Double doomed if they are orange males.
 
The most we've had were 7 resident cats & 5 fosters. We are holding steady at 6 resident cats & no longer able to foster due to a *****y female that pees all over when there's any sort of change in the house.
 
yes i know about that too. in fact my sugar cat Tibbs was an outdoor (opc - other people's cat) that became ours when he broke his foot 1 year and we took him in and "mortgaged our house" to get his paw pinned with steel rods. he is now an indoor cat like the rest but needs to be kept separate unless supervised because even tho he is a sweetheart, he fights with the 2 other males and has had 2 operations to stitch his wounds. so........ we keep him away from them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top