10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 +6 282 +7.5 285 - 3 yellows

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Wednesdays Condo

Dosecrease to 2.75, starting more aggressive approach protocol.

Showing both Accu-Chek and ReliOn readings because almost out of the Accu-ck strips. (waiting for new ones to arrive from Hocks)
Accu-chek and ReliOn difference has been between approx 40-50 points yesterday and this morning.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps - acc-ck 460/ ReliOn 418 dosecrease

Good luck with the new dose. You may see some action today, since you increased last night and again this morning.
Sometimes a new dose takes awhile to settle in and is not instant, but last night's could start to show some affect today.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps - acc-ck 460/ ReliOn 418 dosecrease

I just checked out the story about Ginger....How wonderful. And love the slideshow.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps - acc-ck 460/ ReliOn 418 dosecrease

Added another link below to my signature : Helping Feral Cats
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps - acc-ck 460/ ReliOn 418 dosecrease

Good luck with the dosecrease...have you started her on the probiotics>? They can be given a few hours after the ABs. You are almost done with the Abs though, right? Have you asked the vet whether she might need to be on them for a little longer? Will they retest to see if there is still infection present? It is best to be aggressive with any infections, IMHO.....
Come on Ginger...let's get those numbers down today, okay?
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps 460/418 +3 408/368

Pat,
Last night the vet gave me 10 capsules of Proviable-DC for 10 days. I mixed a tiny bit of food with water and added the powder from the capsule and syringe fed it to her to make sure she got it all. (Gave it to her a few hours before AB)
She is not eating very much and is not adapting to the wet food very well. She is eating very little Evo dry as well.
Today I plan to buy Halo Dinner Party, which I was told will help stimulate her appetite.
I also plan to order the Fortiflora which I was told is a probotic, plus it will stimuate her appetite and will use that instead when I get it. (after she is done with the Proviable-DC)

The vet hasnt mentioned continuing on the AB or re-checking her urine for infection. She did say she appeared to just have a mild urinary tract infection, so she probably wont want her on anymore AB.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps 460/418 +3 408/368

Well it looks like ginger is slowly coming down for you today ... good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger amps 460/418 +3 408/368 +6 448 ?/408

Ran out of the Accu-chek test strips now, so I am estimating the Accu-ck readings by adding 40 points to the ReliOn reading, which is about the difference it was earlier today and yesterday.

Since I normally use the Accu-chek, I don't want anyone to think her numbers are better than they really are by seeing the lower ReliOn readings.

My Accu-ck strips should arrive here soon and I will be doing readings with both meters at AMPS and PMPS with the Accu-Ck and continue on with the ReliOn meter inbetween.

I am going to order the control solution for the ReliOn and see if the readings end up closer to the Accu-ck meter which I feel are more accurate. Edit: Since receiving the new Accu-ck strips today, this statement may not be true. lol
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 428/423

I received the new Accu-chek test strip drums today and at pmps the Accu-ck and the ReliOn readings were really close.
Maybe the last Accu-check drum was a little off.

Pretty much all red flat numbers again, even with the dose increase. Hoping for at least pink flat numbers tomorrow and a few yellow's!
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 - got a yellow

GREAT!!! Hope you will be checking her after that +3 to see where she is going...very nice Ginger!
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 - got a yellow

Yes, I will check her at +6 before I go to bed. Usually the evening +6 reading is higher than the +3.
If its lower, guess I wont go to bed, and will do another test a couple of hours later.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 - got a yellow

nice. :smile: I agree with Pat, another spot check tonight would be nice to see where she goes.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 - got a yellow

woo hoo, lori -- nice to see that +3.
very interested in seeing how she does around +5 or +6.
(next time save the strips. no need to use both meters. there's always meter variance so it's best just to compare one meter's readings against each other unless you get a really surprisingly low or high number, in which case you might want to check again. just if you switch meters, note it in the notes section of your spreadsheet so people know.)
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 +6 282 - 2 yellows

Went down a little bit -another yellow.
I put about 10 pieces of EVO dry in her bowl (she ate a few) and staying up late to check again in an hour or so.
If its the same or higher I will go to bed. Hoping its about the same or slightly higher.

About the meters. Since I have started an aggresive approach today and switching meters at the same time, I wanted to know how different the readings were so I would know how much better she was doing today vs yesterday.
It appears the last Accu-ck test strip drum was the one running a little high at about 40 points higher than the ReliOn.
The new Accu-ck test strip drum is reading about the same as the Relion.

I will be using the ReliOn from now on.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 +6 282 - 2 yellows

woooooooooo-hoooooooooooooo! look at those yellows!
gooooooooo ginger!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 +6 282 - 2 yellows

Hoping she has lots of yellows tomorrow. :)
a blue would be nice too.
 
Re: 10/14 Ginger pmps 423 +3 297 +6 282 - 2 yellows

i hope so too, but don't get discouraged if she happens to bounce from these yellows, k? it happens. not to worry. you're on the right track...
 
Ok, 3 close yellow readings and last one went up 3 points.
So she's either going to stay even or start to climb through the night like usual.

Since I have to get up in 5 hours, I think I will go to bed now. lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top