10/14 China AMPS 122,+3 31,PMPS 255 Boing!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Well China's earned a reduction, but has failed every time we've reduced and ends back up at 1 unit, so I'm just not sure what to do at this point. I had already decided to not reduce her unless she dropped into the 40's on 3 separate days, but a 31 screams reduction...but so did 22 and we ended back at 1 unit anyway

Any and all advice gladly accepted!!

Recap:
AMPS 122
+3 31
+3.5 38
+4 44
+5 52
+6 57
+8 120
 
Re: 10/14 China AMPS 122,+3 31,+4 44,+6 57,+8 120 Reduce to

Sometimes we have to toggle back and forth a few times before things fall into place. But looks like it's already been a *few* for China.

The full 0.25 reduction is called for, but as much as you test you could almost surely try a skinny 1.0 and continue to monitor closely.
 
Re: 10/14 China AMPS 122,+3 31,+4 44,+6 57,+8 120 Reduce to

SURPRISE!!!! :lol: :lol: I hope she holds a slight reduction, but I know she doesnt like them. But there is always hope!!!!
 
Re: 10/14 China AMPS 122,+3 31,+4 44,+6 57,+8 120 Reduce to

Good luck with whatever you decide. I hope China holds the reduction whether you take the full 0.25 or skinny the dose.
 
Thank you all for your suggestions. China decided for me tonight, so I'm shooting through the bounce for this shot.

Depending on her numbers overnight, and in the morning, I'll probably just do a skinny 1, but if she clears this bounce quickly (which she can) and has a pretty low AMPS, I might do a fat .75

I'll wait until China tells me which one :lol:

AMPS 122
+3 31
+3.5 38
+4 44
+5 52
+6 57
+8 120

PMPS 255
 
Can you tinker with the feed timing or carb levels to try to prohibit the numbers that scream "REDUCE ME!!!" ?
 
Re: 10/14 China AMPS 122,+3 31,+4 44,+6 57,+8 120 Reduce to

10/17 ~ a follow up:
i apologize for bumping up an old thread, but for the sake of lurkers, chris, and others...

Sienne and Gabby said:
While it's awfully aggressive on a drop into the 30s, you can always try to shave the dose vs. take a reduction.

(Note to lurkers: I'm suggesting this because Chris monitors China's BG very carefully. In other words, don't try this at home unless you can monitor and are comfortable steering the numbers with food if you need to.)

i noticed a similar theme in this thread as Crushy's 10/17 thread. i'm copying my response from there to here:

Jill & Alex said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
  • A drop into the 30s and shaving the dose is VERY, VERY aggressive. The TR protocol is, by it's very nature, an aggressive approach to dosing and diabetes management. Shaving the dose on top of a drop like Chris described is exceptionally aggressive and potentially dangerous. IMHO, 2 months on insulin doesn't give you sufficient data to know with any degree of certainty if Crushy's numbers will plummet and you will end up struggling to get them out of the basement. This is not a strategy I would recommend.
chris, i realize you must have learned this option elsewhere... i hope it wasn't in this group. :mrgreen:

in the interest of safety for all, i'd like to expand on sienne's comment above...

shaving the dose after a drop into the 30s is defintely a very, very aggressive approach used by a very few experienced caregivers who have accumulated years and years of data, who know their cat's response to the insulin used, who have a strategic and well thought out feeding plan in place, and "know their cat" inside and out . those caregivers are knowingly taking a calculated risk
Jill & Alex said:
based on their knowledge and experience with their cat.

imho, a suggestion to only shave the dose after a drop into the 30s does not belong in a group where the participants are still learning about their cat's response to insulin as well as the insulin used. in the Lantus TR group we've always suggested a mandatory full reduction (0.25u) if kitty drops into the 30s. to do otherwise is taking an unnecessary risk with your cat and can be downright dangerous.

just my thoughts.
let's keep our kitties safe...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top