10/14 Blackie AMPS 107, +8 93, PMPS 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106236&p=1127495#p1127495

WCR: All is good in BlackieLand (thank goodness). Again, she'd rather not eat alone, and wait for me to get back to the office to finish her breffis. I had a situation with the danged syringes this morning. Drew what I thought was the perfect amount, but ended up drawing not enough as there was a huge bubble in it. Aborted that one. Tried the second syringe... Only drew air. Huh? Ok. Tried the third one... Finally! I hate doing that on any given day. So, her dose ended up to be about 5 minutes late. The main thing is she got her dose this morning.

Reduction Question: Since she IS a long term diabetic, and I know that the protocol states for LT diabetics to have majority of the #s in a good range for 7 days, does she warrant having a reduction anytime soon, and if so, when?

Thank you, either way.

On the Bubba front... No go with the Purina Pro Plan (I didn't even bother to try it as I knew he'd walk away); no go on the Evo 95% C&T that I feed Blackie, and I didn't even bother with the Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblet flavor. Thankfully, I still had a couple of cans of Fancy Feast from when before Shadow passed, so I opened up one, divided it into 6ths, and gave him 1/6 of it. He ate it all! Given his current situation, and the blood in the urine (it's mainly on the pink side, but it's still there), I needed to get him to eat SOMEthing. I tried coaxing him down for the +1 feeding, but no go. So, I'll try later and see if he's interested. He's still drinking water, which is a good thing. I really don't know what to do at this point.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

It's actually ANY cat, not just a long term diabetic, that spends a week in mostly green numbers gets a reduction. Blackie is seeing PMPS numbers that are often outside of the normal range. Until you're seeing the vast majority of tests that are under 120, I would not decrease.
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Ok, we'll stay with the 3.25u then, unless she gives me a nadir of a one-time 30's, or 3x's 40's, then that's the game changer right there. I won't increase as it'll just bring us back down to where we are now.
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Nice start for Blackie this morning. I just went through fighting a package of syringes that gave me a lot of air bubbles. It is frustrating. Sending prayers for Bubba.
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Morning Angela ~O) ~O) ~O)

A very nice start for Blackie today. Surf well little one. Oh yes on the never ending battle with the syringes. I so used to hate dealing with those bubbles....

I wish you much luck with Bubba. Paws crossed that the appy will improve.

Enjoy your day today Angela.
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Great report on Blackie! It's been a while, but there had been times I've had that issue with syringes, too. I don't know if it was my technique or what.

Still sending prayers to your sweet Bubba...
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Nicely done Blackie! She is looking great. Oh boooo on the syringes. That is very frustrating. Have a great day Angela!
 
Re: Reduction Question: 10/14 Blackie AMPS 107

Hi Angela,
Nice number for Blackie.
I'm glad he is doing good. So cute she likes to eat with you.

Sending eating vines to Budda.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top