10/14/2010 Spitzer's 1st home BG pre-meal, pre-shot = 118/

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Very Active Member
That was at 7:37 AM eastern time. He had 2.5 units of insulin last night.

All 11 cats in the household are on canned food now.

I'll re-check his BG before I leave, & check w/ vet about insulin dose.
 
Last edited:
We usually recommend not to give insulin if the pre-shot is below 200.

Wait a bit after eating (1 hour) ; test again. Then decide if to give insulin.

I would not give 2.5 units, more like 1 unit.
 
Congrats on switching to canned food and getting started home testing! :thumbup

That's a very low PS to be giving insulin until you gather some data on how Spitzer responds to the insulin....nice number though! I would at least lower the dose, particularly if you won't be home to monitor, even if his BG is higher when you retest. If you feed before you test again, the number you get will not be a "clean" number, it will be influenced by a food spike...which will wear off before the insulin's onset.

There's a lot of great info on shooting low PS#s on the Lantus ISG viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147#p849

ETA: Noticed the time...I'm sure you already made a decsion, I hope Spitzer is safe...
 
The 2.5U is the dose the vet came up with while he was staying there, is that correct?

With the food change and the less stress, BGs are going to come down, could be a dramitic decrease or slight, but either way, I'd highly recommend you change your starting dose to 1U now that you are hometesting.
 
tuckers mom said:
The 2.5 U is the dose the vet came up with while he was staying there, is that correct?

Actually, the vet wanted me to stay at 3 units - last Saturday, Spitzer was a 330 at the vet. I, however, was getting a bit nervous about the food change without an insulin change and dropped half a unit last night, and this morning. Yes, I still gave the insulin; I also left out lots of food so he'd have something to eat if he got hungry (which would be OK - he needs to get back a couple pounds).

The response I got back from the vet via e-mail this morning was a nervous "make an appt w/ a tech so we can show you how to do blood glucose testing". Um ... not a dolt here, read and reviewed instructions, followed exactly, and got a droplet to test. Didn't buy an Alphatrak @ $200 bucks from them, either - promised to bring mine in for cross-meter referencing at next appt.

BJ
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top