10/13 Tom PMPS 284 +1 292 +2 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonia & Tom (GA)

Member Since 2010
Test a few minutes early. He's eating now, have not shot yet.

Have the same problem as yesterday. Can do a +1 but then nothing until +11...
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Here's your link to Yesterday's Condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54087

What did you do yesterday? His PS was close to the same as today's.

In the future, I would hold off on feeding, in case it is advised to stall. If you feed him, then we can not tell if his BGs are actually rising or falling, because the food will make them rise. Maybe get a +11 and compare that to your +12. That will help you determine which way his BG numbers are going.

I am only on the board for another 15 minutes, as I have to leave for work, too. Sorry, if I'm not much help :roll:

I keep a half can of frozen MC in my freezer, to be left out on days when I am not sure.
Are you able to leave some MC out for him, if you decide to shoot his normal dose?
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Dyana said:
Here's your link to Yesterday's Condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54087

What did you do yesterday? His PS was close to the same as today's.

In the future, I would hold off on feeding, in case it is advised to stall. If you feed him, then we can not tell if his BGs are actually rising or falling, because the food will make them rise. Maybe get a +11 and compare that to your +12. That will help you determine which way his BG numbers are going.

I am only on the board for another 15 minutes, as I have to leave for work, too.

I keep a half can of frozen MC in my freezer, to be left out on days when I am not sure.
Are you able to leave some MC out for him, if you decide to shoot his normal dose?

Yesterday I shot his dose, gave him squids and Pred. and left out some dry but stressed out all day... I have HC on hand, not MC.
Thinking of shooting 0.10 and skipping squids until tonight.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Hi Sonia & Dyana too!

There are a lot of variables going on here. I think Sonia you may have the right plan. Although I think 0.1 might be a bit too much of a big chicken shot (BCS), I'd maybe think about 0.25? Although you have lots of variables you are dealing with.

Having already fed that leaves only two choices really. Shoot a BCS or no shot. I think if you skip the shot to definately do the subq's. Remember lantus does have a reserve shed and skipping means you are counting on that shed and it will have to be rebuilt over several days.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Or, you could halve the dose and give 0.25 and leave out some MC (mix the HC and LC together).
I'll also leave extra dishes of food around the house, sometimes. I put them where he hangs out, like by his bed.
I often write on a stickie note that I keep right in front of my face in front of my keyboard "God Bless J.D., please keep him in safe and healthy BG numbers for him, today." It helps me.
I have to log off. Good luck. I know how stressful and worrisome this can all be. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Don't want to skip, he's feeling better with lower numbers.
I am a chicken :roll: So, opted for reduced dose, somewhere around 0.18643256.

He got his Pred., no squids. Will get a +1.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Sonia & Tom said:
Don't want to skip, he's feeling better with lower numbers.
I am a chicken :roll: So, opted for reduced dose, somewhere around 0.18643256.

He got his Pred., no squids. Will get a +1.


Great!!! Really though.....0.18643256? :lol: Split that difference girl!

Don't fret over BCS...I do it with Attie. It is the only way to keep him on target. If I skip, we're done for at least 6-10 cycles. It is all about figuring out what is best for our own cat and sanity. And yes...I too use kibble as a safety net very judiciously though. My OCD has me literally counting kibble bits some days. ohmygod_smile . ECID
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Hi Sonia,

I'm not experienced enough to give advice. I know how worrisome it can be, so sending some moral support and good thoughts for a safe surf for Tom :-D
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

+1 108
S**t. Gave him HC. DH will stay home, try to test (even I am having problems testing feisty boy) but mostly will make sure he keeps eating.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

Some of that action is from the shed and a partially working pancreas. The shot you just gave won't onset until around +3 or so. You didn't give squids...right?

High Carb and a reduced dose he should surf along most of the day.


Be a good boy today Tom!!!
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

Beth & Atlas said:
Some of that action is from the shed and a partially working pancreas. The shot you just gave won't onset until around +3 or so. You didn't give squids...right?

High Carb and a reduced dose he should surf along most of the day.


Be a good boy today Tom!!!

No squids. I think Tom's Nadir is somewhere around +4.5. Pred. should raise numbers too I just don't know when that starts to happen.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

Hi guys .. glad you got your dosing advice, but sorry to hear tom is still falling .. Hoping he catches a wave soon and surfs the day for you .. I know it can be very worrisome to leave our kitties, especially for long stretches of time .. hang in there ..
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

the good news is that he's not needing much insulin - i think that's optimistic! hang in there - you just do the best you can each day. you have a good plan for today.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108

Talked to DH. He says Tom has been eating, emptied his HC bowl...Acting fine. Now napping.

DH tried to test him and Mr Feisty gave him quite a battle. Result? Nothing :roll:
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 +1 108 +11 259

+11 259

Mommy tests me. Daddy NEVER does. But today, mommy was worried, had to leave for work and asked daddy to stay home. His day off anyway.
Well, he TRIED to test me. I gave him a really hard time. Was fun actually - for me anyway - 'cause it didn't work and then he had to keep feeding me good stuff to make sure I didn't go too low.


bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 10/13 Tom PMPS 284

Hi Sonia:

I don't think I've been on your condo yet but looks like you are doing well with Tom and learning lots....or relearning lots!!!

Sounds like DH just needs to develop that extra magical touch :lol: :lol:
 
Today's recap

AMPS 151 big chicken shot 0.18643256. Pred. No squids.
+1 108 Fed HC
Not home to test, DH not able to get a test in - Tom won't let him :roll:
+11 259

PMPS 284 shot 0.50. Pred & squids
+1 292
+2 290

So let me get this straight: Tom will throw me low numbers when I possibly CAN'T be around to test and monitor and will stay high when I can?
Making it real easy for me. Thanks for that.
 
Re: 10/13 Tom AMPS 151 Now what do I do?

Sonia & Tom said:
So, opted for reduced dose, somewhere around 0.18643256.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
next time, Sonia....could you be a little more exact on dosage??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/13 Tom PMPS 284

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Sonia:

I don't think I've been on your condo yet but looks like you are doing well with Tom and learning lots....or relearning lots!!!

Sounds like DH just needs to develop that extra magical touch :lol: :lol:

Learning really, Tom went OTJ too quickly the first time!

Tom has been around longer than DH has (I keep reminding him too) and Tom would not let then DBF near me early on: jealous. I think Tom is the Alpha in that relationship. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top