10/13 Tinker AMPS 83 +3 65 +5 63 +7 67 PMPS 97 +2 93 +4 75

Tinker is looking absolutely fabulous on this dose....however, if you're on SLGS??? From your signature, you need to reduce Tinker's dose...per the protocol: If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Looks like you're testing enough to do TR...why not change, so you won't have to lower the dose unless he goes below 50? Perhaps I'm missing some history of why you're on SLGS?
 
I don't really know what protocol I am doing... @Sienne and Gabby (GA) said the same thing last night so I am replying on this thread.

I thought I was doing SLGS but then I was skipping so many shots and @AmandaE said that skipping was bad. It sounds like I should reduce the dose, and/or maybe switch to TR? I think I need to print out these protocols to keep the rules straight. I think I decided to do SLGS because 2-3 weeks ago I was a nervous wreck and my life was insane. o_O I think everything is going better now so I will print out the rules for TR and try to do that instead.
 
There are practical and philosophical differences between the two dosing methods. I'm partial to TR because it was strongly encouraged when I first joined FDMB. Thus, iit's what I used with Gabby. TR also has more science behind its use. I'm a big fan of research and TR has been published in one of the leading vet journals. SLGS was developed here and has never been researched. Both have a solid track record of getting cats regulated and/or into remission although, TR is more aggressive.
  • With TR dose increases are made every 3 days (sometimes 5 days when a cat is in lower numbers vs with SLGS where you increase on a weekly basis);
  • If numbers are high, with TR you can increase the dose by a larger amount:
  • There is a difference in terms of when you make a dose reduction. With TR, doses are reduced if a newly diagnosed cat's BG numbers drop below 50 vs with SLGS, you reduce if numbers drop below 90.
  • Because TR is more aggressive, you need to test more. The absolute minimum number of test is 4 -- your two pre-shot tests and at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles.
  • Also, with TR, you cat cannot be eating any dry food -- only low carb, canned food.
I think those are the major differences between the two methods -- or at least that's what's off the top of my head. I'm glad that life has calmed down!! Let us know if you have questions about TR.
 
I think I decided to do SLGS because 2-3 weeks ago I was a nervous wreck and my life was insane. o_O I think everything is going better now so I will print out the rules for TR and try to do that instead.

I remember the early days...I printed both out as well...in the beginning I felt overwhlmed and also chose to do SLGS...but after I became more comfortable with testing, as it appears you are - then I switched to TR. You can change based on your life circumstances. I think you're doing great on TR...just change your signature to match whichever protocol you're doing at this time. :)
 
Looking awesome, agree with the decrease
Have a great day

You think I should decrease? I think he is doing great on this dose but I don't want to cut it too close. I have to go back to work part time next week and won't be able to test as much.
 
You think I should decrease? I think he is doing great on this dose but I don't want to cut it too close. I have to go back to work part time next week and won't be able to test as much.
If you are following slgs, you should try TR, he earned one if following slgs, I agree with what @Sue and Luci said, so u don’t have to reduce, he looks awesome!
 
I have to go back to work part time next week and won't be able to test as much.

When do you go back to work and how long will you be gone each day? If he appears to be surfing along then you could leave some MC food out to bring his numbers up a bit while you're out. Did you get an auto-feeder yet? Those are great for when you have to be out of the house for extended periods of time - up to 8 hours.
 
When do you go back to work and how long will you be gone each day? Did you get an auto-feeder yet? Those are great for when you have to be out of the house for extended periods of time - up to 8 hours.

Well, my hours are flexible so I am not sure how long I will be gone. Maybe 4 to 6 hours.

I always leave a plate of wet food out for him which he grazes on all day. But if I don't stir it for him, it starts to get dried out and he looks up at me to say, "mom you haven't stirred my food within the past HOUR, I can't eat this". I guess he would eat it if he got hungry enough. Does an auto feeder work with wet food?

I actually don't even know what carb level his food is. It's Natural Balance chicken and pea. He has a very sensitive stomach and pukes up most new foods we introduce. I couldn't find his food on the food table that was linked.

Edit: just saw the sortable food table link your signature!!! His food has carbs of 10. Is that low or medium?
 
His food has carbs of 10. Is that low or medium?

Well, it's right on the edge of low - medium. I'd call it a higher carb than typical low carbs which are from 0 - 9%. I typically give Luci wet pate's in the lower ranges unless I'm trying to give her a bump up due to lower numbers - then I move on to double digit percentages like 13-15%. If I had a food that was 10%, I'd probably save it for times when she's running a little low...like in the 60's or 70's and I'm trying to steer her a bit...it depends on how carb sensitive your kitty is for that to work out...and you'll need to experiment. If he's been eating 10% and getting those nice greens, then the carb food may be propping him up...you may want to buy some higher carb foods for when he's going lower...and since you have to go to work for 4-6 hours you'll want to get an auto-feeder.

This is the one I have: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...ital/dp/B000GEWHNS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

As far as stirring the food goes, if it's frozen it'll melt and Tinker may find it more appealing than food that he's been watching dry out on a plate. I often mix up the foods that I put in the auto-feeder... a dab of LC, a dab of MC...sometimes I'll put some Dr. Elsey's dry in one of the slots for later in the day...for interest and variety - Luci cleans out all the slots by the time I get home...so for whatever reason she's interested and keeps eating it. I suppose you'll want to experiment and see how he responds to the auto-feeder and if he finds the foods that you've left interesting and appealing.

You may want to shop around on Chewy.com or post a '?' here on your condo and ask others what they feed their 'sensitive tummy' cats. There are tons of foods out there...but not always at the stores. I've found much more variety on-line.
 
Back
Top