10/13 Tina AMPS 129 +5 94 PMPS 106

Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

Member Since 2019
October 12

Happy Sunday to everyone - it's a beautiful 60 now, up to 78 later - no AC or heat needed. Plus, lights are tolerable and I can see 20/20 with no glasses. I just get to keep using different eye drops for ten weeks. So glad the rough part is over with. Thank you for the kindness:bighug:

It will be our second time to give fluids today (around 3pm CST), and the fourth day to give Levothyroxine (to boost thyroid) at least a half hour (I've done an hour so far) before brekkie. So our health routine has changed. She took the fluids very well, and her appetite increased too, the second time I noticed - the first time was when the vet tech gave fluids, after bringing her home, she got increasingly hungry. The most encouraging thing about this fluid ordeal :( is how much better she seems to feel afterward. That should bring a happy face; I believe with more experience, it will get less sad and more ok. Especially when I see in a few weeks, this made her much healthier;). @Marje and Gracie - my DH also completely appreciated the video you made teaching fluid therapy. I'm a nurse at heart, and am fascinated by anything medical, so this isn't as hard as it could have been.

I had read that staying under 130 when using the AT meter, (instead of under 100 for human), might indicate a decrease. Either way, the 18 hour schedule was wonderful. I messed up knowing more since I gave that possible fur shot (there was definitely a wet spot, but I didn't test /smell it). Her numbers indicate I didn't miss.

I hope you all have a great day:):cat:
 
Fantastic news..20/20... Don't over due it and take it easy.

Glad the fluids are helping Tina, can you tell me what the fluids are for?

Rest and relax and enjoy your beautiful Sunday with your loved ones :bighug:
 
I had read that staying under 130 when using the AT meter, (instead of under 100 for human), might indicate a decrease.
Sadly, whoever said that didn’t understand the TR protocol and how we use it with a pet meter. Another “urban myth”.

When using a pet meter and following TR, the only thing that is different is the reduction point of 68. Everything else is the same. I see members here state that why have tons of meter comparisons and so can extrapolate the numbers. Don’t believe them. I have meter comparisons as well and it’s enough to draw the conclusion that there is no way to equate the BGs on the meters.

In fact, the 68 being the reduction number for the pet meters doesn’t mean that it is the same as a 50 on a human meter and that the numbers will always be 18 mg/uL or similar apart. It was just determined that 68 allows the same safety margin in the pet meters as 50 does on a human meter.

I’m glad the video on subq fluids helped and that the 18 hour schedule was such a success!! If you didn’t smell insulin, your probably didn’t give a fur shot. Insulin always has a fairly strong odor of band aids.

I hope you are feeling great today.
 
Glad your eyes are perfect now. Great job on the fluids.

Ollie is always hungry after fluids and feels better overall. I give her treats after. It took us awhile to get the right spot for her. I use a burette line so I can give accurate amount because of her heart.
 
I can see 20/20 with no glasses.

That sounds Great! Glad to hear you're doing so good!
upload_2019-10-13_17-22-43.jpeg
 
Glad the fluids are helping Tina, can you tell me what the fluids are for?
It's the kidneys. I learned last week that her Creatinine (2.8 to 4.3) and BUN (27 to 48) had risen a lot in the last three months, since FD diagnosis. I was hoping for the opposite, but was told she needed subcutaneous fluids right away. So I'm giving 100ml every other day for a month, then rechecking blood work. I'm staying hopeful that the Levothyroxine she's now taking to get her thyroid to better levels, will also help her kidneys.
With DH helping again, she's now had her second treatment. Instead of being a ravenous little kitty, she's just snoozing, but she ate beforehand this time. Pretty soon I'll be doing it on my own. I'm trying to not be down, but I'm still a little stunned this is where we are. Maybe it's only temporary. I'm having a sad. But you know what? Tina is not sad:)
 
Glad your eyes are perfect now. Great job on the fluids.

Ollie is always hungry after fluids and feels better overall. I give her treats after. It took us awhile to get the right spot for her. I use a burette line so I can give accurate amount because of her heart.
Paula, I didn't remember Ollie was on fluids. Are you comfortable with the process and do you have help? I'm likely on my own in two days. I could always take her to the vet, but I don't want to. I think I'll be fine; the anxiety/anticipation is a lot worse than the procedure so far, whew. The videos I've seen have helped enough to ease some anxiety.
 
Paula, I didn't remember Ollie was on fluids. Are you comfortable with the process and do you have help? I'm likely on my own in two days. I could always take her to the vet, but I don't want to. I think I'll be fine; the anxiety/anticipation is a lot worse than the procedure so far, whew. The videos I've seen have helped enough to ease some anxiety.

I'm comfortable with it. I do it by myself. In the beginning it was hard because Ollie kept trying to leave. What scruff she has is tough and thick, the fluid kept stopping and was very slow going in. Lucky if I could get 30 ml in her which is next to nothing.

Now I give slightly to the side of scruff and using the burette line it goes super fast. I use 19 gauge needle. Ollie now sits or lays down. I give her scritches the whole time. She will purr most of the time. Even watch something on my Kindle or songs from my phone. She can have no more than 200 ml a week, divided up how I want. At first tried to 75 ml twice a week, it was rare when I could get it in. After 60 ml Ollie starts getting antsy. So I'm trying 60-65 ml 3x week now although can't seem to get time to get all 3 in.
 
Back
Top