Re: 10/13 Sooty AMPS 307 +3 230
We always suggest a before bedtime check Perry. Those PM checks can be very important.
If you take a look at other SS you will see that many kitties surprise their Beans with low numbers suddenly. The only way to know where they are going is to check. After a dose increase, it is very important to check regularly because the new dose can kick in at any time. I am always curious to see where Shadow is after an increase and sometimes, I do not have to wait till the 5th or 6th cycle to see some action. ECID. But when I see a Pink after a string of yellows, I always wonder why the jump. If there is a lower BG recorded the previous cycle, then there is the answer. It is a bounce.
I feel in my heart that it is best for me to not get complacent in thinking what I THINK Shadow will do. I can guess, but if I have the tools to check it, then that is much safer for Shadow if I use those tools and record the data. When I raise his dose, I am hoping for blues and greens. I am therefore, very anxious to record them. But, that is my way of doing this. Each person has to make their own decisions in how often they test.
Again, a before bed time check is suggested...but it comes down to the choice of the careteaker after the suggestion is made. :razz: (not suggesting an alarm or anything...just a check before retiring.)
So glad you are bringing him in for the check. If there is something going on with his teeth, it it best to get it taken care of. Has he ever had a dental before?
When I came onto the forum, everyone talked so much about dentals. Shadow had one may years ago but I must sadly admit that I was not into doing that regularly for any of my kitties. I have learned so much from the people on this board. So, good dental health is very important. (shadow got 2 dentals this year because of heavy plaque build up. His numbers got a little high too and I was wondering why. After the dental, they went back down. Inflammation and infection can raise the numbers so it is good to eliminate all possible sources of the higher numbers.)