10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 PMPS 475 +3 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80987&p=873267#p873267

numbers:
AMPS 25.40 457.2
8:30 AM 18.80 338.4
12:00 PM 20.90 376.2
PMPS 27.00 486
9:00 PM 26.00 468


I guess he's bouncing off the dive from the night before. sigh. he's totally BEBT this mornign, very hungry, very bossy, seems fine. Just so so so frustrating. I'm beginning to wonder if the dose isn't too HIGH???? or to low? or .... who the heck knows. am tempted to drop him back to 2 or even 1 and start over. I'm nervous to UP the dose given how he can dive on this amount...... just don't really know what to do. guess I'll keep plodding along. main thing is he's just fine. It would be nice if he would just level out (which he did yesterday but up in the red zone!). grrrrrr.

Hope everyone has a great weekend. The rains have returned here with a vengeance, guess it's payback time for the glorious september/early october that we had!
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

Hi guys .. I don't have any dosing advice for you, but I sure understand your frustrations .. one of these days rupert will find his magical dose and you'll realize what all these frustrating moments were for .. Hang in there!!
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

Hope you get some great dosing advice and I hope Rupert settles down and stop his bouncing. :sad: Also sorry to hear about the rains. We are finally experiencing our Fall-like temps...70's and 80's. :lol: :roll: Take it easy and tell Rupert to level out or else...
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

Hi Pip,

Maybe you should put a question mark in your post to get some advice on the dose. I too would be very interested in hearing what the symptoms are of too much juice. He has got some nice greens and seems to be doing a nice dive bombing imitation again today with that +2. At least it sounds like he is happy and energetic. As much energy as one could have in this weather of course. We were so spoiled, weren't we. Sigh!
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

Gosh Pip. I wish I understood those preshots. I can't offer any help at all.
I too would put the Q mark on the subject line, to catch the attention of those who know about dosing.

Barb
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

Hi Pip, Oh gosh I hear you on the frustration level!!! I second (or third :lol:) the motion to ask for dosing advice in your subject line and put the question mark on it. The wise ones will come and evaluate the situation and shed light... Many greetings from me and Reuben :razz:
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 frustrating.

IMHO, I wouldn't reduce the dose. You have worked the dose up to this level in a pretty systematic way. There's really no indication that Rupert is getting too much insulin (and he's not on that big of a dose). For most people, if they drop the dose and start over, they often end up working the dose back up and the cat needs more insulin and they've lost time.

One thought, though, is that maybe Rupert would do better on Levemir. Marje can speak to the differences from her experience with Gracie but I know she's been happier with Lev. The downside for some people is that for some cats, the nadir is later and that may not work for their schedule. However, the later nadir may be an advantage with a bouncy kitty.

ETA: I wanted to point out that not all cats have a later nadir with Lev. It's also possible that if you find there is a later nadir, that may work better for your schedule.
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 PMPS 475

thanx for the input. sometimes I feel like I'm floundering in the dark a bit! so... I'm guessing that maybe I need to up his dose to 2.5? the threat is there Rupie, let's see what he shows me tonight.
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 PMPS 475

Hi Pip,
I just looked at Rupert's SS and I can feel your frustration coming right out of the computer at me! I wish I could offer advice, but these numbers are very difficult to come to grips with. I'm sure that someone very knowledgeable (Sienne, Marje, Jill, perhaps Laurie--but she hasn't been around much lately--, Libby, Julie, et al.) will be able to help you. It looks like you have always followed the protocol, so it doesn't seem as if Rupert's dose could be too high. But you did start out last February with 2 units, whereas most people start with 1 unit. However, I'm sure there was a reason for starting with 2 U.

Anyway, I hope you get some guidance soon.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend. Sorry your good weather has come to an end!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Just saw Sienne's post (written while I was struggling with your SS!). Lev. may indeed be an option. Rusty is on Lev. and I really like the late nadirs (now that I have become accustomed to them). I know that Marje and Ann (Tess) both switched to Lev. because of bounciness. (I don't know what Rusty's patterns were when he was on Lantus, so I'm no help in this respect).
 
Re: 10/13 Rupert AMPS 522 +2 378 PMPS 475

Pip

What dose did you shoot the pm cycle of 10/11? It's not on his SS and I'm certain you didn't skip with that high of a PMPS.

Taking his dose up will likely help with the higher PSs but it's also going to likely drop his nadir so that means if you take him up you must be able to test him more often and control the cycle. That's the downside....so it's up to you but you can't take him up and not be able to monitor him more.

Insofar as switching to lev, it is quite different for the cycles and, as Sienne said, you'd need to decide if it would be conducive to your work schedule. Onsets and nadirs can be later than with lantus but ECID.

The beauty of lev is you can shoot those low PSs because then, typically, you would have a few hours before onset. As I'm sure you've observed from Checker's SS, lev is not guaranteed to stop bouncing but, for Gracie, it has been a world of difference (her high numbers lately have been due to infection so if you look at her SS, scroll back before Sept). She does still bounce and she will dive just occasionally but not like she did on lantus. It took a few months for her to settle into it and Rupie may or may not settle into it that fast....ECID. But I wish my schedule had allowed me to use it sooner with Gracie.

Here are some other lev cats: Rusty, Tess, Checkers, Poomba (posts in lev ISG), JD, Alex, Libby's GA Jazzy. Just look at some SSs and ask questions of lev users. I think some will say it hasn't made much difference....others, like us, love it.

Glad you are back. Glad Nationals went so well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top