10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I'd like to snip the 10/3 to 10/12 spreadsheet results right out and jump to this morning's numbers! I'm so glad to see Pumbaa back in below-renal-threshold numbers! And I'm praying with all of my might that he doesn't bounce off the 165.

This morning was his 6th cycle of 1.75U. Per Tilly's, you hold a dose for 5 to 7 days unless the nadir is always >200. Since Pumbaa's nadirs have been below 200 twice so far (that I know of), I think I'm going to hold him at 1.75U for another couple of cycles unless there is a compelling reason to raise him. If raising his dose to 2.0U after 6 cycles on 1.75U will help prevent bouncing, then raise him I will. If not raising him will help prevent bouncing, then I won't raise him. It's that simple. But, what isn't simple is that I don't know which route to take. Input is very welcome! (I have about an hour before I shoot tonight.)

Suze
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Pumbaa's PMPS was a beautiful 190, so I kept his dose at 1.75U.

Forging ahead can be good, but I don't want to rock the boat, either. As I was doing Pumbaa's PMPS test, I was chanting, "please don't go above 250". Boy, was I pleasantly surprised!

I know that 1.75U won't be Pumbaa's optimum dose, but like I said above, I'm more concerned now about keeping him relatively flat and preventing bounces, while keeping him below renal threshold numbers.

Depending on what he does tonight, I might raise him to 2.0U in the morning. I don't want him to hit another plateau (GT/IR). But I also want to give him enough time to settle into a dose to (hopefully) prevent bounces.

Suze
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

I think I would keep him at 1.75u for a few more cycles. He is still settling and you really didn't see change until today (maybe a little yesterday).

Looks good.
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Sheila:

So I did okay by not increasing him? Whew! I'm very happy that my judgement was correct for once!

How go things with the new FD kitty?

Suze
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

She was quiet (when I wasn't in the room) until about two hours ago. Now she is howling and pawing at the door. I can't let her out because a) I don't have a result on the FIV test yet and b) it's too soon anyway. She went tearing out the door when I went in to get her food dish and scared Leanne with all her hissing and spiting. Hope I get some sleep tonight. She is very upset and hisses when I go in the room. Was a little calmer after I fed her the 3rd can of FF since 3:30 this afternoon. She has had at least 14 ozs of food today.

Nothing will be official until I get that negative test result. So, paws crossed for her.
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Paws crossed here as well about the FIV test results!

Cats are so territorial! You are doing the right thing right now by keeping them separated. I hope you get some sleep tonight!

Maybe the new girl needs to sleep with you tonight to feel like she belongs somewhere. And is loved by someone. Poor baby!

Suze
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Suze- glad to hear Pumbaa has been staying low and not bouncing from a dip!
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Suze -

Great numbers! Looks like you're about at the right dose, and he's liking it! When you start seeing consistently good numbers, it just makes you want to dance!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

Good call on the dose, and continued good numbers to you both!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Well, after that beautiful day yesterday, Pumbaa did bounce this morning. *sigh*
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

It's just ONE day. Don't ever forget that! ;-) And don't let it bring you down.

It helped me to look at Grayson's spreadsheet in a 2-week window of time. First window, about 3 months ago. Second, last week & the week before. Look at the trends. Were the majority of the 3 mo ago numbers high pinks? Red? Maybe a few yellow dots? Then the more recent one. The majority were lower pinks, a few reds, and many more yellows... even some blues!

I think when you look at the overall "big picture" you can feel the progress you're making. I showed my vet those trends, and I think she finally "got" why it's been so important for me to home test. Granted, she never opposed it, but apparently didn't expect her clients to go to that much trouble. But we do, we have great statistics and patterns that we can recognize and treat accordingly, and as a result, we're able to be much more helpful to our kitties than those that don't make the effort.

Keep your chin up! Tomorrow's another day... or at least every 12 hours is another opportunity to have a good cycle! :-D
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Well, see how he responds tomorrow. If he can't regain the mid 100s, then that may be the indicator that he needs the next dose increase.
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Lu:

You are so right. I do go back and look for trends all the time. Of course now it's harder since Pumbaa has only been on Levemir for a few weeks, but I have been comparing how Pumbaa reacted to comparable Lantus doses vs. how he's reacting to that same dose on Levemir.

Don't worry...my chin is up! I'd love for Pumbaa to never bounce again, but his demeanor on the Levemir and the fact that he doesn't hide at shot time is enough to make me very happy! :)

Suze
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Sheila:

Since a dose increase was inevitable, and Pumbaa's lowest number on the 1.75U was 165, I just went ahead and increased him to 2.0U tonight. Maybe tomorrow we'll start seeing some lower 100 numbers. *crossing my fingers*

Suze

ps: Has the new kitty settled down a bit?
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

I agree on the increase, but you may not see better numbers for a day or two. Look at his usual response to an increase as your guide. I think he doesn't settle for about 4 cycles (that's is from memory, so I may be off on that).

Cami is very "unsettled". I am still waiting on the FIV test results (called and they weren't ready). Meanwhile, she is crying and howling and pawing the door. I feel very bad for her, but FIV test aside, she can't come out into the rest of the rooms yet anyway. She tears out the door and I have to grab her as it is and she is growling, hissing and spiting at anything she sees, so my cats are afraid of her. I'm going to try Rescue Remedy in her next meal and see if that helps.

She did drop to 100 yesterday (+5) - and of course is back in the 300s this morning - so I am holding the .5u dose.
 
Re: 10/13 Pumbaa AMPS/201 +4/232 +8.5/165 +10.25/185 QUESTIO

Poor Cami. I hope the Rescue Remedy works! But that is great that she dropped to 100 on a .50U dose! Especially with how stressed out she is!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top