10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 PMPS 123 +2~206 +4~171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27224

Napoleon cleared his bounce, thankfully. He snuggled the whole night with me and woke up like a firecracker this morning. He was all over the house racing around with his sister. These cats sound like horses stampeding through my house :lol: bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif
Bella, my civvie weighs a whole 8lbs and she is the worst sometimes with how loud her running around is! Not sure if anyone watches It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, if not you should it is hilarious (and I am not partial cause I am from Philly ;-) ) This clip reminded me of this morning with my loud babes:

Here is a link: http://popwatch.ew.com/2009/08/11/kitten-mittens-thank-you-its-always-sunny-in-philadephia/
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166

Kitten Mittens...OMG...mine would kill me!!! :lol:
Look at that pretty +1.5!!! Yay Napoleon!!! :mrgreen:

ETA: I just had a thought re what you posted yesterday. I believe that they get USED to the higher numbers and feeling yucky. It's been going on for so long and they feel that THAT is their Comfort Zone.
When they go into lower numbers, the Liver, which has had the all important job of keeping the cat alive is so used to spewing the hormones out, that even a higher low sends it into panic mode. The Bounce results. It is the up and down that drives us crazy but it is really a war between the Liver and the Pancreas. That's why we call it LTS(Liver Training School) We have to keep trying to get the numbers into the healing zone and the Liver will eventually give up it's fight. The key word here being 'eventually". :lol: The Pancreas isn't strong enough to really fight the Liver cause it's been sick, so the insulin assists the pancreas in the battle. (I better stop now, I will be giving names to everyone soon...) ohmygod_smile
You get the picture, right?
Anyway, they will Bounce and keep bouncing until they don't bounce anymore. Simple, right? :lol:
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166

I think ALL of our kittens would kill us if we made them wear mittens!!

I'd be prepared for a bit of action today, Nicole. That's a sizable drop by +1.5.
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166 +5~47

Thanks everyone! Glad you enjoyed !!!KITTEN MITTENS!!!
Good thinking Pat - makes perfect sense. He seems great (knock wood), so something must be working. I guess those ugly numbers are just from the bounces and they will eventually pass. Tomorrow should be bouncetastic after this 47 at +5 :shock:
Sienne, you were right - 47 at +5 - but Mom checked his sugar and he is doing great, acting fine. He came right up to her when she went in the house. He is getting a whole can of FF for lunch instead of his normal quarter can of Wellness and Mom is checking back on him shortly and getting a reading. Napoleon doesn't usually hit his nadir till +6-+8 and sometimes on a more gradual drop at +12. I knew today was going to be a doozy with that +1.5.

I believe that this is his 2nd below 50 on this dose. So am I correct in one more drop below 50 and then dosecrease? Even though they are spread out? Thanks!
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166 +5~47

You are correct. The third time earns the reduction or if he drops below 40, Napoleon earns a reduction at any time.
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166 +5~47

From the Tilly page:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.


We count the 3 <50 within one week. If the time goes by and the 3rd one doesn't appear in that week, then the countdown starts all over again.
Nice job Napoleon!!! :mrgreen:
thbowingsmilies.gif
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166 +5~47 +6.5~91

okay so at +6.5 he came up to 91. This may be a food spike in his system still so my mom is checking him again in an hour to be safe. I have noticed something since I have been feeding him the Wellness exclusively, Fancy Feast seems to make him spike 9 times out of 10 now. I have no idea why. Just a fluke I guess. It is still low carb and the usual that he would eat before.

So let me make sure I get this right, I am only to reduce the dose if he drops under 50 -(3 times in the same week). So if he drops below 50 next week, I would still hold this dose? Thanks so much.
 
Re: 10/13 Napoleon AMPS 254 +1.5~166 +5~47 +6.5~91

3 <50 within a week from the first <50.

If he drops to <40, he earns an immediate reduction.

(What i do...if Shadow earns a reduction in the AM cycle, I try to keep him up during the next cycle. He has already earned his one point in the morning. Like napoleon today. You can feed him to keep him up during the PM cycle because another <50 won't count if it's in the same day.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top