10/13 Ming PMPS = 230, +2 = 200, +4 = 92

It's cycle 10 of 6 units. I'll see how tonight goes and how his appetite fairs tomorrow before I think about increasing. Good plan?

And now... at 8 PM, he seems a bit more himself. He's currently on my drawer, swatting things around :rolleyes:
 
He’s bouncing and tomorrow’s a.m. cycle will be his sixth cycle so it’s possible he will clear the bounce then. Flat yellow is often seen before a bounce clears.

When it is time for his dose increase, you’ll want to increase by 0.5u. Once we start seeing the dose hitting 6u, we start looking at dose increases around 10%.

Has anyone suggested to you that you have him tested for high dose conditions? That’s also something we recommend once the dose hits 6u. If you need the info, please let me know.

I hope he feels better soon.
 
Has anyone suggested to you that you have him tested for high dose conditions? That’s also something we recommend once the dose hits 6u. If you need the info, please let me know.
Yes I tested him for acro earlier in the year and it was negative/a low enough number that I shouldn't worry about. I didn't test for IAA because at the time, I didn't know it was a different test sent to the same lab. No cushings test though. I was going to but it was hard for me to collect pee and then I sort of gave up lol!

I might be bit more hesitant to increase by 0.5 just because Ming has in the past shown some reaction to even a small dose increase in doses higher than 6.
 
Yes I tested him for acro earlier in the year and it was negative/a low enough number that I shouldn't worry about. I didn't test for IAA because at the time, I didn't know it was a different test sent to the same lab. No cushings test though. I was going to but it was hard for me to collect pee and then I sort of gave up lol!

I might be bit more hesitant to increase by 0.5 just because Ming has in the past shown some reaction to even a small dose increase in doses higher than 6.
Thanks for the info.

In regard to the dose increase, I saw a couple times when he dropped into the 20s but they were in bounce clearing cycles. When he’s clearing a bounce, it’s going to be an active cycle so if you don’t test more often and feed the drop, you might very well see this happen.

If he doesn’t clear the bounce tonight or tomorrow, he looks like he needs more insulin; he’s been much higher than 6.5u before. You just have to e sure you monitor a bit more when he clears a bounce.

edited to add: I saw Wendy’s advice that you increase by 0.25u if he doesn’t clear the bounce. Because she’s worked with you all more than I have, I’m happy to change my comments to agree with her on the amount of the increase.

I think it’s a great idea to put in your signature that he has had acro testing.
 
Thanks for the info.

In regard to the dose increase, I saw a couple times when he dropped into the 20s it they were in bounce clearing cycles. When he’s clearing a bounce, it’s going to be an active cycle so if you don’t test more often and feed the drop, you might very well see this happen. He looks like he needs more insulin and he’s been much higher than 6.5u before. You just have to e sure you monitor a bit more when he clears a bounce.
Ah yes, that may explain the drops. Is there an example of a specific cycle I could've tested more with/fed? I'd like to learn the pattern but it's hard for me to distinct it for myself. Thank you!
 
Ah yes, that may explain the drops. Is there an example of a specific cycle I could've tested more with/fed? I'd like to learn the pattern but it's hard for me to distinct it for myself. Thank you!
The pm cycle of 8/2 is a good example. He bounced and was coming down fast at PMPS and +2. Testing sooner after +2 and feeding to slow him down would have kept him from dropping into the 20s.
 
+4 = 92. Fed 1/4 can of FF with 1/2 tsp of honey just to slow down his drop. He won't eat the HC (FF chicken w/ gravy) but he ate the FF w/ honey really well!

Thanks @Marje and Gracie for the explanation :)
You’re welcome. I found that, generally, reductions earned during bounce clearing cycles where the numbers just dropped with no food mgmt often didn’t hold. You can see that happened after the drop on 8/2; the dose had to go back up after the reduction failed.
 
Hmm I hear gurgling in his tummy. I’m going to give him some SEB to help settle it and some florastor tomorrow. That’s probably why he’s been feeling down. But I’m not sure if that’s brought up from a variety of things (stress from going to work with me, eating more FF than usual in the last day, or the raw beef portion I fed yesterday. He usually gets pork and eats beef some days with no issues.)
 
Back
Top