Christine & KR
Member Since 2012
Hi, all. I'm wondering if someone can help me figure out what KR's doing with her insulin.
After a rather harrowing (for me) start to insulin injections (KR 10/5 Condo), KR was dropped to .25u. She sat at that dose for almost a full week, mostly because I couldn't be home to monitor her. I'd planned to increase the dose Friday morning, but moved that up a day when I saw Thursday's AMPS. KR's been receiving .5u BID since then.
For two full days I watched the increase have apparently little impact. I did some random reading on the board and decided to hope I was seeing New Dose Wonkiness. I ran a mini-curve today (without as many tests as I would've liked to get) which seemed to confirm the NDW was out of her system...until I hit +3 tonight:
AMPS - 226
+4 - 190
+7 - 139
+9 - 163
PMPS - 294
+3 - 314
My vet told me at initial diagnosis that "elderly kitties are really hard to regulate." Is KR trying to prove her right? I realize one day doesn't give a lot of data, but I really didn't expect that 314 after the nice mostly blue day we had.
Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Christine & Kitty Rabbit
(edited to make it clear I'm looking for help)
After a rather harrowing (for me) start to insulin injections (KR 10/5 Condo), KR was dropped to .25u. She sat at that dose for almost a full week, mostly because I couldn't be home to monitor her. I'd planned to increase the dose Friday morning, but moved that up a day when I saw Thursday's AMPS. KR's been receiving .5u BID since then.
For two full days I watched the increase have apparently little impact. I did some random reading on the board and decided to hope I was seeing New Dose Wonkiness. I ran a mini-curve today (without as many tests as I would've liked to get) which seemed to confirm the NDW was out of her system...until I hit +3 tonight:
AMPS - 226
+4 - 190
+7 - 139
+9 - 163
PMPS - 294
+3 - 314
My vet told me at initial diagnosis that "elderly kitties are really hard to regulate." Is KR trying to prove her right? I realize one day doesn't give a lot of data, but I really didn't expect that 314 after the nice mostly blue day we had.
Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Christine & Kitty Rabbit
(edited to make it clear I'm looking for help)