? 10/13 Ivy amps 400, +3 400, +5 353, +9.75 232, PMPS 329, +3.75 179 Bg HIGH

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
+3 still 400.
Should I be very worried that her bg is so high lately (even though the carbs I am feeding are lower than they have been)?
Seems opposite what I would expect to see. And she’s of course drinking a lot today because her number so high. :arghh:
 
Maybe she needs an increase?
As Bhooma says, you need your patience pants. She will get there :bighug:
Everybody keep saying don’t do an increase while changing/ lower carbs, so I’m hesitant to do that, but I don’t like these bgs.
Just seems so odd, I’m lowering her carbs and her numbers are going up, not down :arghh:
 
You should ask for advice. With her numbers, I doubt she risks getting too low, but I am not confident enough to advise you on that!
Are you testing her for ketones?
 
You should ask for advice. With her numbers, I doubt she risks getting too low, but I am not confident enough to advise you on that!
Are you testing her for ketones?
Yes, I do test for ketones daily and they are negative on the strip.
I will ask for advice. Thanks for the suggestion.:bighug:
 
Hi all, please see my post today. I have questions about how to handle Ivy‘s persistent higher BG’s in the past week since I have actually lowered her carbs. I am continuing to lower her carbs down to 6%.
Not sure what to do here with these high numbers. It seems counterintuitive to feeding lower carbs, but yet higher numbers, but what do I know?
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Angela & Cleo
 
Lower the carbs. You have the Libre and have bg at your finger tips. If that dues t do it you will need to increase the dose every 7 days. I have a hard time figuring out the nadirs with the Libre though. Any time there’s a potential reduction according to the Libre I would double check.
 
Dint be surprised if once the carbs are all down to 6% that you might need to increase the insulin if there is glucose toxicity. Just follow SLGS guidelines.
 
If completely on the 6% and bg doesn’t come down you will increase per SLGS guidelines and might reach a higher fuse than she’s been on before before you break through it. Just follow the method.
 
Lower the carbs. You have the Libre and have bg at your finger tips. If that dues t do it you will need to increase the dose every 7 days. I have a hard time figuring out the nadirs with the Libre though. Any time there’s a potential reduction according to the Libre I would double check.
FYI, I ALWAYS double check any reductions.
They are never based on the Libre. Always based on a blood test on the Contour meter only.
 
I know but it’s hard for me at least to determine patterns with the Libre. When I see a lime on your ss and no other test in the box it confuses me. That’s just me. I prefer using one meter and a human one at that. Others like the Libre.
 
I know but it’s hard for me at least to determine patterns with the Libre. When I see a lime on your ss and no other test in the box it confuses me. That’s just me. I prefer using one meter and a human one at that. Others like the Libre.
If it’s lime I write Libre so it’s clear to anyone looking. I know it’s somewhat confusing and I apologize for that.
When she goes low on Libre, I always test with Contour to be certain.
 
+9.75 232
Pmps 329

Slight dip at +9.75 but shot back up at PMPS.
Drinking more water than usual, to be expected with these higher numbers.

Will change pm meal tomorrow to lower 6% lamb diet (in addition to already feeding am meal 6%). Over next few days will then change the snacks to 6% also.
Wish she would see more blue numbers. :confused:
 
Staci, how frustrating it must be to see her numbers going up when she's taking in fewer carbs. But cats are weird and they like to keep us guessing, until finally they give up and cooperate. Have faith that you are doing the right thing and the low carb food will be beneficial over the long run. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, how frustrating it must be to see her numbers going up when she's taking in fewer carbs. But cats are weird and they like to keep us guessing, until finally they give up and cooperate. Have faith that you are doing the right thing and the low carb food will be beneficial over the long run. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Karen, thanks for your support. It is so frustrating to just try to know what to do to help her situation. I keep hoping we can improve things by tweaking. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Some blue is better than none! You're doing a great job lowering her carbs and figuring this out. You got this. :bighug:I
Hi Alli, I agree. I’ll take any blue right now. She’s definitely holding out on the blue. I hope the lower carbs will help balance things out. Very frustrating. Thanks for your support. I appreciate you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top