? - 10/13 Charlie AMPS 134, +2 104, +3 94, +4 104, +8.5 135 Dose increase? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 10/13 Charlie AMPS 134, +2 104, +3 94, +4 104, +8.5 135 Dose increase?

Charlie'sMom22

Member since 2025
Yesterday's post

As it says in yesterday's post, I'm really struggling with his recovery. I have a call with an IM vet tomorrow and I am desperate for their help. This has been the longest f'n weekend of my life.

His numbers have been unstable since the beginning of this whole episode and they're getting worse. I want to give him an increase tonight. Do I need to switch to TR or can I just do it?

Edit: I’m going to hold off until tomorrow but I’d still like to increase I think. Or should I give it longer? I’ve been trying to taper off his meds the last few days so I don’t know if that’s contributing
 
Last edited:
Hey Jess, glad to hear from you, but not under these circumstances. Bumping this as you near shot time. Don't know enough to give dosing advice but the answer is prolly going to depend on how low you're comfortable managing and if you're able to keep an eye on him after your rough week. I hope your IM call goes well tomorrow. Hang in there 🤗
 
Hey Jess, glad to hear from you, but not under these circumstances. Bumping this as you near shot time. Don't know enough to give dosing advice but the answer is prolly going to depend on how low you're comfortable managing and if you're able to keep an eye on him after your rough week. I hope your IM call goes well tomorrow. Hang in there 🤗
Thanks Seth. You’re totally right. I think at this point I should just wait until tomorrow. I don’t want to risk being sleep deprived for the call tomorrow. I’ll edit the title.

Thanks so much for your support 🥹🫂
 
Thanks Seth. You’re totally right. I think at this point I should just wait until tomorrow. I don’t want to risk being sleep deprived for the call tomorrow. I’ll edit the title.

Thanks so much for your support 🥹🫂
Hi Jess, sending you lots of good wishes and vibes for Charlie to feel better. I hope tonight is calm and you have a helpful call tomorrow with the vet 🍀🍀🍀🍀🙏🙏🙏❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
 
Hi Jess, sending you lots of good wishes and vibes for Charlie to feel better. I hope tonight is calm and you have a helpful call tomorrow with the vet 🍀🍀🍀🍀🙏🙏🙏❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
Thanks so much Staci. I hope so too. I don’t know what to do anymore. I’ve been back and forth to so many different vets and none of them help me or offer any guidance. I feel so alone in this. I’m praying they’ll have some ideas
 
Thanks so much Staci. I hope so too. I don’t know what to do anymore. I’ve been back and forth to so many different vets and none of them help me or offer any guidance. I feel so alone in this. I’m praying they’ll have some ideas
I know, Jess.
I forget if we’ve discussed it before (if so sorry)
But did you look at the Facebook group for Cats with Pancreatitis?
I found a lot of good information there 🫂
 
As you are following SLGS for dosing, and his nadirs are landing in the 90-149 range, you would stay with 0.25 units.


Prednisolone. 😿 I tried tapering her off, but her gut rebelled. So on low a dose as we can go. Thankfully not a diabetic (antijinx).
If he starts nadiring at 150 I’m way past screwed. I’m trying to prevent him from getting there to begin with given how quickly he loses control. What do you suggest?

Are there side effects to the prednisolone? I have it on my list to ask the IM vet about budesonide tomorrow, from what I understand that ones okay for diabetics.
 
I know, Jess.
I forget if we’ve discussed it before (if so sorry)
But did you look at the Facebook group for Cats with Pancreatitis?
I found a lot of good information there 🫂
I did! I joined. I’ve been meaning to post but I’ve just been so all over the place. It’s helpful reading through everyone else’s comments though and knowing that Charlie’s struggles are not unique. It’s also scary how serious it can get. I don’t understand why there isn’t more being done about this
 
Yes, there are side effects to prednisolone and not something I'd consider for a kitty with possible heart condition. Besides impacting BGs too. Neko took budesonide instead of pred due to her heart. It didn't impact her BG, but it does for some cats. ECID.

If he starts nadiring at 150 I’m way past screwed. I’m trying to prevent him from getting there to begin with given how quickly he loses control. What do you suggest?
👖 Those are patience pants. He nadired at 94 today, 92 yesterday. Not a lot of room between that and below 90. Remember, ask yourself how low the dose can take him. He's getting green or very close most days.
 
Yes, there are side effects to prednisolone and not something I'd consider for a kitty with possible heart condition. Besides impacting BGs too. Neko took budesonide instead of pred due to her heart. It didn't impact her BG, but it does for some cats. ECID.


👖 Those are patience pants. He nadired at 94 today, 92 yesterday. Not a lot of room between that and below 90. Remember, ask yourself how low the dose can take him. He's getting green or very close most days.
Noted on the pred. Thank you.

I just realized my signature wasn’t updated—I’m doing reductions under 80.

Are you thinking he might come back down on his own? I just look back to a couple weeks ago when he would drop to green and stay flat between 90-105ish for almost the whole cycle. I mean, he almost went down to .1u! Now the drops barely hold, which is how his numbers used to act when a dose wasn’t enough. I know you want me to be patient, but I worry he’ll become insulin resistant again if I wait too long.

I guess I can give it another cycle or so and then switch to TR if there’s no improvement?
 
Back
Top