10/13 Bubbas AMPS 60 PMPS 355

:bighug:

Good to see Bubbas in the green anyway
Yes very true! I just don't understand why he went from the 200's last night, and dropped all the way down to 60. he ate his dinner, he had fresh water, all of that.

I completely skipped his dose this morning. I hate doing that but I did NOT feel comfortable giving him anything at all while im at work. Still going to do his curve tomorrow.
 
I completely skipped his dose this morning. I hate doing that but I did NOT feel comfortable giving him anything at all while im at work.
Sorry no one answered you sooner. To get some immediate attention and eyes on your post, try putting something like "Help Low AMPS". Since you can't monitor, its a good thing you skipped.
This is not a criticism :bighug:, it looks like Bubbas was clearing a bounce last night so a couple of night time tests would have shown how low he went.
I'm not sure if a curve tomorrow will show you much since CONGRATS on the reduction, but its always good to get tests in when you can :cat:.
 
Sorry no one answered you sooner. To get some immediate attention and eyes on your post, try putting something like "Help Low AMPS". Since you can't monitor, its a good thing you skipped.
This is not a criticism :bighug:, it looks like Bubbas was clearing a bounce last night so a couple of night time tests would have shown how low he went.
I'm not sure if a curve tomorrow will show you much since CONGRATS on the reduction, but its always good to get tests in when you can :cat:.
I came home about 11:00pm last night so I should of tested him right when I got home, I was just sooo tired. I will make sure to get some tests in tonight forsure, according to SLGS since he went down to 60, i have to reduce him to 1.25 correct? he was at 1.75
 
I know this feeling all too well :bighug:


We generally change the dose in increments of 0.25 units. Tonight you should shoot 1.50 Units.
Oh that makes sense, I swear I was told that if it drops that low that I need to drop it by .50. I will drop down to 1.50 starting tonight!

So should I wait until next weekend to do an official curve?
 
So should I wait until next weekend to do an official curve?
With no insulin this morning, he'll probably bounce. I'd let the numbers be my guide. If between PS and your +2/+3 he's flat and high, then I'd probably put the test kit away. If however, the tests are hinting at some "action", I would test more often. Does that make sense?

Here is a more eloquent explanation from the sticky The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar/Semglee cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.​
 
With no insulin this morning, he'll probably bounce. I'd let the numbers be my guide. If between PS and your +2/+3 he's flat and high, then I'd probably put the test kit away. If however, the tests are hinting at some "action", I would test more often. Does that make sense?

Here is a more eloquent explanation from the sticky The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar/Semglee cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.​
Good to know all that information!
 
Back
Top