10/13 Boomer AMPS 191 +3 229 +6 180 PMPS 209 +3 189, Allen pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 191 shooting 3u
Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but not without my help at 2:00 am when I had to stir it for him:rolleyes:
Allen ate well overnight.

To sum up the info about Allen:
There is a small mass 1.2cm x 1.6cm on his pancreas. It looks unusual but because of his chronic hypoglycaemia we are all assuming it is an insulinoma which is apparently pretty rare. It's location makes it difficult to do a fine needle aspiration. Allen's liver and spleen are also slightly enlarged which could indicate that the insulinoma is indeed cancerous and has metastasized.
There is no IBD and his kidneys look normal despite an earlier diagnosis of stage 2 kidney disease.
Of course he still has idiopathic hypercalcemia however we always knew that the hypercalcemia could be caused by cancer so it could be caused by the above-mentioned insulinoma assuming it's malignant.
Allen is already on Fosomax to treat the hypercalcemia and the dosage was just recently doubled as the last ionized blood test showed the calcium level was going back up. Today we are picking up Pred from Dr Larry and this will hopefully help bring his BG up. I tested him this morning and his BG was 1.6 (29) after not eating for 3 hours. Dr Larry indicates the Pred should work fairly quickly so I think I will test twice a week and hopefully will see an improvement. Dr Larry believes that Allen is not in pain however may be feeling weak because of the hypoglycaemia. The Pred may also cause Allen to eat more and gain weight which, in Allen's case, would be a good thing. I do know that Pred can lead to diabetes but in Allen's situation with the tumour causing hypoglycaemia I don't think we have to worry about that.

Thank you everyone for your vines, prayers, hugs, words, information, and support! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope the Pred will help Allen. I am glad you don't think there is any pain. I think you would know (us mama beans just know). That 29 :nailbiting::eek:. Will feeding more frequently help with that? I know nothing about insulinoma or hypoglycaemia (other than how it relates to FD). What about the fasting for the 12 hours before you give the Fosomax? That can't be good for low BG.

Lots of love Judy :bighug: Allen, eat your fudz and feel better.:cat: Great start Boomer! :cat:
 
I hope the Pred will help Allen. I am glad you don't think there is any pain. I think you would know (us mama beans just know). That 29 :nailbiting::eek:. Will feeding more frequently help with that? I know nothing about insulinoma or hypoglycaemia (other than how it relates to FD). What about the fasting for the 12 hours before you give the Fosomax? That can't be good for low BG.

Lots of love Judy :bighug: Allen, eat your fudz and feel better.:cat: Great start Boomer! :cat:
We have Allen on the same feeding schedule as Boomer so every 3 hours. Two of his foods are higher in carbs and 2 are low...of course his favourite food is purrfect bistro chicken pate which is only 2% carbs but I alternate it with the other foods. Yes I want to speak with Dr Larry about the 12 hour fast however so far it's been ok and hopefully the Pred will help raise his BG.
 
Our Allen! He likes to make himself comfy on my photo sets!
 

Attachments

  • Allen DSC_0905 resized.jpg
    Allen DSC_0905 resized.jpg
    160.3 KB · Views: 69
With insulinoma being so rare, I am willing to bet that you just may be the only bean on the planet with a hyper and a hypo kitty. Prayers that the pred helps Allen without any new issues. I just love tabbies...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top