Judy and Boomer
Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 191 shooting 3u
Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but not without my help at 2:00 am when I had to stir it for him
Allen ate well overnight.
To sum up the info about Allen:
There is a small mass 1.2cm x 1.6cm on his pancreas. It looks unusual but because of his chronic hypoglycaemia we are all assuming it is an insulinoma which is apparently pretty rare. It's location makes it difficult to do a fine needle aspiration. Allen's liver and spleen are also slightly enlarged which could indicate that the insulinoma is indeed cancerous and has metastasized.
There is no IBD and his kidneys look normal despite an earlier diagnosis of stage 2 kidney disease.
Of course he still has idiopathic hypercalcemia however we always knew that the hypercalcemia could be caused by cancer so it could be caused by the above-mentioned insulinoma assuming it's malignant.
Allen is already on Fosomax to treat the hypercalcemia and the dosage was just recently doubled as the last ionized blood test showed the calcium level was going back up. Today we are picking up Pred from Dr Larry and this will hopefully help bring his BG up. I tested him this morning and his BG was 1.6 (29) after not eating for 3 hours. Dr Larry indicates the Pred should work fairly quickly so I think I will test twice a week and hopefully will see an improvement. Dr Larry believes that Allen is not in pain however may be feeling weak because of the hypoglycaemia. The Pred may also cause Allen to eat more and gain weight which, in Allen's case, would be a good thing. I do know that Pred can lead to diabetes but in Allen's situation with the tumour causing hypoglycaemia I don't think we have to worry about that.
Thank you everyone for your vines, prayers, hugs, words, information, and support!






Good morning!
AMPS 191 shooting 3u
Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but not without my help at 2:00 am when I had to stir it for him
Allen ate well overnight.
To sum up the info about Allen:
There is a small mass 1.2cm x 1.6cm on his pancreas. It looks unusual but because of his chronic hypoglycaemia we are all assuming it is an insulinoma which is apparently pretty rare. It's location makes it difficult to do a fine needle aspiration. Allen's liver and spleen are also slightly enlarged which could indicate that the insulinoma is indeed cancerous and has metastasized.
There is no IBD and his kidneys look normal despite an earlier diagnosis of stage 2 kidney disease.
Of course he still has idiopathic hypercalcemia however we always knew that the hypercalcemia could be caused by cancer so it could be caused by the above-mentioned insulinoma assuming it's malignant.
Allen is already on Fosomax to treat the hypercalcemia and the dosage was just recently doubled as the last ionized blood test showed the calcium level was going back up. Today we are picking up Pred from Dr Larry and this will hopefully help bring his BG up. I tested him this morning and his BG was 1.6 (29) after not eating for 3 hours. Dr Larry indicates the Pred should work fairly quickly so I think I will test twice a week and hopefully will see an improvement. Dr Larry believes that Allen is not in pain however may be feeling weak because of the hypoglycaemia. The Pred may also cause Allen to eat more and gain weight which, in Allen's case, would be a good thing. I do know that Pred can lead to diabetes but in Allen's situation with the tumour causing hypoglycaemia I don't think we have to worry about that.
Thank you everyone for your vines, prayers, hugs, words, information, and support!








Great start Boomer!
