10/13 Blaze amps 343, +3 298, +5 297, PMPS 251, +1 343, +2 329

It looks like Blaze is coming down from last night. I hope he keeps heading down today.

Sarah is doing SLGS. With the 104 in the PM cycle of 10/11 she should hold the dose.
Yes, a little better start to the day and +3 is in the yellow now! Hopefully he keeps on coming down


And yes, I’m holding the dose due to his lower nadirs on 10/11. Hopefully the bounce is clearing and we see the real results of the 0.75U dose soon!
 
Hi Sarah, After studying Blaze's SS I'd be tempted to increase as well...so I'm going to make an additional suggestion - one you may not care much for. I think the other night when he was hitting those blues, he went on down to the lagoon..hence the high numbers the following day. So it would be a really good idea to set your alarm and get a test or two at those hours of the night - yes, I know, who wants to get up at those hours to check on the cat? Not many people...but you don't have a single test at that hour of the night. So please try to get a test or two around that time...if he's not hitting numbers per SLGS (If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose) that recommends holding, I'd look at giving him an increase.

It'll help to level him off from the bouncing if you can steer him away from those lower numbers by feeding him. Looking at his SS - when he goes down at night - he bounces the next day. So you could give this a try - test, if falling, feed to steer him up a bit...try to prevent the bounces...and hopefully he'll settle into some lower numbers overall - at least not red...it might be easier on him ...

Just something to try on this dose.
 
@Sue and Luci

Because I increased Blaze back to 1U too early on 10/7 pm, he is not yet due for an increase, as far as I know. He has to be on the dose for 7 days before I can give an increase and that would be in the AM on 10/15. So I am going to keep him at 0.75U until the morning of 10/15, if from now until the morning of 10/15, he has no nadirs between 90-150, then we will increase back to 1U:)

Okay, so you think a test at +7 and +8 would be good? I will try my best, I work Monday through Thursday so work nights are hard for me to be up late or to set alarms to get up in those hours. Thursday night, Friday night and Saturday night are easier and better for me to get those tests.

Blaze is a very bouncy cat so every time he gets into those blue and green numbers, he bounces the next day and sometimes continues to bounce for three days after the lower numbers so it's hard to see the effects of a dose when he bounces from low numbers, that's why I'm not so quick to increase. He is not yet used to low numbers yet:rolleyes:

And I do try to steer him with feeding. He gets three small LC snacks during day time cycle and night time cycle always, but if I test at +2 in the evening and he's dropped a lot, I try to steer him with MC food and if he's dropping more and more, HC food. I make notes on my spreadsheet. But I always try to steer him with food when he's dropping in the evenings, he usually still bounces. Am I not doing that correctly?
 
I work Monday through Thursday so work nights are hard for me to be up late or to set alarms to get up in those hours. Thursday night, Friday night and Saturday night are easier and better for me to get those tests.

Yep, I hear ya...I work M-F...and my boss expects me to be able to provide innovation solutions to health care coding applications and function intelligently ... sometimes it's difficult when I've been up and down late in the night with Luci...so I understand that.:smuggrin: But if you could get a couple just to see how he's doing - it's more a matter of filling in the blanks on your SS - gotta figure out why he's hitting those highs during the day. Luci historically is very bouncie too...she use to have a trampoline in her back pocket...so I understand that...

He gets three small LC snacks during day time cycle and night time cycle always, but if I test at +2 in the evening and he's dropped a lot, I try to steer him with MC food and if he's dropping more and more, HC food. I make notes on my spreadsheet. But I always try to steer him with food when he's dropping in the evenings, he usually still bounces. Am I not doing that correctly?

I think you're doing fine...I'm not sure about the 'three small LC snacks' unless you're saying you test him and he gets a snack at that time - which is perfect! :D

I was just making some suggestions for you to try to hold that bouncing down a bit...I know it's challenging, believe me...I know...:rolleyes:
 
Yep, I hear ya...I work M-F...and my boss expects me to be able to provide innovation solutions to health care coding applications and function intelligently ... sometimes it's difficult when I've been up and down late in the night with Luci...so I understand that.:smuggrin: But if you could get a couple just to see how he's doing - it's more a matter of filling in the blanks on your SS - gotta figure out why he's hitting those highs during the day. Luci historically is very bouncie too...she use to have a trampoline in her back pocket...so I understand that...



I think you're doing fine...I'm not sure about the 'three small LC snacks' unless you're saying you test him and he gets a snack at that time - which is perfect! :D

I was just making some suggestions for you to try to hold that bouncing down a bit...I know it's challenging, believe me...I know...:rolleyes:
Okay, I will try to fill in the blanks in those evening tests that I'm missing on my SS. Thank you Sue! And I think Blaze has a trampoline in his back pocket too:joyful:

As for the three small snacks, I have an auto feeder that I put some LC FF in at +3, +5, +7 during the day while I'm at work and same for the evening, I use the auto feeder and put 3 small snacks of LC FF in there, unless he's dropped a lot at +2, then he gets a small snack sooner or I give some MC carb to help slow him down. I've read and have been told that feeding several small meals throughout the day is best for diabetic kitties, hence the small snacks in the auto feeder.

If I'm not doing the food steering in the evening when he drops low, please let me know. I've only been doing this for two months so still have a lot of learning to do.
 
I've read and have been told that feeding several small meals throughout the day is best for diabetic kitties, hence the small snacks in the auto feeder.

Yes, I have an auto-feeder too...but I only use it when I'm out of the house for extended amounts of time - same as when you're at work...

I feed her by hand at night when I test her...

I think you're doing a terrific job!:bighug:
 
Yes, I have an auto-feeder too...but I only use it when I'm out of the house for extended amounts of time - same as when you're at work...

I feed her by hand at night when I test her...

I think you're doing a terrific job!:bighug:
Same here, auto feeder is for when I am out of the house at work during the week and when I go to bed and he’s in safe numbers. If he’s dropping fast, I give him food by hand as well until he is back up and safe! Thank you Sue! I appreciate your advice and help!!:bighug:
 
Back
Top