? 10/13 Biscuit AMPS 88, +1.5 88, +4 70 +5.5 59 +6 55 +7 49 +7.5 51 +8 59 +9 70 PMPS 104

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Biscuit is having a great run but all those greens had me reading a lot last night on the forum and coming up with some questions regarding food and feeding.

First - Background. We have 2 rescue cats, both older 17 & 16 years old. They have been with us since kittens. The older one, Okie, was recently diagnosed with hyperthyroid, still not controlled. Years ago, when Biscuit was first diagnosed with diabetes, they were on dry food only and both very overweight. We switched to wet only 9 lives under 5% carbs, on a strict regimen of 1/2 a 6 oz can each, twice a day in the morning and at night. Both cats dropped weight to a “healthy” size. Now, both are underweight - biscuit only slightly. Okie more so. She really needs to put on about 2 lbs.

Now - to the question. I see that most people seem to suggest smaller meals throughout the day. Or feeding whatever they’ll eat as the diabetes causes poor absorption. It seems for us, that Biscuit would eat anything we put down anytime. I have to guard Okies food so he doesn’t eat it. He’s faster than her. So for the past two weeks we started adding a 3 oz can each of Tiki Cat 0 carbs at lunch time. Biscuit again devours it. Okie eats some, walks away, I pick up her bowl, she comes back later, I put it down, etc etc. I also read about the “brewers rice” in 9 lives so we are doing a trial run of FF to see if the cats like it. (Honestly my cats aren’t picky and seem to eat anything).

So, is this a good schedule since they are familiar with it? With these lower greens of Biscuits should I space out what he’s already eating, or add more LC food in to help regulate his sugar?? Or other ideas?? Just wondering if there is more we could be doing to help his body regulate. FYI. At the vet a few weeks ago he weighed 10.6 lbs. He is an orange Tabby so he should be “bigger” by most standards. Okie is a tortie calico. She is a dainty girl but her 7lbs is just too underweight.
 
Ok. So we have hit under 50., but just barely. I will test again in a few to keep an eye on him.

However, does this mean I reduce his evening dose or tomorrow mornings by 0.25u??
 
Typically, you would reduce the dose this evening. The caveat is that if Biscuit should bounce into the stratosphere, you can hold the dose for one last cycle and reduce the following cycle.

As for your food question, there's no one right answer. We typically encourage multiple smaller meals since one big meal makes it harder on the pancreas. For a cat like Biscuit whose pancreas looks like it's healing, multiple small meals are likely going to be better and will have the advantage of keeping the numbers surfing.

If you have concerns about weight for both of your kitties, you may also want to experiment with a food that is still low carb but higher in calories. Tiki Cat, for example has many flavors that are very low in calories. If you compare it with Wellness, you'll see the difference in calories -- Wellness contains more fat.
 
Back
Top