10/13 ? Amps 365, 3+ 265, when to test next

Aero cats can go too low. However, looking at Bootsie's SS, I have no problem with the increase to 7 ½ units with the less frequently testing you are doing.
 
You don't necessarily have to test every 3 hrs. Most of us get a +2 or +3, since that usually (not always) gives you an idea if the cycle will be a little more active. As you get more tests in, you'll see if that's a good predictor or not.

Then try to get nadir, usually +6 to +9, but that can also vary.

Other than that, whatever other tests you can fit in, trying to hit each hour over a few days (so today may be +2, +5, +8, +11 - tomorrow could be +3, +6 - whatever works with your schedule).

You might find it better to post on the Lantus forum, lot more traffic. Just keep following the dosing sticky. Are you testing ketones? I'd suggest maybe twice a week given the fairly recent DKA and higher numbers.
 
I agree with Melissa. You'll get more/faster feedback over on the Lantus forum. There are a number of people with acros posting there when they want dosing advice. This forum tends to be more about specific acro or other condition issues. I would hold the dose six cycles, or three days, if you are seeing yellow nadirs. As Larry said, acros can still drop low. Testing and raising the dose in a safe time frame are what helps prevent her going too low.
 
You don't necessarily have to test every 3 hrs. Most of us get a +2 or +3, since that usually (not always) gives you an idea if the cycle will be a little more active. As you get more tests in, you'll see if that's a good predictor or not.

Then try to get nadir, usually +6 to +9, but that can also vary.

Other than that, whatever other tests you can fit in, trying to hit each hour over a few days (so today may be +2, +5, +8, +11 - tomorrow could be +3, +6 - whatever works with your schedule).

You might find it better to post on the Lantus forum, lot more traffic. Just keep following the dosing sticky. Are you testing ketones? I'd suggest maybe twice a week given the fairly recent DKA and higher numbers.

I have tested her urine for ketones about 1x per week and it is negative
Thanks for the BG testing info.
 
Ketones can rise to dangerous levels over a day. If she's in high number or shows any sign of lethargy, inappetance, I'd test more often. Like once a day.
 
Back
Top