10/13/22 Sammy's BG - High this AM (10/14/22)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica & Sammy

Member Since 2022
Hi - I am new to home testing and have questions regarding Sammy's ranges. Yesterday morning (AMPS) his BG was 281; PMPS was 340, +2 after PM was 83, and +4 PM was 97. While the range shows green on the spreadsheet, I was concerned about him going lower than 83 and gave a few of his favorite dry snacks. This morning his BG is high at 485. I assume this is due to the snacks even though I restricted how many he could eat. Overnight, I put up the dry kibble that he can reach and left out what remained from his dinner (FF Gourmet Naturals Pate Wild Salmon). I do not believe he touched it. I leave kibble out for my younger cats where I believe he cannot reach. Due to his arthritis, he cannot get up where they usually eat. In the last 10 months, I have seen him get up there once and it was earlier this year before all the other health issues. I do not believe he got into the kibble. Based on the above scenario, is it safe to assume his high BG this morning was from the snacks? Should I not have overreacted last night? I am scared of him going below 100 since I am so inexperienced with this.
Thanks in advance =)
 
I too am concerned that Sammy may be going too low. The high 465 could have been due to to Sammy going too low (you did not catch how low he went) and the BG rebounded since the body was trying to protect itself from BG going dangerously low.
NOvolin N is not a good insulin since it last only 8-10 hours and you get a curve like you see, that is BG drops fast.
I would reduce to 1 unit.
As long term solution I would talk to your vet and change insulin to either Prozinc or glargine (Lantus is one name brand but you can get generics/biosimilars a lot less expensive)
https://www.goodrx.com/semglee?dosa...ulin+glargine&quantity=1&sort_type=popularity
 
Hi again. I got home and tested Sammy before his PM shot. He was at 91. I gave him 10 of his crunchy treats and about half a can of LC pate. I reduced his insulin to 1.5 and tested at +1. He is at 116. I will test again at +2 and +4 and hopefully he won’t be too high. We have an appointment tomorrow and I am really hoping he has a good report. I really don’t want his insulin increased again. The appointment is around +4 his AM shot. Do these numbers look good? We went in on Monday and he was at 593, but he had access to all the food so that would account for that. He seems to be resting more comfortable. Hopefully we are finally getting into the swing of this :)
 
I would not BG to go lower than the 73 you reported. I suspect the next preshot will be high. THis again would shot the Novolin N is satisfactory for Sammy.
 
Good Morning. Thank you for the information :). Sammy woke me up a bit early since he was hungry. I put food up 2 hours prior to testing and he wanted to eat now. I tested and he came back 198. I will give his insulin in about 30 minutes to keep on schedule. I think 1.5u should be adequate. We have a vet appointment later today and will talk to the doctor about changing to Lantus. I will test Sammy again before the appointment and compare the BG with what their machine calculates.
 
Finally received a good report at the vet’s!!! Appointment was at +4.5AM and Sammy read 99! Doctor recommends cutting his insulin to 1u twice a day. He does not recommend changing insulin at this time since we are finally seeing results. We have another appointment in 2 weeks for a fructosamine blood test and if those results aren’t good, I will push to change the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top