? 10/13/19 Charlotte ambg 101 + 15

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
Good morning all! So Charlotte is 103 this am. I rechecked questioning validity of strip and second value was 101. Both on the Relion meter. Triple checked On an Accu check meter which read 109. So I am obviously not going to give any insulin right now. I overslept so she was supposed to get it at 6:15 am. Don’t understand what is going on bc she was running higher yesterday because of some food she got into. Of course she doesn’t want to eat this morning. Seems fine. Purring and relaxed.
Keep checking? Problem however, I am supposed to leave for a few days with my husband and although my mom could give her her insulin she can’t take her BG before hand. Ugh! Suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks
 
As far as leaving, I'm sure you've probably thought of this already. Maybe contact your veterinarian to see if they have technicians that pet sit. Sorry to waste your time if you've already considered that option. Good luck and Charolette, be good for your parents!
 
As far as leaving, I'm sure you've probably thought of this already. Maybe contact your veterinarian to see if they have technicians that pet sit. Sorry to waste your time if you've already considered that option. Good luck and Charolette, be good for your parents!
Hmm.. well I wish she wasn’t such a skittish cat but boarding her wouldn’t be in her best interest unfortunately. And I am her vet and our facility doesn’t board. But thanks for the suggestion anyway!
 
I hadn't stopped by before, so welcome to the group!

A couple of small pieces of housekeeping first. We link our previous post to the current thread. This allows you (and us) to easily backtrack if necessary. This is the link to Charlotte's last "condo". We also use a particular format for the title of your thread (aka "condo"). In order to have current information, you want your subject line to read: date -- kitty's name -- AMPS-#, +time-#s. This way, you can find your thread and we can identify the information and easily scan the board to see if numbers are low or something looks suspicious. So for today, if you could edit your subject line so it reads: 10/13 Charlotte AMPS 101. You can then update the subject line in your first post as you get more test data

@Briere Fur Mom -- the CG is a vet.

If you're skipping the shot, there's no concern about being gone. You might want to get a couple of tests this cycle just so you have some idea of what the cycle looks like without insulin on board.

As for when you're traveling, that is a bit more complicated. You're welcome to look at Gabby's spreadsheet (SS) -- the times when I was traveling are in grey. When I travelled, my cat sitter would have tested -- if Gabby would have allowed her to do so. (She was a tortie, complete with a lot of attitude and it was good that they could give her a shot without Gabby taking someone's arm off and screaming. She was a bit of a momma's girl! Testing was out of the question.). Given that you're dosing 0.5u, you could drop the dose to 0.25u. I'd have your mom practice drawing up the dose and leave a sample syringe (use a colored liquid) for comparison. Is it possible that a vet tech could come by and test and shoot?

You might want to consider a different treat than Temptations. They are loaded with corn syrup. Save them to bump up low numbers. Most of us use a freeze dried protein (e.g., freeze dried chicken) There are a number of brands out there. My only caution is to buy a brand that's not from China given there have been all sorts of recalls of pet products from there and that the same treats are often packaged for dogs and are often cheaper!. I think some of what your are raising a question about with regard to Charlotte's numbers may be the influence of the Temptations. as well as her foray into contraband.
 
I overslept so she was supposed to get it at 6:15 am.

Gotta get a more obnoxious alarm..:rolleyes:

As for shooting this late, it'll throw off the 12/12 schedule ... so tonight you'd have to shoot late...and back up by 15 minutes per shot time to get back on schedule.

I'm so glad Sienne mentioned updating the title of your condo already :)

Since you're her vet, then you've probably got acquaintances who are experienced and could monitor and shoot her while you're gone?
 
I hadn't stopped by before, so welcome to the group!

A couple of small pieces of housekeeping first. We link our previous post to the current thread. This allows you (and us) to easily backtrack if necessary. This is the link to Charlotte's last "condo". We also use a particular format for the title of your thread (aka "condo"). In order to have current information, you want your subject line to read: date -- kitty's name -- AMPS-#, +time-#s. This way, you can find your thread and we can identify the information and easily scan the board to see if numbers are low or something looks suspicious. So for today, if you could edit your subject line so it reads: 10/13 Charlotte AMPS 101. You can then update the subject line in your first post as you get more test data

@Briere Fur Mom -- the CG is a vet.

If you're skipping the shot, there's no concern about being gone. You might want to get a couple of tests this cycle just so you have some idea of what the cycle looks like without insulin on board.

As for when you're traveling, that is a bit more complicated. You're welcome to look at Gabby's spreadsheet (SS) -- the times when I was traveling are in grey. When I travelled, my cat sitter would have tested -- if Gabby would have allowed her to do so. (She was a tortie, complete with a lot of attitude and it was good that they could give her a shot without Gabby taking someone's arm off and screaming. She was a bit of a momma's girl! Testing was out of the question.). Given that you're dosing 0.5u, you could drop the dose to 0.25u. I'd have your mom practice drawing up the dose and leave a sample syringe (use a colored liquid) for comparison. Is it possible that a vet tech could come by and test and shoot?

You might want to consider a different treat than Temptations. They are loaded with corn syrup. Save them to bump up low numbers. Most of us use a freeze dried protein (e.g., freeze dried chicken) There are a number of brands out there. My only caution is to buy a brand that's not from China given there have been all sorts of recalls of pet products from there and that the same treats are often packaged for dogs and are often cheaper!. I think some of what your are raising a question about with regard to Charlotte's numbers may be the influence of the Temptations. as well as her foray into contraband.
Ok. I’ll look into some freeze dried treats. What does everyone think of Diggin your Dog freeze dried chicken? A receptionist at work loves them. I do not live close to work unfortunately so it would be a haul for my techs. Problem with having moved into the state after I found my job and had already purchased a home in a different town. I guess I will have to hope for the best. I have been using fortiflora sprinkled on her food more recently as sometimes that works much better than the treat. Everyday is different with her. I think I’ll do sqfl and a cerenia injection before I go just to be safe. Thx
 
Oh.. ... One more housekeeping thing -- if you skip the shot, you can't give an "AM (or PM) Pre-Shot" (i.e, AMPS). The notation is AMBG (AM Blood Glucose). That way, you're indicating in the subject line that you've skipped a shot.

I know, it seems like there are a lot of "rules" in addition to wrapping your head around diabetes management. It truly does get easier.

FWIW, most of us don't give our kitties 2 meals/day. Many people free feed or give multiple small meals. A timed feeder will help when you're at work. It may also solve the contraband problem if all of your cats are eating the same low carb, canned food diet. If no one has directed you to Lisa Pierson, DMV's website, it's a great resource on feline nutrition. She's not a fan of dry food and discusses how cat's are obligate carnivores.
 
Oh.. ... One more housekeeping thing -- if you skip the shot, you can't give an "AM (or PM) Pre-Shot" (i.e, AMPS). The notation is AMBG (AM Blood Glucose). That way, you're indicating in the subject line that you've skipped a shot.

I know, it seems like there are a lot of "rules" in addition to wrapping your head around diabetes management. It truly does get easier.

FWIW, most of us don't give our kitties 2 meals/day. Many people free feed or give multiple small meals. A timed feeder will help when you're at work. It may also solve the contraband problem if all of your cats are eating the same low carb, canned food diet. If no one has directed you to Lisa Pierson, DMV's website, it's a great resource on feline nutrition. She's not a fan of dry food and discusses how cat's are obligate carnivores.
Thanks for the input! I haven’t mastered all the things to do with posting! So she is fed multiple times small meals of CN at the mo ent. CHO are 9. I know it should be lower but that one food she will consistently eat. I don’t want to make her a finicky eater by offering different flavors all the time as we all know cats in general can get that way. I will eventually work something else in lower in CHO as we progress down this road. She is not good with a collar as I have tried those in the past preDM so as much as I’d like to use a timed feeder that is probably not going to be possible. One of the reasons I overslept was bc her brother kept coming into the room trying to eat her food as she was somewhere else in the house. Ugh! I don’t dare leave the other cats food out when I go to bed bc I know she’ll would have a feast on theirs!
 
There are timed feeders that are lower tech than the microchip type where your cat needs to have a collar on to open the feeder. The one I used was very low tech -- 2 compartments with a dial type of timer for each compartment. There's also a 5 compartment timer that's a little more complicated. I believe they are made by PetSafe. This is the 5 compartment feeder on Amazon. The 2-compartment variety has more space underneath if you want to leave an icepack inside. These open based on when you set the timer.
 
Last edited:
There are timed feeders that are lower tech than the microchip type where your cat needs to have a collar on to open the feeder. The one I used was very low tech -- 2 compartments with an dial type of timer for each compartment. There's also a 5 compartment timer that's a little more complicated. I believe they are made b y PetSafe. This is the 5 compartment feeder on Amazon. The 2-compartment variety has more space underneath if you want to leave an icepack inside. These open based on when you set the timer.
Oh, super!! Thanks a million!!
 
Back
Top