10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 worse

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
i will get more readings tomorrow but it seems like he is getting worse instead of better. still negative ketones but his numbers are getting higher instead of lower. what is going on. his 5 p's are still good . please help. i don't know what to do. thanks so much.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

When the numbers get worse as the dose gets higher there is only one thing to do, reverse course and lower the dose and see if that helps. I haven't looked at his spreadsheet yet but I will run off and take a peek.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Let's try something since you can monitor ketones with a meter rather than trying to catch him in the litter box for a dip stick test. Take him all the way back to 1u b.i.d. and hold that for 5 days unless he starts throwing ketones. I expect it to not be enough but I want to flatten him out some, he's getting very steep drops from red to blue and that is causing the high up swings at the end of the cycle.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Good luck, Nadine! I hope Tibbsey will start doing better with the lower dose.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

ok. thanks Mel. i will try that. he was at least getting some blues before, now none.
and thanks Amy
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

so Mel. 5 days at 1u and then start to increase by .25? it looks like he was doing better at 1.5 to 1.75 or so. are we trying to just clear the insulin from his system? he is also having diarrhea. he should have adjusted to the new food by now and i am giving him fortiflora. could too much insulin cause diarrhea? thanks so much.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

also mel. i use a 10ml vial which i bought jul 13. it is still clear with no "floaties" and always kept in fridge. could it v going bad? thanks
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Honestly I don't know with the vial because I've never used one, but there is a good chance it has gotten weaker if not just completely shot. I know with the pens I'm doing good to get 3 months out of one before I can tell by numbers that its still working just not at full strength.

Yes, just trying to do a little bit of a factory reset on him to see if we have overdose or just plain not enough insulin. But since he is ketone prone don't want to dial him too far back.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Hi

Just wanted to say good luck to Tibbs. I am sure that you will get to the right dose with Mel's help. It's so hard to see our little ones go through this.

How long has Tibbs been on the new food. I found that my cat remi got quite loose stools when he switched to wet and was drinking a lot of water. As his levels are lowering slightly he is drinking less and his stools are hardening up slightly. Still they are a lot wetter than when he was on dry food.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

hi Sarah
he has been on the new food at least 4 weeks so not sure why he still has diarrhea. thanks for telling me your experience with it. maybe it is just how he reacts to this food. i hope it clears up soon. thanks.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Hi Nadine,

I'm not sure if Pro-Kolin is available over there. It's a kaolin paste with probiotics and it was helpful for Saoirse's diarrhoea (resolved now, thankfully).
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

For diarrhea, you can try plain psyllium fiber to help soak up excess fluid, about 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon in a meal or spread over mini-meals.
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

thanks Aine and bjm
aine i give him fortiflora which i think is similar to what you describe.

and bjm - i will try that fiber. is it something i can get at pharmacy?

thanks everyone
 
Re: 10/12 Tibbs amps +6 465 amps 476 +3 322 pmps 450 w

Powdered psyllium might be found in some vitamin shops, natural food stores, possibly a pharmacy (I think someone has mentioned Konsyl) or online.

http://Www.iherb.com does a good job identifying all active and inert ingredients in the products they sell online.

Canned baby food squash would work too, or thawed frozen acorn squash.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top