? 10/12, Sprocket, dose decrease? Issues with it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
Hi all,
Ok he is seeing more blues but since I stopped buprenex (4 days now) he is dropping into lower 100s or under but I am feeding his higher carb(5-9) alot, I ran out of 6-8 carb food now. I tried dropping back to 2.75u but he went into 300s so I think it was too soon. Now I think he can go back to 2.75u.

Thoughts?
 
Ok. @Gill & George . I saw what you sent me but I am already doing that.

I have been giving 2.87 dose more since his medicine wackiness. Now he is off those meds. Since then he is dropping into 100s nice but also going under sometimes and I am feedig him more carbs (3-7carb food, alot for him) at each meal to keep him from falling too much.
He was 235 this am so I gave 4 carb and tried to go to 2.75u now and he went to 280 by +3.8.

**Is it bad to feed more carbs to keep him from dropping too much?
Remember he is dka/ketone prone just 6 months ago.
**I seem to be stuck in this dose. How do i get him to go down into 100s without a hard fast drop(100pts or more within 3-4hrs after shot)??

He has earned reductions before but when I do it his bg goes right back up into 300s.
How do I fix this cycle?
 
Hi Darnell,

I'm just about to nip out and walk my dogs before it gets dark, I'll get back to you a little later, so I can try and answer your questions more completely, I don't want to rush it. I just need to look back.

Just took a quick look at the ss any reason you shot 2.75 this morning instead of the 2.87u?
 
Hi Darnell,

I'm just about to nip out and walk my dogs before it gets dark, I'll get back to you a little later, so I can try and answer your questions more completely, I don't want to rush it. I just need to look back.

Just took a quick look at the ss any reason you shot 2.75 this morning instead of the 2.87u?

Because I have been feeding more carb lately as i said in 2nd comment above. And i dont know if thats ok.
He doesnt drop nicely instead he drops hard n fast. I cant monitor constantly. I need to leave house sometimes.
If i dont feed the carb he will keep going down n down.

Am trying to get to the place where he goes in 100s for nadir n back to under 250 for amps/pmps.

Its getting more difficult now cause i got another cat that now has hyperT and having issues eating. I got a smorg of food all over out for her while he usually wont eat unless he is low I cant rely on that.
I dont do chaos well.
 
Because I have been feeding more carb lately as i said in 2nd comment above. And i dont know if thats ok
With Sprockets history of DKA, it's important that he eats, I don't see anything higher than 5% carb on the ss, if you find that this helps you keep him flatter, and in numbers that you are more comfortable with then that's ok.
Do remember that the effect carb will have on BG can be influenced by the point in the cycle you are feeding and whether kitty is clearing a bounce or dropping in a normal cycle.
Feeding 5% at +1 in a normal cycle, would have less of an impact on BG than feeding 5% at +8. ( Looking at the ss that is when I am seeing the higher LC have most of an impact on BG, as a general rule) The fact that he responds to carbs is a good thing it gives you a tool to steer his bg, and if he likes it better than his regular food, that is also useful if you find yourself in a situation where you need to steer (George loved his HC and I could count on him eating it whenever he dropped)

That brings me to another question, how come you are feeding so late in the cycle??
If Sprocket is having problems with acid tummy, and you need to feed late in the cycle, it would be good if you could find something very low carb or zero carb that he would eat as a snack (perhaps some boiled chicken breast) Feeding 5% lat in the cycle, will tend to cause the BG to spike by PS, it kinda puts the breaks on the insulin, so if it were me I would avoid feeding higher low carb late in the cycle, unless it's necessary (ie he is dropping into low greens)

Looking at the ss it seems your routine feeding schedule is
approx
amps +4 +8 pmps +4+8
I would look to changing his regular meals so that he gets them earlier in the cycle, maybe +2 and +6, then if acid tummy is a problem give him a small treat of zero carb freeze dried treats or boiled chicken, to keep his tummy from getting upset.
Why am I suggesting this?
1) I see him dropping quite sharply at times early in the cycle, and it's been my experience that feeding earlier will help to flatten out the drops
2) Feeding late in the cycle +8 often results in higher PS, and rather counter intuitively, higher PS often lead to larger drops at onset, I'm sure you have heard 'shoot low to stay low', keeping the PS lower will often yield flatter cycles. And flatter, lower cycles, over time will help with some of the erratic bouncing that we sometimes see in kitties.

FWIW I found that when I switched Georges feeding schedule so that he got most of his food early on in the cycle this helped flatten him out.

**Is it bad to feed more carbs to keep him from dropping too much?

If you were feeding MC consistently or HC consistently, then that would concern me, but I don't see anywhere on the ss where you have been doing this.
If he eats the 5% happily, and this makes managing the numbers less problematic, then go with the flow.

*I seem to be stuck in this dose. How do i get him to go down into 100s without a hard fast drop(100pts or more within 3-4hrs after shot)??

With SLGS, you should be holding the dose, he got to 91 in the last 5 days. That said, I do think there is room to take him up a notch, as his numbers are trending up a little, so perhaps give it another couple of days and if you don't see lower blues/green then take him up, try to keep in mind that insulin needs do change over time. So although 3u saw him dip below 90 previously, it may not necessarily do the same now. Combining an increase, with feeding earlier in the cycle, may help you moderate his fast drops, by having food in his system when the insulin onsets, you may not see so harsh of a drop (though TBH, though you find those drops scary, he is not, dropping that fast, compared to some kitties, just saying this for a bit of perspective)





When did you stop the meds that had sugar in them?

What is your goal with Sprocket? Regulation (ie normal numbers)?? remission??? keeping him under the renal threshold ( I know that ultimately you just want him to feel better and be happy, that's what we all want for our babies).

Sorry it took a while to get back to you, dogs, kitties, DH all needed feeding and watering :-)
 
With Sprockets history of DKA, it's important that he eats, I don't see anything higher than 5% carb on the ss, if you find that this helps you keep him flatter, and in numbers that you are more comfortable with then that's ok.

HI Gill, gonna try this with different color for my response. Hope it works. I had more than 5 carb on 9/18, 9/20, 9/25, 9/27, 9/30, 10/1, 10/3, 10/7, 10/8, and 10/10. 6,7, and 8 carbs. Thats what I do when he drops into lower bgs. When at the 2am/2pm meal I try to feed him enough to raise him enough to be able to shoot a full dose at amps/pmps. He is far from flat bgs. I miss the flat numbers in 200s....lol. He got off his bupre on 10/7. before that date these meds were causing havoc.

Do remember that the effect carb will have on BG can be influenced by the point in the cycle you are feeding and whether kitty is clearing a bounce or dropping in a normal cycle.
Feeding 5% at +1 in a normal cycle, would have less of an impact on BG than feeding 5% at +8. ( Looking at the ss that is when I am seeing the higher LC have most of an impact on BG, as a general rule) The fact that he responds to carbs is a good thing it gives you a tool to steer his bg, and if he likes it better than his regular food, that is also useful if you find yourself in a situation where you need to steer (George loved his HC and I could count on him eating it whenever he dropped)

I would think that food at +1 would have more effect cause it would later in the cycle, no? I have HC food but have not used it in a while. I assume only if he is under 50 for gravy. Although, I think since I am home I can make sure he doesnt go down that far with feeding when he is starting to drop below 100.

That brings me to another question, how come you are feeding so late in the cycle??
If Sprocket is having problems with acid tummy, and you need to feed late in the cycle, it would be good if you could find something very low carb or zero carb that he would eat as a snack (perhaps some boiled chicken breast) Feeding 5% lat in the cycle, will tend to cause the BG to spike by PS, it kinda puts the breaks on the insulin, so if it were me I would avoid feeding higher low carb late in the cycle, unless it's necessary (ie he is dropping into low greens)

Late in cycle? I feed at 6am/6pm(amps/pmps) with test/feed/insulin & meds. Then at 1030am/pm, (+3 through+4). Then 2am/2pm (+7). I feed like this because he was dropping previously and I noticed that if I fed thoughout day and night he was staying more steady. I was going to try to feed every 6 hrs instead to allow me to sleep better and be able to leave house more but that didnt happen because he got the cystitis in mid july.
When he is lower at the 2am/2pm meal I feed a higher carb to allow him to come up enough by amps/pmps so I can shoot a full dose. When I shoot less of a dose he goes high into 300s.
I stopped the Ondansetron except for when he looks like he is nauseous or when he vomits. I am still giving famotidine because the vets told me not to take away too many meds at once as he has had so many meds over the summer. But he is on half the dose he used to be on. I give 0.25ml 2xday mostly except when he vomits then I give a few doses of 0.5ml to help him from getting too much acid churn from the vomit.
Does that make sense??


Looking at the ss it seems your routine feeding schedule is
approx
amps +4 +8 pmps +4+8
I would look to changing his regular meals so that he gets them earlier in the cycle, maybe +2 and +6, then if acid tummy is a problem give him a small treat of zero carb freeze dried treats or boiled chicken, to keep his tummy from getting upset.
If I fed at +2, then I would really get no sleep. As of now, I go to bed after his 1030pm meal, (try to fall asleep, as its hard cause I am a night owl), sleep till 2am, test n feed, back to bed till 6am, (which is more like 530am or 545am because the cats start making noise of walking on us to get up). then at 7am after test/feed/make bf lunch, & give all meds to 2 cats, I will go back to sleep till about 1030am or so depending on if he is higher or lower. So then I test n feed. then if still tired I try to get another hour of sleep. Its a horrible schedule. I want him back to predictable so I can sleep better. (I had a scary severe vertigo/vomiting weekend in july with day long hospital visit due to stress and lack of sleep as he was having cystitis flare up every few days mostly in morning about 7am so I had to stay away with him till the meds kicked in and he calmed down.)

Why am I suggesting this?
1) I see him dropping quite sharply at times early in the cycle, and it's been my experience that feeding earlier will help to flatten out the drops
2) Feeding late in the cycle +8 often results in higher PS, and rather counter intuitively, higher PS often lead to larger drops at onset, I'm sure you have heard 'shoot low to stay low', keeping the PS lower will often yield flatter cycles. And flatter, lower cycles, over time will help with some of the erratic bouncing that we sometimes see in kitties.

When I give a 3u dose or when I think he will drop fast n hard or when he is under 250 I will give 4 carb to try to slow down the drop. Usually it worked but sometimes it didnt and I had to give more 4 or 5 or higher carb after. If he drops about 100 pts or more I will usually give 4 or 5 carb to slow him down. he will usually still drop all day too.
The 2am/pm meal is at +7 or so. When he is lower I will usually see if he wants any food before 4pm before I pick up the food (2hrs before amps/pmps). but at 2am I feed and pick up food.
I tried the "shoot low to stay low" once when I got the balls to do it. Full dose at 123 bg with 5 or 6 carb meal. it didnt work, he went to 300s in a few hours. He is back to bouncing like he was months ago after he was in 300s and 400s with those sugar meds over the summer. So now he is bouncing again but I think he is starting to bounce a little less and not so high.
I would love to get the lower(100s) flatter cycles but he doesnt seem to like that. Before he was happy in 200s more. then would sleep in 100s. then last month or so he was 100s he was playing alot. Depends on day. He really doesnt like those nice rules that I want so bad.


FWIW I found that when I switched Georges feeding schedule so that he got most of his food early on in the cycle this helped flatten him out.

FWIW? forgot what that is.

If you were feeding MC consistently or HC consistently, then that would concern me, but I don't see anywhere on the ss where you have been doing this.
If he eats the 5% happily, and this makes managing the numbers less problematic, then go with the flow.



With SLGS, you should be holding the dose, he got to 91 in the last 5 days. That said, I do think there is room to take him up a notch, as his numbers are trending up a little, so perhaps give it another couple of days and if you don't see lower blues/green then take him up, try to keep in mind that insulin needs do change over time. So although 3u saw him dip below 90 previously, it may not necessarily do the same now. Combining an increase, with feeding earlier in the cycle, may help you moderate his fast drops, by having food in his system when the insulin onsets, you may not see so harsh of a drop (though TBH, though you find those drops scary, he is not, dropping that fast, compared to some kitties, just saying this for a bit of perspective)

Under 90 in past 5 days....that part I didnt know. While he was on the meds, it was impossible to hold a dose. When I do one dose of 3u, he will still drop low. Sometimes when I give 2.87u he will still drop low. Its weird, he will drop low then stay in higher 200s/lower 300s for a few days sometimes. Is that a bounce? or needing more insulin? how do you tell?? He usually isnt hungry again after amps/pmps until almost 11am/pm. Since off his buprenex I have had to wake him to test him at night no matter if he was high or low. I think the buprenex was keeping him more awake too. So now after pmps meal he tends to want a long nap. I do better with a plan like What carb to feed with what range of drop. I tried to take notes while on bupre to what carb seems to work better at certain times but those are not working.

I thought the same dose is usual when he gets regulated, no?
so how much should I change his dose? what if he goes low with a day or so? usually thats what happens.


When did you stop the meds that had sugar in them? 10/7 was first day off the bupre. That was last med that was raising his bg but the pharmacist said there is was not sugar at all, the medicine was pure powder not from a pill. He was actually trying to figure it out too which was nice.. My human pharmacist said that buprenex can also raise glucose of some human diabetics too but not all. So he must be one of the cats in that category too. The sugar meds we stopped awhile ago. I think the last one was in Sept 2 or so.

What is your goal with Sprocket? Regulation (ie normal numbers)?? remission??? keeping him under the renal threshold ( I know that ultimately you just want him to feel better and be happy, that's what we all want for our babies).
What is regulation/normal numbers?? I would like to keep him under renal threshold, and regulated with lows in low 100s and not higher then 250 would be ideal. Just not sure how to do that. And if I can stop testing so much, yet I cant use an auto feeder because he wont eat unless I give it to him and then put food back in center of dish with more toppings(fortiflora, parm cheese, bonita flakes, dry food crumble are the usual toppers to get him to finish the food). Plus now my other cat (hyper T) is liking the extra attention and is making me hold the dish wherever she is sleeping cause I am trying to get her to eat and she seems to not want to get up to go get food either. she is 17yrs though so I guess I can do that for her.


Sorry it took a while to get back to you, dogs, kitties, DH all needed feeding and watering :)

ok. thanks for helping me. I really appreciate it.. I wish my cell would be easier to reply. People think I am being rude since I just answer questions with short answers but its cause my cell sucks.
ok. look forward to your reply.
 
Like tonight. He finally dropped. 137 pts by +4.
So to slow him down while i sleep till 2am I gave him 5carb. He ate @2.8oz with water. I know his dish had 0.4oz water in it & how much of her dish not sure but I usually give same amount of water each bowl but she likes her food alot.
Water weight is u known so food amount is approximate.
I would say maybe 2.3oz without water is my guess.
He is still hungry. When he drops alot like this n wakes up he wants food. Alot.
 
Ok. Didnt work. 2am 120bg. Gave 7carb. Ate @1.7oz of 7 carb and 0.3oz of 5carb. He should of went up. Last time similar bgs at same timeframe i did 7 n he went to 201 bu amps
This time he didnt.
Amps today 125!!
Gave 8 carb n 2.75u.
Idk when to test. Mayne 940am. +3 hrs afyer as he usually doesnt drop till 3 anyway
 
Wow! 8 carb and he only went up to 163 bg at +2.9.
See this is the oddness he does. If he was acting normal im 100s then i wouldnt worry but he is acting weird.
I am gonna eat breakfast then test again then feed him.
I am so tired. He does this when i just want to sleep.
 
I think it would help if you got a bit more comfortable with the numbers. A drop of 100 points into the blues by +4 is not dangerous. If yo keep trying to push up the numbers, Sprocket's system may never adjust to being in lower numbers.
 
I think it would help if you got a bit more comfortable with the numbers. A drop of 100 points into the blues by +4 is not dangerous. If yo keep trying to push up the numbers, Sprocket's system may never adjust to being in lower numbers.

I am trying but I am trying to figure out his pattern now. Sometimes he does what he used to do n sometimes he doesnt.

Not sure how to deal eith big drops
 
you said
HI Gill, gonna try this with different color for my response. Hope it works. I had more than 5 carb on 9/18, 9/20, 9/25, 9/27, 9/30, 10/1, 10/3, 10/7, 10/8, and 10/10. 6,7, and 8 carbs. Thats what I do when he drops into lower bgs. When at the 2am/2pm meal I try to feed him enough to raise him enough to be able to shoot a full dose at amps/pmps. He is far from flat bgs. I miss the flat numbers in 200s....lol. He got off his bupre on 10/7. before that date these meds were causing havoc.


I would think that food at +1 would have more effect cause it would later in the cycle, no? I have HC food but have not used it in a while. I assume only if he is under 50 for gravy. Although, I think since I am home I can make sure he doesnt go down that far with feeding when he is starting to drop below 100.

In a normal cycle as a general rule
The later you are in the cycle the more of a food bump you will get for a given amount of carb.
The earlier you are in the cycle the less of a food bump you would get from the same given amount of carb.

So if you see blue/high green in the second half of the cycle, I would give lower carb to keep them surfing along in good, healthy numbers, rather than putting the brakes on the insulin and shortening its action by feeding a higher LC, eg on 10/7 you gave 7% carb at +7.5 to a number of 91, personally my feeling is that was a little heavy handed on the carb front, especially as you say he is quite carb sensitive, I might have kept to the 4-5%, Sprocket did seem to bounce of the green, but feeding a higher low carb so late in the cycle probably contributed to the rise of over 100pts by PMPS, the pm shot would not have started to impact him till around +2(onset) and so would continued to rise beyond his shot time. He did then go on to bounce, ie his numbers kept on climbing up in that pm cycle, and he would have possibly bounced regardless, but if you want him to stay flat in lower numbers at some point you are going to need to step away from the higher carb, resist the temptation to bump his numbers up and see if you can get him to surf, at 91 at +7.5 he was in no imminent danger and that would have been a good opportunity to try and get him to surf along in the lower ranges.

But where you are in the cycle is not the only consideration, take 10/14. amps was 125, nice blue. Again you went with the higher LC 7%and you saw him bump up to 163 by +2, In this instance I again would have chosen to go with the lower carb that he will eat. Why?? Well I wouldn't look at that number in isolation, I would look back at what he was doing in the previous cycle, and as you do such a good job of monitoring, we can clearly see that he was flat coming into amps ( he was 120 at +7), and we know that we are at the end of the cycle and at the end of the insulin action from the pm dose, on this particular cycle, he got a good duration, (insulin effect of previous hadn't 'worn off' by pmps, and this was still holding him down), but his numbers will rise as the cycle ends and you are feeding so that will also contribute to the rise. What might you have gained from feeding lower carb, well he may have spent longer in blue and it may have yielded a flatter cycle with an overall lower range.

If on the other hand that pmps was clearly a falling number, eg if the +7 had been 250 and amps had been 125, then the 7% would have been a good choice, I would have tested at +1 and maybe given more food then if the numbers warranted.

Late in cycle? I feed at 6am/6pm(amps/pmps) with test/feed/insulin & meds. Then at 1030am/pm, (+3 through+4). Then 2am/2pm (+7). I feed like this because he was dropping previously and I noticed that if I fed thoughout day and night he was staying more steady. I was going to try to feed every 6 hrs instead to allow me to sleep better and be able to leave house more but that didnt happen because he got the cystitis in mid july.
When he is lower at the 2am/2pm meal I feed a higher carb to allow him to come up enough by amps/pmps so I can shoot a full dose. When I shoot less of a dose he goes high into 300s.

+7 is fairly late in the cycle, but if you feel it helps, I would refrain from using the higher carb LC at this point, for the reasons I described above, I think this is bumping up his PS numbers unnecessairly, Lantus is not so good at grabbing onto higher numbers and dragging them down, it does better (gives you flatter cycles) if it's got a lower number to grab on to.

When I do one dose of 3u, he will still drop low. Sometimes when I give 2.87u he will still drop low. Its weird, he will drop low then stay in higher 200s/lower 300s for a few days sometimes. Is that a bounce? or needing more insulin? how do you tell??
Yes that's a bounce. You can tell, because they hit a number that's lower than usual for them and then you see the numbers head up until they plateau. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear ( though sometimes they don't last that long) If after 6 cycles he hasn't headed back down, he might need more insulin. though whether you increase or not would be dependent on what dosing method you are following.

What is regulation/normal numbers??

normal numbers for a cat fall in the range between 50-80 with a human meter. If you look at Georges SS before he went OTJ, he was very well regulated, take a look at april 2016.
I would like to keep him under renal threshold, and regulated with lows in low 100s and not higher then 250 would be ideal. Just not sure how to do that. And if I can stop testing so much,
If you look at Georges ss, you'll notice that when he got regulated his numbers were more predictable, and even though he was running lower, I didn't need to test as much.
I find it hard to get my head around the range you feel comfortable with, I guess that's because I did TR, and I wanted to get George into healthy range, to give him the best chance of a healthy life. I've seen others use that range as a goal due to other health issues and that makes sense, but from what I know of Sprocket I can't see that there is anything that should preclude you from aiming lower. Way back I remember reading a post that gave an explanation of why it's ni impossible to regulate a cat in the range you are hoping for. I wish I could find it, but I haven't been able to.


Sorry it took a while, busy weekend.











 
Thanks. I think I got it.
I will reply. He was surfing today and was 154 at pmps. I gave 5 carb and 2.87u dose. I am nervous. I posted on feline diabetes fb group too. I hope it works. He never does what he should do.
I am gonna test at +2.5 & +3.5 or +4. Then +7. Hopefully or if it doesnt work then i will be up all night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top