10/12 Simmie-AMPS 269, +5 76, +7 96, PMPS 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi All,

Now that all is settling down in our home I am getting Simmie on a better testing schedule.

As you can see he is bouncing drastically. He seems very happy. His bowels have are much better and overall he seems to be doing really well. Obviously though his numbers are a real concern. From what I can tell it seems that his nadir is sooner in the cycle than others I've noticed who are using Lantus...he seems to be lowest at +5.

Now that we are all home and snuggly I plan to do more testing but I am still concerned about his bouncing. Any ideas or recommendations?

Hugs and love to all,
Lydette and Simmie

UPDATE AS OF PMPS: Why would Simmie jump from 96 at +7 to 377 pmps? I'm getting a bit depressed at not being able to regulate my poor baby. I know many of you said I need to get more evening checks in - I'll try to get more night time checks in. Oh yes, I noticed that he peed on a new doggie bed we got for Buddy - he hasn't done that in awhile and I keep his 3 litter boxes really clean.
 
Re: 10/12 Simmie-AMPS 269, +5 76, +7 96

I'm glad you guys are all settled and snuggly! Nice greens today, but yep, Simmie is a bouncer. I'm not a big expert on how to reign in the bounces since I don't really have any first hand experience, but hopefully with this bump someone will come along and give you some ideas.

Have a great evening, Lydette!
 
Hi Amy,

Thank you for responding. I was wondering if I maybe am in the wrong Lantus group - that maybe I should be in the less tightly regulated group. I don't seem to be doing the right things. Or maybe it is because we are just getting off of that vacation marathon and I am feel guilty about poor Simmie going in and out of the vet for so many weeks. I don't know. I keep thinking I'm a good mamabean but once in awhile I feel like I am not doing enough.

Ah, just a little bit of self-pity but only because I want to help Simmie more. :cry:

Thanks for writing. Give my love to TrixieCat!

Hugs,
Lydette
 
Hi Lydette.

I totally understand your frustration. I'm wondering if you are on the right dose. You might try adding something like "dose?" on your original subject line, and clicking on the ? icon, too. Maybe one of the more experience people will come along and look at Simmie's SS and give you some guidance. Don't be discouraged if it doesn't happen tonight - it's Sunday and late on the East Coast. If no one responds, try it again tomorrow. Just don't give up! You can do this!!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Let's set the vacation times aside. Without having the data, there's no way to know if numbers dropped low, there was a fast drop, etc.

The one thing that stands out is that Simmie has been at this dose for quite a long time. Sticking with a dose that is leaving numbers in a higher than desirable range can cause glucose toxicity. At this point, if you're able to test, I would suggest increasing the dose as soon as a bounce clears. By the same token, you need to remember to reduce the dose if Simmie's number drop below 50.
 
Hi Friends,

Thanks again for being there. Simmie is looking at me and wondering why I don't have a newly freshened bowl of ice next to us! I told him that Z needed it at his Over the Bridge party and hasn't returned the bowl yet! Simmie has to learn patience!

Sienne, I don't really know what it means to have 'a dose clear'. Sorry for my naiveté. How do I know when it clears?

We are listening to the crickets again tonight and I will try to stay up as long as I can with my little Simmie/Stinkie/StinkHeat/Iceman. He 'told' me how happy he is that I have so many good friends to watch over him tonight as we try to figure out his Jumpin' Cat Flash episode!

Gotta go right now...he is knocking over everything since he wants his bowl of ice!

Love yas!
Lydette and Simmie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top