10/12 Polly AMPS 342, +3 298, +7 278, PMPS 266

I thought going down to 146 only after two shots of Lantus was very quick response, so we decided to fill Polly's depot slowly with 0,5u. Also ,we decided to skip her evening dose since her BG was 171. Hopefully all will turn out well. Seem like Lantus is working in her!
If you get a lower than normal preshot in future, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help. It is better to do that than to just skip a dose..
Also Lantus like consistency because it is a depot insulin and if you chop and change you can get wonky BG numbers.
WHAT IS A DEPOT

Now that you are giving 0.5 U I would suggest you stay with that dose for 5 to 7 days to let the depot fill unless Polly drops under 90. :)
 
9/12 Polly AMPS 365, +2 276, +5 214, +7 146 PMPS 171 SKIPPED DOSE (yesterday's data)
If you get a lower than normal preshot in future, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help. It is better to do that than to just skip a dose..
Also Lantus like consistency because it is a depot insulin and if you chop and change you can get wonky BG numbers.
WHAT IS A DEPOT

Now that you are giving 0.5 U I would suggest you stay with that dose for 5 to 7 days to let the depot fill unless Polly drops under 90. :)
ooh..ok! Thank you ! I will do so.
 
It s all new to me and i worry too much about going too low..thank your advice.
It’s very normal to worry in the beginning when they drop low, or have a lower than normal preshot. I was a real worrier too. Once you get used to testing the BGs and learning to feed the curve so that the BGs don’t drop too fast or low you will feel more relaxed.
The first time Sheba had a lower than normal preshot (this was pre forum days) I had people over for dinner and I didn’t know what to do or who to ask. I was trying to make conversations with the guests and at the same time freaking out about what to do about the insulin dose.
 
It’s very normal to worry in the beginning when they drop low, or have a lower than normal preshot. I was a real worrier too. Once you get used to testing the BGs and learning to feed the curve so that the BGs don’t drop too fast or low you will feel more relaxed.
The first time Sheba had a lower than normal preshot (this was pre forum days) I had people over for dinner and I didn’t know what to do or who to ask. I was trying to make conversations with the guests and at the same time freaking out about what to do about the insulin dose.
This is exactly how i feel!! At last someone can understand me! Thank you once again!
 
Back
Top