10/12 PHOEBES amps 258 +2 203 +5 174 vet call

Status
Not open for further replies.
So vet and I talked and she thinks this was an injury that caused the episode. I asked about keeping her on steroid, and she does not want to keep her on long term unless Totally necessary. Not even a lowered dose. If she has more problems as the steroid wears off she will give us more. I understand the possible effects of the steroid usage but I also feel she was acting feeling better on the steroid. Overall. So not sure I agree with the vet on this one. What's long term? How many years does she have before it gets worse? I don't want to see her suffer from the pain of the spine diesease. Can't we just up her insulin, that's were I think she is panicky about the steroids. You should have seen her face when I said 20 units 2x a day. But then very quickly showed her my results. How can you argue with the blk and white detailed log. She's an older vet, still kinda stuck in her ways. But at least she didn't insist I lower the dose.
 
Hmm. We were really reluctant to increase our Ben's Pred dose, but he feels so much better now. He doesn't have FD currently, but is still at an increased risk due to his age (a bit due to high weight), and the steroids, but his quality of life is more important. I can certainly relate to that type of "old-school" vet though. Obviously, they are looking out for Phoebe's well being, but you see her every single day and know that her quality of life has improved on the steroid. I'd relay that to your vet, and see if you can get her to think about changing her mind. It's a real shame that there aren't any NSAIDs that are safe for kitties - we use them in dogs all the time for arthritis. :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm gonna give it the weekend and assess. She's been grooming more today and has actually spent most of the day at our open screened door. She usually only does it in the mornings. How long does the steroid stay in their system? Had a fight giving her fluids tho, so feisty Phoebe. Lol but we love fiesty phoebe.
 
We've had quite a few kitties here on pred for some seconday condition. If pred is what they need - keep giving it and dose around it. Sending vines. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top