Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
Yesterday
Unbelievable!! Yesterday AM Papaya was in an ugly bounce, then PM went from PS of 313 to +6 of 38, yikes. I'd fed her 1/2 Tbsp of regular food before I realized from her behaviour she might be low, so then she got a full Tbsp of 18% after the test. I was surprised that an hour later, +7, she was only up to 76 because usually a 38 would have her shoot up like crazy very quickly. Plus she'd had all that HC, and it was already late in the cycle! I was still up at +8, but when I offered another 1/2 Tbsp of LC she ate it rather slowly, so clearly she wasn't dropping and it was safe to go to bed.
Well, the Trampoline Queen consulted her notes on what the craziest, most unexpected thing she could do with her BG would be, and decided to . . . stay green. The AMPS of 77 was a bit confusing dose-wise. Papaya earned a decrease last night with the 38 (it was also the third day below 50 at this dose, so doubly earned it!) but I was expecting to shoot through a bounce before taking the reduction. For the last six mornings, the AMPS has been good but has been the lowest point of the whole AM cycle or sometimes of the day. So was this 77 just heading up into a bounce, or not? I decided there was no way to be sure it was a bounce, especially considering the odd staying-low last night, so I DID shoot the reduced dose only.
And now at +3 . . . woohoo! Still green, and going down instead of up for a change! I am in total disbelief that she didn't do a huge, immediate bounce from that 38. I am glad she will be feeling better this morning than for the last few when she feel icky from going high. She came out to the hall for breakfast and then came back in to bed, where she is now sleeping in a happy-cat-ball under the quilt as it is a rainy, windy day just made for staying in bed.
Have a great day (& long weekend if you're Canadian!)
Unbelievable!! Yesterday AM Papaya was in an ugly bounce, then PM went from PS of 313 to +6 of 38, yikes. I'd fed her 1/2 Tbsp of regular food before I realized from her behaviour she might be low, so then she got a full Tbsp of 18% after the test. I was surprised that an hour later, +7, she was only up to 76 because usually a 38 would have her shoot up like crazy very quickly. Plus she'd had all that HC, and it was already late in the cycle! I was still up at +8, but when I offered another 1/2 Tbsp of LC she ate it rather slowly, so clearly she wasn't dropping and it was safe to go to bed.
Well, the Trampoline Queen consulted her notes on what the craziest, most unexpected thing she could do with her BG would be, and decided to . . . stay green. The AMPS of 77 was a bit confusing dose-wise. Papaya earned a decrease last night with the 38 (it was also the third day below 50 at this dose, so doubly earned it!) but I was expecting to shoot through a bounce before taking the reduction. For the last six mornings, the AMPS has been good but has been the lowest point of the whole AM cycle or sometimes of the day. So was this 77 just heading up into a bounce, or not? I decided there was no way to be sure it was a bounce, especially considering the odd staying-low last night, so I DID shoot the reduced dose only.
And now at +3 . . . woohoo! Still green, and going down instead of up for a change! I am in total disbelief that she didn't do a huge, immediate bounce from that 38. I am glad she will be feeling better this morning than for the last few when she feel icky from going high. She came out to the hall for breakfast and then came back in to bed, where she is now sleeping in a happy-cat-ball under the quilt as it is a rainy, windy day just made for staying in bed.
Have a great day (& long weekend if you're Canadian!)