10/12 Malon AMPS 95, Question about dose

NMazur

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

I got great advice the first time I posted on here when Malon first had a lower then usual number, so I'm hoping for some more help on finding what her correct dose should be now that we are seeing more numbers in the green and blue zone on the spreadsheet. We did her first curve last week (at the lower 1unit dose suggested here) and sent it into our vet but haven't heard anything back yet, it's a holiday in Canada so we're not going to hear anything until tomorrow at the earliest, but I'd rather not wait to figure out what's best for Malon. This morning her AMPS was at 95 (5.3) so we skipped this morning's dose as we weren't comfortable shooting that low, since we've been getting mid-cycle tests that low. We also skipped her evening dose on 10/10 since it was at 94 (5.2) and again we weren't comfortable (especially overnight). So now we're not sure if 1unit twice a day is too much for her or if we should continue with this dose for a little while to see how she continues to react to it (and skipping shots when she's too low) but I don't like the inconsistency of skipping shots. She was diagnosed a few weeks ago so we're still unsure about deciding to change dosage on our own, but I want to make sure we're not doing her a disservice in the long run but skipping injections every now and then. Thank you!
 
You aren’t getting any tests past PMPS at night and many cats drop at night. I am worried she might have dropped under 68 on the AT which would call for a reduction. If following SLFS a reduction was earned for falling under 90. Better to reduce so you can shoot every 12 hours.
 
Hi all,

I got great advice the first time I posted on here when Malon first had a lower then usual number, so I'm hoping for some more help on finding what her correct dose should be now that we are seeing more numbers in the green and blue zone on the spreadsheet. We did her first curve last week (at the lower 1unit dose suggested here) and sent it into our vet but haven't heard anything back yet, it's a holiday in Canada so we're not going to hear anything until tomorrow at the earliest, but I'd rather not wait to figure out what's best for Malon. This morning her AMPS was at 95 (5.3) so we skipped this morning's dose as we weren't comfortable shooting that low, since we've been getting mid-cycle tests that low. We also skipped her evening dose on 10/10 since it was at 94 (5.2) and again we weren't comfortable (especially overnight). So now we're not sure if 1unit twice a day is too much for her or if we should continue with this dose for a little while to see how she continues to react to it (and skipping shots when she's too low) but I don't like the inconsistency of skipping shots. She was diagnosed a few weeks ago so we're still unsure about deciding to change dosage on our own, but I want to make sure we're not doing her a disservice in the long run but skipping injections every now and then. Thank you!
I don’t have any advice as I am a rookie and my kitty was just diagnosed in sept. I am using the alphatrak2 also! did your vet give you ranges probably or info of when to shoot /what’s normal on the alphatrak? Mine did not so I am inquiring!
 
I agree that skipping all the time is not ideal. Since you are finding yourself having to skip, it's best to lower the dose again, to see if you can get to a dose you can shoot twice a day. Maybe try 0.75 units next?

Can you get a test just before bed at night? Even a +2 or +3 will give us a clue of what the cycle looks like. Many cats do go lower at night, and since we determine how to change the dose based on lows, it's good to have some idea what is happening at night.
 
You aren’t getting any tests past PMPS at night and many cats drop at night. I am worried she might have dropped under 68 on the AT which would call for a reduction. If following SLFS a reduction was earned for falling under 90. Better to reduce so you can shoot every 12 hours.

Thank you! We've been focused on the daytime mid cycle tests, so we didn't even think to do a PM one as well, but we will try and start doing some of those as well. We will reduce her dose then for this evening and see how she responds!
 
I don’t have any advice as I am a rookie and my kitty was just diagnosed in sept. I am using the alphatrak2 also! did your vet give you ranges probably or info of when to shoot /what’s normal on the alphatrak? Mine did not so I am inquiring!

No, our vet didn't give us any information about that either! Which is probably not helping our confusion in the matter. When we saw our first low number of 4.4 before her evening injection we had to post here for help on what to do, thankfully everyone here seems very helpful!
 
I agree that skipping all the time is not ideal. Since you are finding yourself having to skip, it's best to lower the dose again, to see if you can get to a dose you can shoot twice a day. Maybe try 0.75 units next?

Can you get a test just before bed at night? Even a +2 or +3 will give us a clue of what the cycle looks like. Many cats do go lower at night, and since we determine how to change the dose based on lows, it's good to have some idea what is happening at night.

Yes, we will start trying to get a reading before we go to bed also, I didn't think that they'd go even lower in the evening, so we'll start incorporating some of those. Thanks for your help! we'll try her tonight at 0.75 units instead and see how she goes. We just started insulin at the end of Sept so I wasn't expecting her to drop in numbers so quickly, it's impressive how much of a change a low carb wet food has on it's own.
 
A change to a low carb diet can be a game changer for many cats as far as insulin needs. I hope Malon continues to do well.
 
It’s a good sign that she’s responding so quickly. The +2 often lets you know if she could be on the move. A before bed test is a great idea.
 
Back
Top