NMazur
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
I got great advice the first time I posted on here when Malon first had a lower then usual number, so I'm hoping for some more help on finding what her correct dose should be now that we are seeing more numbers in the green and blue zone on the spreadsheet. We did her first curve last week (at the lower 1unit dose suggested here) and sent it into our vet but haven't heard anything back yet, it's a holiday in Canada so we're not going to hear anything until tomorrow at the earliest, but I'd rather not wait to figure out what's best for Malon. This morning her AMPS was at 95 (5.3) so we skipped this morning's dose as we weren't comfortable shooting that low, since we've been getting mid-cycle tests that low. We also skipped her evening dose on 10/10 since it was at 94 (5.2) and again we weren't comfortable (especially overnight). So now we're not sure if 1unit twice a day is too much for her or if we should continue with this dose for a little while to see how she continues to react to it (and skipping shots when she's too low) but I don't like the inconsistency of skipping shots. She was diagnosed a few weeks ago so we're still unsure about deciding to change dosage on our own, but I want to make sure we're not doing her a disservice in the long run but skipping injections every now and then. Thank you!
I got great advice the first time I posted on here when Malon first had a lower then usual number, so I'm hoping for some more help on finding what her correct dose should be now that we are seeing more numbers in the green and blue zone on the spreadsheet. We did her first curve last week (at the lower 1unit dose suggested here) and sent it into our vet but haven't heard anything back yet, it's a holiday in Canada so we're not going to hear anything until tomorrow at the earliest, but I'd rather not wait to figure out what's best for Malon. This morning her AMPS was at 95 (5.3) so we skipped this morning's dose as we weren't comfortable shooting that low, since we've been getting mid-cycle tests that low. We also skipped her evening dose on 10/10 since it was at 94 (5.2) and again we weren't comfortable (especially overnight). So now we're not sure if 1unit twice a day is too much for her or if we should continue with this dose for a little while to see how she continues to react to it (and skipping shots when she's too low) but I don't like the inconsistency of skipping shots. She was diagnosed a few weeks ago so we're still unsure about deciding to change dosage on our own, but I want to make sure we're not doing her a disservice in the long run but skipping injections every now and then. Thank you!