Hi Dave! Welcome to the Forum from another Mile High member. It must be very scary to switch insulins and get that low (but really close-to-normal) number you saw this morning. I think you made the right move by lowering Apollo's dose for now. What you are seeing now, in my opinion, is higher #s due to the no shot, and maybe even a bounce from the Blue (105) you had earlier.
What was the reason you made the switch? I have heard that Vetsulin can drop BG number very fast, and not last. Was that the case? Was he on any steroids that may have raised his BS and now is not on them? I ask this because I have seen others whose cat's were diagnosed and put on insulin only to get back to normal numbers in a
very short time after stopping. A little history helps the people here guide you along.
In my limited experience, (I've only been here almost a year and my Nova has been on Lantus the whole time) seeing a lower number after eating and getting his shot, you will see dropping numbers probably until Apollo reaches his nadir---typically around 6-9 hours after dosing. In Nova's case, her nadir is anywhere from from 6 to 11 hours after her dose. Every Cat Is Different, so if you need to sleep some, set an alarm to get a +6 & +9, and if you get up early enough a test 1 hour before his next dose. This should cover you in case he deep dives significantly from now (which in my personal experience is not too likely), Although it doesn't help us humans' sleep routine.
What truly helped me was reading all of the information about lantus and the different dosing methods on the Lantus forum. There is SO much info there, that it boggled my mind, but also set it at ease. I started with the SLGS method because I was so scared of a hypo scenario & didn't get help from my family to get testing on a regular basis. By finally nailing testing down and doing curves every week I gathered enough info (and received much advice from members who have been there a log time with a LOT of different experience guiding me) to see when I should be raising or lowering her doses, and then switched to TR. It doesn't look like you need any help in the testing area tho. Great job!
I don't post a lot....but I do check out forums (I'm what they'd call a lurker at times). I learn a lot that way, too. Nova's journey is going to be a long one, and if I need help or have a question, then I'll post in the Lantus forum. But I'll try to keep an eye out for you here.
Best of luck to you and Apollo!
BTW Apollo is a very handsome boy. What type of kitty is he? He looks like bengal-like.