? 10/12 AMPS-105 Help, really worried about shooting

Mile Hi Dave

Member Since 2020
OK, yesterday's AMPS was 176 and I didn't shoot because I was switching insulins. Last nite PMPS he was 425 and I gave 1.5 units. His +1 was 343, +2 was 339, +3 was 277, and +6 was 181

Now, this AMPS he was all the way down to 105 and, I am again worried about an AM shot. I did't o a +9 because I was told +6 was good. I also thought it wouldn't drop any more post nadir. He seems fine, so I don't think it dropped low enough for him to have gone hypo.

So, do I give a token .25 or .5 dose? Or, based on yesterday's actions, do I skip again?

Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-units-1-343-2-339-3-277.236700/#post-2655667
 
Last edited:
I'm at work and can't stay on. If you are going to be home to monitor all day, and have plenty of testing supplies and HC food, you can shoot his normal dose. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 if you do and you may have to feed him small amounts of HC food to keep him from dropping too low. If you don't feel comfortable doing this, you can skip. If you cannot monitor, it is probably safer to skip. You'll get another chance to shoot a low blue number.
 
Have you made a dramatic diet change recently? If so, when?

I don't have any history on Apollo...didn't you mention that previously he was on another insulin?

Do you have the numbers from those days to add into your SS?

Did you test during the day yesterday? It would be helpful to review his SS with an idea of when he hits his nadir...

P.S. Could you please change your 911 to a '?' - we reserve that for kitties who are in an emergency situation...thank you!
 
I'm at work and can't stay on. If you are going to be home to monitor all day, and have plenty of testing supplies and HC food, you can shoot his normal dose. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 if you do and you may have to feed him small amounts of HC food to keep him from dropping too low. If you don't feel comfortable doing this, you can skip. If you cannot monitor, it is probably safer to skip. You'll get another chance to shoot a low blue number.
There is no way I will give his "regular dose" with this low of a reading after his first use of Lantus. If 1.5 units dropped him from 181 at Nadir, +6, to 105 +12 or AMPS. It scares me because he dropped so much post Nadir. Heck, his +1 took it from 425 to 343, if he drops 80+ points from 105 in the first hour again, i will drop him to 20-30, which is hypo. I'm now 45 minutes late, disappointed I didn't get any other responses since posting 20+ minutes ago. :( Too late to shoot w/o changing his schedule, so it looks like we're skipping the AM shot again.
 
There is no way I will give his "regular dose" with this low of a reading after his first use of Lantus. If 1.5 units dropped him from 181 at Nadir, +6, to 105 +12 or AMPS. It scares me because he dropped so much post Nadir. Heck, his +1 took it from 425 to 343, if he drops 80+ points from 105 in the first hour again, i will drop him to 20-30, which is hypo. I'm now 45 minutes late, disappointed I didn't get any other responses since posting 20+ minutes ago. :( Too late to shoot w/o changing his schedule, so it looks like we're skipping the AM shot again.

Ok, you've made the decision not to shoot. Please be sure to get some additional tests today, during the day if you're at home, so we can see what he's doing.

What about the food changes? Also, please update your title.
 
Nope, he
Have you made a dramatic diet change recently? If so, when?

I don't have any history on Apollo...didn't you mention that previously he was on another insulin?

Do you have the numbers from those days to add into your SS?

Did you test during the day yesterday? It would be helpful to review his SS with an idea of when he hits his nadir...

P.S. Could you please change your 911 to a '?' - we reserve that for kitties who are in an emergency situation...thank you!

Nope, he's been of FF or Friskies pates since July. We took him off Vetsulin and started Lantus last nite. No, those numbers were stored in the meter and I deleted them.
No, during the day, he wasn't tested because I didn't shoot
I can change it back to a ?. I didn't change it to 911 til I didn't gt a response in over 20 minutes. Now it's an hour past his shoot time so I am definitely waiting again. The folks on the FB Group directed me here because I can get "better advice", but if the responses to questions take so long, there is no sense in asking questions here, the replies in the FB group are alot faster!

To me, it IS an emergency when someone has to make a decision between shooting or not!
 
Ok, you've made the decision not to shoot. Please be sure to get some additional tests today, during the day if you're at home, so we can see what he's doing.

What about the food changes? Also, please update your title.

The folks on the FB Group directed me here because I can get "better advice", but if the responses to questions take so long, there is no sense in asking questions here, the replies in the FB group are alot faster! To me, it IS an emergency when someone has to make a decision between shooting or not! I didn't get a response til I switched it to 911, AFTER waiting 20 minutes!! I'll change it back now because I've had to decide not to shoot because it's just shy of an hour PAST his shoot time! :(
 
We've all been in that spot...that's when I for one have pulled out the stickies and read them again based on the dosing method I'm following.

Also, it's Thanksgiving in Canada - so many of those folks are off of the forum.

I for one am working and so is Carla...many people here have jobs and are doing the same thing you're doing, juggling kids, cats and other things - we're just volunteers and we try to help as much as we can.

There's no guarantee that someone can be available at a given time - we all have to make decisions sometimes by ourselves. You've decided not to shoot today, that's fine, it IS YOUR CHOICE. You hold the syringe.

Carla did ask if you had the supplies needed to test frequently and if Apollo goes low you can steer him back with medium and high carb foods - even to the point of giving him karo syrup or honey.

At some point you'll have more knowledge of how Lantus affects him. I'm wondering at this point if he's still having some effect from the Vetsulin as Lantus usually takes time to build up to the point where it causes big drops like this.
 
I am sorry nobody was around to help you this morning. Next time this happens, post o the main health forum. There are a few people usually on early. That’s also where you should have started and would have been set up better to deal with lower numbers. We also link age previous post for continuity. Most people here have their own diabetic cats , jobs,and families but try to help others. The rest of us, myself included, are paying it forward, remembering the help we got with our own diabetic cats.

Here is your previous post.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-units-1-343-2-339-3-277.236700/#post-2655667

I suggest you print out how to handle low preshots. I just got up and need to feed my cats but will be back shortly to help.
 
I am sorry nobody was around to help you this morning. Next time this happens, post o the main health forum. There are a few people usually on early. That’s also where you should have started and would have been set up better to deal with lower numbers. We also link age previous post for continuity. Most people here have their own diabetic cats , jobs,and families but try to help others. The rest of us, myself included, are paying it forward, remembering the help we got with our own diabetic cats.

Here is your previous post.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-units-1-343-2-339-3-277.236700/#post-2655667

I suggest you print out how to handle low preshots. I just got up and need to feed my cats but will be back shortly to help.

I have all the supplies I need for hypos. The folks in the FB group that directed me here made it seem like it was monitored 24/7. Not for nothing, if I were running a messaging board people come to for advice, sometimes emergency advice, I would schedule volunteers so it was monitored 24/7/365, but that's just me. Based on what I've seen, I get quicker responses on Facebook. :( It's just that they don't like giving dosing advice there. If getting a response here takes 20 minutes + 10 minutes after changing the title to 911... there is no way people can keep their dosing schedules. To me, keeping the schedule seems to be a very important part of treating Apollo, so getting responses an hour past shot time is useless. THANK YOU FOR BEING HERE PAYING IT FORWARD. Once I have enough experience I will do the same.
 
Last edited:
I’m back. Usually there are people around. That’s why I mentioned yesterday that you should have started in the main health. It’s covered by a few people and they tag until someone can help. That’s usually quick. That’s why I ask you to please read the yellow stickies. One explains how to format your title. I printed out the ones in low numbers. Many cats drop lowest at night and Max and I had many pj parties with the board very quiet at 2:00 a.m.

Did you get to read about how depot drugs work? You are shooting based upon how low a dose takes the cat. When you get a lower preshot at first, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20 minutes. Often the bg will be in the way up..with Lantus you shoot low to stay low once you have enough data. Once you have data you will shoot any bg over 50. If your cat goes low you feed high carb to bring him up to safe numbers. We sometimes feed the curve to keep them surfing in safe numbers. There’s a lot to learn. Ask questions as often as needed.

I think it’s best for you to lower your dose so you can shoot twice a day. I would shoot 1.25 tonight or maybe even 1.0.

Do you have the bg readings from the last two weeks that you could add to the spreadsheet? We are very data driven here and that might help us see how he reacted to it. I’ve only used Lantus but others have used other insulin before moving to a depot one.
 
I’m back. Usually there are people around. That’s why I mentioned yesterday that you should have started in the main health. It’s covered by a few people and they tag until someone can help. That’s usually quick. That’s why I ask you to please read the yellow stickies. One explains how to format your title. I printed out the ones in low numbers. Many cats drop lowest at night and Max and I had many pj parties with the board very quiet at 2:00 a.m.

Did you get to read about how depot drugs work? You are shooting based upon how low a dose takes the cat. When you get a lower preshot at first, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20 minutes. Often the bg will be in the way up..with Lantus you shoot low to stay low once you have enough data. Once you have data you will shoot any bg over 50. If your cat goes low you feed high carb to bring him up to safe numbers. We sometimes feed the curve to keep them surfing in safe numbers. There’s a lot to learn. Ask questions as often as needed.

I think it’s best for you to lower your dose so you can shoot twice a day. I would shoot 1.25 tonight or maybe even 1.0.

Do you have the bg readings from the last two weeks that you could add to the spreadsheet? We are very data driven here and that might help us see how he reacted to it. I’ve only used Lantus but others have used other insulin before moving to a depot one.

If he 425 again tonight, I was thinking dropping to 1.25 to see how it affects the reading in the AM. I understand how depot insulins work, which is why I asked if it would be safe to give a token does this AM. Responses took too long here, by the time I got advice to go ahead with .25 on FB, it was 90 minutes past shot time, and would change things to a schedule I can't keep. If it's less than 425, like the mid 300's, I'll drop to 1 unit tonight. Sound like a good plan to you?
 
That’s a good starting plan. Once you get a dose you can shoot twice you need to hold it for the depot to build. I know I wrote yesterday that some cats get a big response to the first shots when you said test strips were limited. Now you see why. The flip side is once settled in you might have to go up in dose until you get that same reaction. There’s no way to predict.

What time zone are you in? I’m in California so it’s 8:20 here. We usually come on around 6:30-7. When you need help fast post a second message on the main health forum as there are a few from Australia on earlier. We have people from all over the world. Because everyone volunteers they come on when they can and not on a schedule. Sometimes we have to stay with someone for hours or get someone to take over if we need to leave. There’s an unwritten rule that if you tell a person to shoot low, you stay with them until safe. It’s a wonderful caring community. Feline diabetes is a difficult stressful disease to monitor at first but stick with us. Before long you will be coaching others.
 
That’s a good starting plan. Once you get a dose you can shoot twice you need to hold it for the depot to build. I know I wrote yesterday that some cats get a big response to the first shots when you said test strips were limited. Now you see why. The flip side is once settled in you might have to go up in dose until you get that same reaction. There’s no way to predict.

What time zone are you in? I’m in California so it’s 8:20 here. We usually come on around 6:30-7. When you need help fast post a second message on the main health forum as there are a few from Australia on earlier. We have people from all over the world. Because everyone volunteers they come on when they can and not on a schedule. Sometimes we have to stay with someone for hours or get someone to take over if we need to leave. There’s an unwritten rule that if you tell a person to shoot low, you stay with them until safe. It’s a wonderful caring community. Feline diabetes is a difficult stressful disease to monitor at first but stick with us. Before long you will be coaching others.
I'm in Colorado, an hour ahead of you. If it weren't a totally new insulin to me, I probably would have been ok. But I have zero experience with Lantus. I do understand how depot insulins work and know I need to shoot twice daily. I was more concerned with the huge drop from +6 til this AMPS. I thought after 6 hours it wouldn't drop further, based on something I was told, and it did kinda make sense. I just want what's best for Apollo, that's all.
 
When you get a lower than expected preshot, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20 minutes. Often the bg will rise meaning irs okay to shoot as tge previous shot us earring off and the next one won’t onset until +2. You were correct not to shoot in my opinion because you don’t have any data. Some cats have a late nadir or a second nadir. Until you learn how Apollo will react a +11 or 11.5 will let you know if coming up at +12. The problem with stalling is they might drop lower because they haven’t eaten making it impossible to shoot. That’s why a +11 helps. Make sense?
 
When you get a lower than expected preshot, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20 minutes. Often the bg will rise meaning irs okay to shoot as tge previous shot us earring off and the next one won’t onset until +2. You were correct not to shoot in my opinion because you don’t have any data. Some cats have a late nadir or a second nadir. Until you learn how Apollo will react a +11 or 11.5 will let you know if coming up at +12. The problem with stalling is they might drop lower because they haven’t eaten making it impossible to shoot. That’s why a +11 helps. Make sense?
That's a great idea!!! Will do a +11 tomorrow morning!! Gonna lower his dose to 1 unit tonight, hopefully dropping half a unit tonight will allow me to shoot in the AM. I was really wondering if I should have given him a token .25 dose for depot purposes. Today's a holiday tho, and some vets are closed, didn't want to risk a hypo I couldn't handle by myself. I have a kit, but I also don't want to put Apollo thru the stress of a hypo.
 
Max dropped into the 30’s yet never had a symptomatic hypo. As long as you test and know how to feed them to bring them up and stay on it until safe you won’t either. Some people don’t fear one and they are the ones I worry about. They get a low,feed, they come up to 60 and leave. They don’t keep testing to see if they drop again. Once low they need to be able to go 2 hours without food in safe numbers before you can stop testing. If ever you get a low number add the 911 prefix to your post and you will get help.
 
Max dropped into the 30’s yet never had a symptomatic hypo. As long as you test and know how to feed them to bring them up and stay on it until safe you won’t either. Some people don’t fear one and they are the ones I worry about. They get a low,feed, they come up to 60 and leave. They don’t keep testing to see if they drop again. Once low they need to be able to go 2 hours without food in safe numbers before you can stop testing. If ever you get a low number add the 911 prefix to your post and you will get help.
I prefer to err on the side of caution. Fortunately, I haven't had to use my hypo kit. (Knocking on my head (wood). :D
 
I prefer to err on the side of caution. Fortunately, I haven't had to use my hypo kit. (Knocking on my head (wood). :D
With TR he will drop under 50. That’s the time for the hypo kit or to go grab hc and Karo or honey. Under 50 is how a reduction is earned. None of us want to see under 40 but even when testing a lot it can happen.
 
Sorry I couldn't stay on this morning. I just wanted to give you things to consider to help you make your decision and also hopefully bump up your post to get more replies. I get a +10ish test in the morning with Furball and it is a big help in making the decision for her morning shot.
 
Sorry I couldn't stay on this morning. I just wanted to give you things to consider to help you make your decision and also hopefully bump up your post to get more replies. I get a +10ish test in the morning with Furball and it is a big help in making the decision for her morning shot.
Someone else made the same +11ish test comment. Gonna do that tomorrow AM. THANKS!! :cat:
 
Ok. I’ll leave you to others.

Thanks alot for your help, and I understand that there are reasons for how things are done. I just think that handling the person's conceived crises, w/o any criticism is more important. The last thing they need is something as dumb as a title to distract from the important thing, their animal. Maybe, instead of adding that criticism to the post asking for help, a personal message, AFTER the concerns have been addressed is the way it should be done. Nobody likes being called out in front of everyone! Especially someone new. Me, I put the animal first, the rest is just unnecessary noise that drags folks down further. We're already feeling bad enough because our cat is going thru it's issues, we don't need to be dragged down further. It's really all about presentation/people skills...
 
Nobody likes being called out in front of everyone! Especially someone new. Me, I put the animal first, the rest is just unnecessary noise that drags folks down further. We're already feeling bad enough because our cat is going thru it's issues, we don't need to be dragged down further. It's really all about presentation/people skills...

After ALL the help @tiffmaxee gave you this morning you have the audacity to comment on HER people skills!

You need to take a lesson on people skills! WE have all been where you are, new with lots to learn. Now open your mind and LISTEN to the people trying to help you.

Otherwise everyone on here will come to know how you pay back their kindness and their time.
 
After ALL the help @tiffmaxee gave you this morning you have the audacity to comment on HER people skills!

You need to take a lesson on people skills! WE have all been where you are, new with lots to learn. Now open your mind and LISTEN to the people trying to help you.

Otherwise everyone on here will come to know how you pay back their kindness and their time.

You forgot to post my ENTIRE quote!! Or did you miss it?? Like her, you FAIL to understand, you don't get it! here's the ENTIRE POST, so everything is in its proper context!!

"Thanks alot for your help, and I understand that there are reasons for how things are done. I just think that handling the person's conceived crises, w/o any criticism is more important. The last thing they need is something as dumb as a title to distract from the important thing, their animal. Maybe, instead of adding that criticism to the post asking for help, a personal message, AFTER the concerns have been addressed is the way it should be done. Nobody likes being called out in front of everyone! Especially someone new. Me, I put the animal first, the rest is just unnecessary noise that drags folks down further. We're already feeling bad enough because our cat is going thru it's issues, we don't need to be dragged down further. It's really all about presentation/people skills..."
 
I didn't forget a single thing.

The way you're behaving is that temper of yours and your ungrateful attitude. You are NOT putting your animal first - you're putting your feelings first!

You were asked to do a simple thing...so go ahead...do that simple thing - FIX your title.
 
I didn't forget a single thing.

The way you're behaving is that temper of yours and your ungrateful attitude. You are NOT putting your animal first - you're putting your feelings first!

You were asked to do a simple thing...so go ahead...do that simple thing - FIX your title.
You know what, I don't need this ****... I'll leave since you don't want me here!! I can find another source for help! YOU FIX MY DAMN TITLE IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT!!
 
Maybe, instead of adding that criticism to the post asking for help, a personal message, AFTER the concerns have been addressed is the way it should be done. Nobody likes being called out in front of everyone!

Dave, a "housekeeping note" is just that....something you need to learn for the "next time" (or once things are stable with your cat you can go back and fix). It's not an order that you have to comply with right that second.

Nobody "called you out".....and if you have enough time to go through and read lots of other people's posts, you'll see lots of "housekeeping" tips given to other newbies. It's just so that people learn the most effective way to post here.

As I said on the FB group, the people with experience (and the time) scan those titles looking for people who might be in trouble first. By having them done in a certain format makes it easier for us to see who might be getting into trouble and not even knowing it. (like a fast drop or a big drop in numbers)

This board truly is the best place you want to be if you want to help give Apollo his best chance at a long, healthy life (and even possibly remission). Don't take people's suggestions as criticism. There are hundreds of other cat's here and sometimes things come across wrong for the sake of expediency. Everybody has their own "style" too. Some are straight and to the point, others are more wordy.

Take a few deep breaths....it really is all about the cats here. Give it a chance.
 
Dave, a "housekeeping note" is just that....something you need to learn for the "next time" (or once things are stable with your cat you can go back and fix). It's not an order that you have to comply with right that second.

Nobody "called you out".....and if you have enough time to go through and read lots of other people's posts, you'll see lots of "housekeeping" tips given to other newbies. It's just so that people learn the most effective way to post here.

As I said on the FB group, the people with experience (and the time) scan those titles looking for people who might be in trouble first. By having them done in a certain format makes it easier for us to see who might be getting into trouble and not even knowing it. (like a fast drop or a big drop in numbers)

This board truly is the best place you want to be if you want to help give Apollo his best chance at a long, healthy life (and even possibly remission). Don't take people's suggestions as criticism. There are hundreds of other cat's here and sometimes things come across wrong for the sake of expediency. Everybody has their own "style" too. Some are straight and to the point, others are more wordy.

Take a few deep breaths....it really is all about the cats here. Give it a chance.

I sure as hell don't want to make another post! I'm sorry I didn't get the title right, but I sure as hell didn't need someone to jump down my throat about that, while I am trying to deal with my cat's health. In the future, maybe a moderator/staff member, can make the suggestion that getting the person's conceived problem handled first is the most important thing, AND, instead of publicly admonishing them about something as petty as a title, a personal message AFTER the cat's issue is resolved would be a better way to handle things like "housekeeping". I didn't come here to be insulted!
 
I'm sorry to see you leave Dave, but more importantly, I am sorry that Apollo is going too. We really would have liked to help him here.

I will say that lately there has been a bit too much emphasis on getting people to follow suggestions for formatting subject lines when they are new, instead of answering their questions first. However, in this case, I think subject line formats didn't come up until the issue of shooting or not and what to shoot had been resolved. One of the reasons for having a cats name in the subject line, is that we like to keep an eye on new people, to see how they are doing.

Again, sorry you didn't get the information in time for you. Our Sticky Notes are meant to help bridge that gap should it happen that no one is on. I am one of those Canadians for whom it is Thanksgiving. For future reference, you can shoot up to 1/2 hour late with Lantus, and still be on schedule. Any more than that, and you can go back on schedule by 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per cycle.
 
I'm sorry to see you leave Dave, but more importantly, I am sorry that Apollo is going too. We really would have liked to help him here.

I will say that lately there has been a bit too much emphasis on getting people to follow suggestions for formatting subject lines when they are new, instead of answering their questions first. However, in this case, I think subject line formats didn't come up until the issue of shooting or not and what to shoot had been resolved. One of the reasons for having a cats name in the subject line, is that we like to keep an eye on new people, to see how they are doing.

Again, sorry you didn't get the information in time for you. Our Sticky Notes are meant to help bridge that gap should it happen that no one is on. I am one of those Canadians for whom it is Thanksgiving. For future reference, you can shoot up to 1/2 hour late with Lantus, and still be on schedule. Any more than that, and you can go back on schedule by 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per cycle.

Thanks for the advice on timing. Having been in management most of my civilian life, I learned not to criticize people/employees publicly. "Housekeeping" should be done via private message or not at all! Especially NEW people, this was my second post. New folks, like me, we come here because we're worried about our cat, we're new to all of this, we're confused and overwhelmed. PUBLIC criticism is the last thing we need and definitely not what we come here looking for. I have no problem being criticized. I do, however, have a problem with the where, when and how that criticism is given.

Maybe, as a moderator, you can do something about this. It's pretty simple, don't criticize on the thread, do it via PM...AFTER taking care of the cat. You can pass that on to other moderators and, maybe, post it where only the moderators can see it. I'm sure you folks have a way to communicate so all of you get it and are on the same page. I'm not leaving the board, I'm leaving the Lantus specific forum. After chatting with a moderator from the FB group I belong to, I think it's better I post in the general forum, where people worry more about the animal than they do a damn title!
 
It's not just moderators who comment on your thread. This is an open peer reviewed board where anyone can comment. Posting something just for moderators wouldn't change what you see. Having spent my working time in management too, I know that constructive feedback is best. We have put together guidelines on posting and advice giving and hope that people will read those and respond accordingly.

You will find more experienced Lantus dosing help here, but where you post is up to you. Good luck with the new Lantus dose. It does seem Apollo is reacting favourably to the change in insulin.
 
It's not just moderators who comment on your thread. This is an open peer reviewed board where anyone can comment. Posting something just for moderators wouldn't change what you see. Having spent my working time in management too, I know that constructive feedback is best. We have put together guidelines on posting and advice giving and hope that people will read those and respond accordingly.

You will find more experienced Lantus dosing help here, but where you post is up to you. Good luck with the new Lantus dose. It does seem Apollo is reacting favourably to the change in insulin.
Well then, isn't it the moderator who should be handling any "Housekeeping" issues?? If you aren't a moderator, you shouldn't be moderating, right???
 
Dave --

I agree that there's a lot of "do it this way" that can distract from a caregiver's immediate concern about their kitty. Wendy is right, it's not just moderators who offer information. If that were the case, FDMB would need to be paying my salary. I work full time. I'm not around a lot during the day and sometimes only around on a limited basis during the week. Everyone has a life outside of here and we all volunteer our time. Wendy and I assumed the Moderator role about a year ago after the death of a long time member/Moderator. It's taken 3 of us to do the work she did. Up until that time, I did much of the same work here as I do as a Moderator. I suspect that 10+ years here gives me some allowance for providing guidance.

Because there are other people who are also new, I will often precede a remark by saying that I'm offering a housekeeping tip. Hopefully it benefits the person I'm posting to and others who may be lurking. The other insulin support groups and Health have different conventions than this board. In part, it's because there are a lot of people using the depot insulins that these conventions were developed. I may often have several spreadsheets open at once, especially if there's a crisis going on. Having the cat's name on a post and spreadsheet means that the tabs on my computer allow me to juggle back and forth without confusing the cat, spreadsheet, etc. (and I can easily get confused especially if the thread is long).

There is a lot to learn with starting a new insulin. There is also a great deal of expertise here. I would hate to see you leave this forum. You can always get help on Health. Whatever you decide is fine. You can tag me or Wendy if you have a question. As our webmaster, Robert, noted, things needed to calm down so we can get your questions answered.
 
Dave --

I agree that there's a lot of "do it this way" that can distract from a caregiver's immediate concern about their kitty. Wendy is right, it's not just moderators who offer information. If that were the case, FDMB would need to be paying my salary. I work full time. I'm not around a lot during the day and sometimes only around on a limited basis during the week. Everyone has a life outside of here and we all volunteer our time. Wendy and I assumed the Moderator role about a year ago after the death of a long time member/Moderator. It's taken 3 of us to do the work she did. Up until that time, I did much of the same work here as I do as a Moderator. I suspect that 10+ years here gives me some allowance for providing guidance.

Because there are other people who are also new, I will often precede a remark by saying that I'm offering a housekeeping tip. Hopefully it benefits the person I'm posting to and others who may be lurking. The other insulin support groups and Health have different conventions than this board. In part, it's because there are a lot of people using the depot insulins that these conventions were developed. I may often have several spreadsheets open at once, especially if there's a crisis going on. Having the cat's name on a post and spreadsheet means that the tabs on my computer allow me to juggle back and forth without confusing the cat, spreadsheet, etc. (and I can easily get confused especially if the thread is long).

There is a lot to learn with starting a new insulin. There is also a great deal of expertise here. I would hate to see you leave this forum. You can always get help on Health. Whatever you decide is fine. You can tag me or Wendy if you have a question. As our webmaster, Robert, noted, things needed to calm down so we can get your questions answered.

Just moving to the General forum, which was suggested by the person that recommended this board. Actually, it pretty simple, "housekeeping" is something moderators do and that should be the rule. It shouldn't be coming from regular members! Also, even if it wasn't a moderator, nobody like being dressed down in public. Having had many employees in my civilian career, I have learned that corrective action is best handled one on one, not in front of the coworkers and peers. The person that did it to me, IMO had no right to be correcting me, that's not their job, that's why messaging boards have moderators... to moderate and enforce the rules. NOBODY, other than a person with authority over the board should e correcting anyone else. That's just my opinion, but I can tell you I have received many messages, both here and on FB, that many people feel the same way, they just aren't as vocal about it as I am. To me, a new person, I don't see the "moderator" label, I wonder who the hell they think they are jumping down my throat without any type of authority to do so. This was my second post, and that's not the kind of welcome I expected. I expected folks to be concerned about my cat, and to give me solid advice. New folks, like me, we come here because we're worried about our cat, we're new to all of this, we're confused and overwhelmed. The last thing we are looking for is crap about a title not being formatted correctly. I have no problem with criticism, I do have a problem with where, when and how this was given. This is just my 2 cents worth but, there have been at least 10 others who have messaged me and feel the same way.

Moderators should be the only ones calling people out for housekeeping issues, and it should be done privately so the person doesn't feel embarrassed or insulted. In fact, the moderators should be correcting those that act like they're moderators, there's a reason people have a moderator tag, otherwise everyone would have it. :)

Thank you for taking the time to respond. The only thing I really care about is my cat, the rest of it is just unnecessary noise.
 
Thanks alot for your help, and I understand that there are reasons for how things are done. I just think that handling the person's conceived crises, w/o any criticism is more important. The last thing they need is something as dumb as a title to distract from the important thing, their animal. Maybe, instead of adding that criticism to the post asking for help, a personal message, AFTER the concerns have been addressed is the way it should be done. Nobody likes being called out in front of everyone! Especially someone new. Me, I put the animal first, the rest is just unnecessary noise that drags folks down further. We're already feeling bad enough because our cat is going thru it's issues, we don't need to be dragged down further. It's really all about presentation/people skills...

Hey Dave, I've been on this board for a month. At first I was surprised people were telling me about titles, etc. and what to do. Then I realized, they were giving me instructions about how they could best help me. So I followed them to the letter and everything is going great. I'm learning what I need to do to best help my cat and I have some of the best support on the planet for this.

Yah I get you are upset. To me it sounds like you are shooting at the helicopter that is trying to bring supplies to save your life.

I wish your cat does well and I hope you can experience some calm and come back and learn from these wonderful people.
 
Back
Top