10/12 Alex AMPS 488

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I gotta tell ya', I am very proud of my little Alex. I had a girlfriend at my apartment from Friday -Monday morning(she actually invited herself as she had a long weekend) and I was very nervous that this would upset Alex. He hasn't been very sociable since he was dx'd with diabetes and kind of protective of his 'areas'.
Not only did I not need to be worried about him..he was a charming little host. He was always there to help us whenever we ate anything! :lol: The night after the cheesecake and whipped cream almost disaster...he was there to help us(TRY to help us) enjoy some meatball and garlic pizza! Nancy started to let him lick some off her finger when I remembered garlic is toxic and pulled her hand away...but that was on her, not Alex. He was there with his fork and napkin and ready to eat. I guess we should have ordered plain.

Also, she insisted on buying toys for Alex and Jackson and I kind of told her not to go crazy because my cats aren't toy players...again, Alex made a monkey out of me. He was rolling on his back and playing with the catnip carrot with her in a way he hasn't played in a while. She asked if she could have string to swish it around with and I had to say no cause he's not allowed to get that excited cause of his heart. I never felt like more of a 'mean mommy' then at that moment :-|

So all in all, Alex did GREAT! On the other hand, Jackson hid most of the time and he was always good with my friends before..when she closed the door and went to bed, he came out.
These kitties are straaaaaange people :lol:

Alex is fine today. Ate a big breffis, all p's are in order and he and Jackson are taking their AM nappies.

Have a nice day everyone! :razz:

Two Days Ago
 
HI Caryl! :mrgreen: It's good to see such a happy report on your boys. And I'm very glad that Alex seems to be doing well again. Sounds like you had lots of fun this weekend!

I saw a while back that you were going 'off protocol'. I take it that it is working? Are you going with 10-hr dosing instead of 12?
 
Mindy & Max said:
HI Caryl! :mrgreen: It's good to see such a happy report on your boys. And I'm very glad that Alex seems to be doing well again. Sounds like you had lots of fun this weekend!

I saw a while back that you were going 'off protocol'. I take it that it is working? Are you going with 10-hr dosing instead of 12?

No..already done with that..on to the next :)

Alex is the 'host with the most'! he had a great time entertaining this past weekend! WHO KNEW?????? :lol:

how you doin', Mindy?
 
:lol: So what's the 'new' treatment plan? Or is it too complicated to explain? I know he's been a tough case to crack, but I'm guessing that whatever you're doing is working cuz he sounds like a happy man. :-D

We are doing well. Life, no WORK, has been insane lately. I was tied up in a project that ran well beyond its deadline, and saw very little of my desk for about a month. I'm still trying to dig out from under all the crap that landed on it in the meantime. And we had a fun round of the stomach flu at home--not the animals, just the humans. I really hate vomit, and I had the fun pleasure of watching both my kids do it all over the floor. DH and I got to have a sick day together--we both came down with it at the same time, so we shipped the kids off to the in-laws. Really, it was FUN! :roll:

Anyway, Max and Truman are both doing very well. Max's numbers have continued to stay in the happy realm, and as long as I stick with the same two flavors of Friskie's his tummy does not object (which is very good for the vomit-hating bean!). He and Truman had a good row the other day--Truman ended up with a good scratch right near his ear. It's really been funny to watch Max suddenly try to become the alpha male since coming off the insulin. He's NEVER been the alpha before, he's always deferred to his younger companion (Potter, now GA, and then Truman)...but not any more! And while he seems to not have much patience for Truman, Max has found infinite patience for the kids, which surprises me as well. He used to run from Casey, and now if he's needing attention he seeks her out...until she starts patting his head too hard. :lol: Really, tho, he seems very happy these days. He's due for his annual at the vetty-bean, and I need to call and make the appointment. I'm curious on his weight--he's definitely gained back all he lost before the diagnosis, and maybe some extra. I'm not sure I can do much about it tho since most of the low-carb foods are fairly high in fat. We might just have to settle for him being a little bigger than ideal. I certainly don't mind, I just don't want it to cause other health issues for him. He's still quite active, and jumping and climbing up to places he hasn't been in since we moved into the house, so the weight doesn't seem to be bothering him either.

I'm very glad to see all is well with you and your boys. I get nervous when I manage to check in here and don't see a post from you. Have things improved for you on the job front? A good friend of mine has been unemployed for almost 2 years, and finally landed a part-time job in his field that he starts next week.
 
Sounds like it was an enjoyable weekend....weekend at the Mean Mama's House! :lol:
Oh, those catnip toys get them every time...so nice that he showed his appreciation to your friend.
that is such a comical post Caryl.... :lol: Alex the Entertainer!! Great!!! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top