10/11 Paisley PMPS/160, +2.25/191, +5/191, +8/63, +10/173

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/11 Paisley AMPS/397, +3/305 PMBG/159, PMPS/160 Shot 3

SWEET on getting the strips when you thought the mail had already come!

like christmas in october :-D
 
Re: 10/11 Paisley AMPS/397, +3/305 PMBG/159, PMPS/160, +2.25

So far, so good. She's decided she's not getting more food or moths. I was mean and shut off the light over the kitchen sink. It attracts moths and moths were made for hunting. No hunting, no food = might just as well nap. She's laying against my leg and looks so peaceful. :smile: I hate to move but...

I'll check her again in a couple hours. That will be around +5. According to her spreadsheet, that should show if she's going to go low tonight.

Is it common for a cat to have one cycle during the 24 hour period be high and the other be low? How does that work out in the long run with dose to shoot?
 
Thank you

We should be good with strips for a while. Thanks V. I'm on disability and had been doing some sub. teaching. With things being so up and down with Paisley and her shot time being during school hours, I don't have that little extra money I counted on. We've also used a lot more strips than I'd anticipated we would need. Luckily, people have been generous to donate to DCIN, LLEF and the like. Who knew that a box of test strips would be cause for tears. If you've donated supplies or money, know how much it is appreciated by those who have needed it. Hopefully I'll eventually be in a position where I can give back.

When I look at Barry, I know he would be dead if it weren't for this website. The information I gathered here and took to the shelter tipped the balance towards life for Barry. I was a "failed" cat sitter. Because of being on disability and a more flexible schedule, it was decided I could care for Barry with the constancy needed. With help from FDMB, particularly Lantus Land members, Barry is thriving. Now with Paisley, you've provided suggestions and support. Most of all, you've been patient with me when something didn't make sense to me, even if most people would have considered it simple. From the bottom of my heart - Thank You. Thank you for helping me save two lives. Thank you for giving me the information and courage to stand up to the vets and do what I know is the right thing. You are all so amazing and so very special.
 
Re: 10/11 Paisley AMPS/397, +3/305 PMBG/159, PMPS/160, +2.25

It is a magical place, isn't it? We too, are grateful for all that has been given to us here.

and you are an angel for helping Barry & Paisley :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/11 Paisley AMPS/397, +3/305 PMBG/159, PMPS/160, +2.25

lylene, i think you're the one who is amazing - you've given life to 2 kitters! that's no small thing!

so glad your strips arrived!

your question about high one cycle and low another - yes, that happens with some cats. immediately i'm thinking of marjorie's gracie - i've thought it looked like she has a 24 hour cycle instead of a 12 hour cycle.

it could be that it's really the low cycle first - so the cat's BG gets lower than usual, their liver panics and thinks they are going hypoglycemic and releases stored sugars to keep the kitty alive. the flood of sugars raises the BG and you have a cycle or two of higher numbers. then it evens out on that dose and you end up with another low number.

repeat.

as the kitty's body gets used to lower numbers then it starts perceiving those numbers as normal and the bouncing stops.

this is one reason why a lot of people ask for dose advice if they think they should increase the dose - until you can "read" the bounce in a spreadsheet it helps to have someone identify it and give you advice.

i'm just learning to do it myself, but i *think* the 39 on the 9th probably caused that release of sugars and hormones from the liver that ended in the 389 the morning of the 10th. i would guess that bounce is just starting to clear tonight. it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear and the numbers to settle down. when that happens then you start to see what the dose "really" does. don't increase the dose during that time, you borrow patience pants from marjorie and just wait til you can see it's cleared.
 
Re: 10/11 Paisley PMBG/159, PMPS1, +8/63

+8/63 Fed FF, which she inhaled. She has food aggression issues. Good thing she's not a drooler. ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top