10/11 Jubalee 283/+10, PMPS 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Juba's condo from 10/5:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-i-feel-another-bounce-happening-help.184985/

I just don't get this little girl!
She's been hovering in the mid-high 200's and 300's the past couple of days and it seems like nothing I'm doing is working!

We increased her dose to 1.25 units after waiting about 6 cycles for the crazy high bounce to clear, but it looks like it's doing nothing so far :(

I know I need to be patient, it's just hard seeing these pinks and not really being able to do anything about it...

I fell asleep on 10/9 and completely slept through my alarm causing me to not able to test Juba throughout the night...
That may have been where she went slightly lower, unfortunately we'll never know.

Does anyone have any advice?
Comments? Concerns?
 
I'm sort of a new comer with an Acro cat on Lantus so no advice but I did learn the patience pants can get awful tight at times. Juba's SS has some nice colors to it greens,blues yellows. I'd be patient maybe thinking about increase back to 1.5 if pinks continue next couple cycles. Your not into Red's and Bl..ks so that's good.
 
I agree. I would be patient and not be afraid to increase the dose when needed. I started giving my kitty George's Aloe Vera water...which a couple of beans are doing. (can't hurt.)
 
I'm not sure I have "the" answer but I have a couple of observations.

On 9/26, you really, really needed to reduce Juba's dose. Numbers under 40 mean an immediate dose reduction other than possibly shooting through the bounce. I'm not sure why your dropped the dose to 0.75u on 10/3 and then increased the dose back to 1.0u the next day. Back-to-back dose changes can result in wonky numbers and that may explain part of what you're seeing. One other thought is that if you're following TR, doses are held for 6 cycles if nadirs are consistently over 200 and held for 10 cycles if nadirs are consistently below 200. You may be holding some of the doses for too long. Keeping a kitty at a dose that is not within normal BG range can cause glucose toxicity to develop.

I would also urge you to be very cautious about shooting numbers in the 40s. I would shoot anything above 50 but I never shot numbers in the 40s. Even with shooting above 50, I always got early tests -- always a +1 and +2 and sometimes, even a +.05.

@Jadi & Tiffany - Please be very careful about giving your kitty Aloe. It can be toxic to cats and dogs. The actual aloe gel is not toxic so you need to read the ingredients in the product you're using carefully. Info on aloe safety.
 
Well Juba decided to crawl back up into the 300's tonight.

The lowest she got today was 221/+4, then decided to slowly but surely crawl back up!

I thought the nadir for Levemir was around the +8-9 mark???

This is the 5th cycle of 1.25 since that suspected bounce, so if by tomorrow afternoon there's still no greens, or at least low blues, we will be increasing to 1.5 units.
I think this is the highest dose we've had to increase her to since she's been on Levemir :(

Hopefully we will find a dose that makes her go lower...I'm very impatient!

Any advice or comments from anyone??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top