10/11 Garland Ketone scare today PMPS 310 increased dose .25

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 OMG-- A yellow :)

Hi guys .. way to go garland!! Mid yellow is definitely a nice starting point for the day .. hope it turns into some blue soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 OMG-- A yellow :)

A yellow girl today!! Pretty in yellow Garland. Think about adding some blue accessories.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7

Ketones 3.7 2nd test 4.6

Normal range is under 1.7

What do I do??? shes acting totally fine...
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Is she eating?? How is she behaving? retest for ketones

Just tested her again now its a 4.6 5 minutes later!!!!! Oh no!!!!

Shes is acting fine. Eating, drinking normally.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

This is a vet visit. In fact, it's an ASAP vet visit or a trip to the ER. You can't manage ketones that are beyond a trace level at home.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Sienne and Gabby said:
This is a vet visit. In fact, it's an ASAP vet visit or a trip to the ER. You can't manage ketones that are beyond a trace level at home.
What will they do when I get there. There is no way I can afford another ER stay. The last one was almost $5000. I cant believe this is happening again. ive been trying so hard to do everything right so she wouldnt get sick again... :cry:
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Called the ER, they are consulting with the doctor on duty and calling me back
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Hopefully, this will just be a fluid administration. Please make sure you get bloodwork (possibly a urinalysis, as well) done to rule out any infection that may be present. The benefit of being vigilant in testing for ketones in a ketone-prone cat is to avoid the costly (emotionally and $$$-wise) hospitalization.

The recipe for ketones in not enough insulin, infection, and not eating. It's likely that Garland's dose hasn't been high enough and it's possible there's an infection present or brewing. It's also why I mentioned yesterday to not hold on to a dose that's not working.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Violet don't worry about the money, we will figure that out .... do you have urine strips to use as a comparison?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

The nurse called me back and said the doctor on duty said since Garland is acting totally fine to wait until Dr Hill comes in at 1 since he knows Garlands case,etc. I asked what they would do if I brought her in and the nurse had no idea. So I told her to have him call me the SECOND he gets in. Its in about 2 hours. Im assuming Dr Hill will want to run bloodwork... I cant believe this. I dont know what Im going to do.

I have urine strips, its all about catching her in the litter box. Hopefully she will have to go soon. I only have one more strip left for the meter right now. Should I test her again?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Also, if she is eating a lot of this can be done at home, now that you are more experienced, do you still have R?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

If you put her in the box, will she go? getting a urine reading would be good. Don't use last strip, yet. When the strips came for the meter was there a key to be put in first, did you use that? AND don't panic! we are not at the beginning again, look how much you know.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Nancy and Payne said:
Also, if she is eating a lot of this can be done at home, now that you are more experienced, do you still have R?
I do, but its probably bad by now... it was opened around the middle of August...
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

sending the most fervent hopes for a good, affordable solution...
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Not if you kept it in the refrigerator just check the date on it .... I would really want a urine sample and is she eating?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

Nancy and Payne said:
Not if you kept it in the refrigerator just check the date on it .... I would really want a urine sample and is she eating?

Shes eating great! Already has had a 3oz can today. Im watching her to see when she goes to the litter box to grab a urine ketone test
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4.6

R doesn't go bad. I would not give R at this point in the cycle. The nadirs will overlap and you'll have way low numbers to contend with, as well.

I'm sorry to disagree with Nancy. Once ketones are at trace or lower, they can be managed at home. Above trace levels, it's too risky since things can move to DKA very quickly at that point.

As long as Garland is eating, add water to her food. This will help to flush the ketones.

Urine ketone testing is not to the minute. It takes a while for urine to be processed, collect, and for the cat to want to go pee. The urine ketone test reflects ketone levels that are hours old. The Precision Meter test (blood ketone testing) is to the minute and gives a more fine grained result.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Violet, you need to mix plenty of water into her food, make it kind of soupy

ETA - I'd hold off on the R for now.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Eating is important!! "usually" if they are eating they will not go into DKA .... remember just high ketones does not mean you are going DKA BUT it is a big warning that something is off. What time did you give your shot this morning ... where, as in +1,2,3
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

My comment was what to do while we are waiting on the vet .... I agree that high ketones need to be treated by a vet, my feeling was what to do so it doesn't get worse. Violet has used R and SQ fluids and has at home, I think SQ? rather than waiting for the vet and things to get worse, maybe do stuff from home.

I understand the seriousness of high ketones, I am an expert at treating BUT things can be done at home, I can remember when we NEVER mentioned using R and yet many of us did use it and now people do it all the time.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Okay, i did some research since my booklet is soooo vague.

Negative ketones is basically under 1.6
High Ketones is above 8.0

So at 4.6 I think shes at a trace level? What do you think?

Soupy food, got it! thanks!

Right now she is running around chasing a milk tab....
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Violet, the fact that she is acting well is very good BUT a 4.6 is moderate to high ketones, but do not panic!!
Do you have SQ fluids? it would be good if you have to give to her now .... that helps flush ketones. Where is the shot cycle is she?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

awww poor garland! It's like you guys can't catch a break, but don't worry .. we got it figured out last time and we'll get it figured out again!
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

The ketones are rising. 3.7 - 4.6. Are you getting fluids into her? I would consider that a moderately high reading.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

I honestly don't recall if Violet was giving squids at home. My concern would be the amount of fluids to be administered -- too much can be a problem. I don't think she was giving squids. I think it's fairly close to when Violet's vet will be in the office -- or at least I hope it is.

Violet -- I think 3.0 on the ketone meter is trace for many cats.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

So shes moderate to high ketones.... what does this mean? how bad is it? how fast do ketones rise? should i just take her up there and tell them to run a urinalysis (results take 24 hours i think) and give her fluids?

Ive never given her fluids myself here at home...

Gave her shot this morning at 830. Its noon now
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

sending lots of healing vines to Garland so happy to hear she is playing that has to be a good sign
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Ketones can turn quickly, has the vet called back? You are going to need to take her in, she will need SQ fluids and R .... don't worry about anything except Garland, we will work it out.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

The Dr comes in at 1. I will assume it will be about 130 before I hear back from him. I have to pick my 3year old up at preschool at 2. So I most likely will take Garland up to the vet after picking up her. So around 230. Its 1230 now. Im totally stressing out about this. nailbite_smile

EDIT- Caught her in the box, its hard to tell, but the color on the stick looks to be the "small" color. The range is Negative, Trace, Small, Moderate, Large
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Small is good and Violet don't panic! She is eating and she is playing, we will work through this. It is too late in the cycle to give R except at a vet's office but SOMETHING is causing this .... but we will find ... so don't worry.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

An alternative since I think you're in Central time is to take Garland to the vet. They can draw blood for general labs and ketones and get IV fluids started. The vet will decide if they need to manage her BG level. You can let them get started with this while you're picking your daughter up and then go back to the vet's office.

The levels are not totally off the charts -- you caught this early, which is very good.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Sienne and Gabby said:
An alternative since I think you're in Central time is to take Garland to the vet. They can draw blood for general labs and ketones and get IV fluids started. The vet will decide if they need to manage her BG level. You can let them get started with this while you're picking your daughter up and then go back to the vet's office.

The levels are not totally off the charts -- you caught this early, which is very good.

Its 130 now. Its too late for me to drive out there and be back by 2 (ER is 45 minutes away) Im about to call them back again since I still havent heard from them. I want to take her in right when I get Charlotte
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Talked to the Dr. (honestly he didnt seem all that concerned) BUT he did say i was part of an elite group of diabetic cat owners and I have more information than most and have been keeping a closer eye on her. :-D

So he said he would do an urinalysis to test ketones. He wants to increase her insulin.

If the urinalysis results come back around 2 or 3 (which is high on their test) he said probably do some fluids or increasing insulin more, if they come back around 1 (trace) then just to wait it out, see how she is acting, eating, etc...

He said as long as she is eating and acting well, there wont be any big "treatment" other than increasing insulin. He said he didnt think she needed fluids, but if i wanted them, he would do it.

So, im about to take her up there in about 30, i should do the urinalysis and fluids right? the test results will be back in tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

I think because she got so high on the meter you should take her in for fluids and to test her urine, something caused the spike. Just don't worry, it will be all right.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

I think you need blood work to rule out any underlying infection (i.e., an elevated white count). They can also get a blood ketone test. The only reason for a urinalysis is to test for a urinary track infection.
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Just got back from the vet (after being up there THREE hours!)

Ended up doing a urinalysis and a blood panel. They also had to sedate her for the testing because they couldnt get her out of her carrier.(hissing, growling, scratching) LOL I warned them how feisty she is. I remember when she was sick and in the ER that week, everyone telling me how sweet and lovable she was. I told them thats how I knew she felt bad, bc Garland is the opposite of sweet and loving to strangers :lol:

The results will be in tomorrow. Thanks everyone for all the support today ((hugs)) I hope these results come back with some good news....
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

I guess that's good that she was hissing and scratching? ;-) Hope the results are good. Big hugs for you and healing energy for Garland.
Liz
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Good thoughts coming from us, too!!! Glad to hear how fiesty Garland was when they tried to mess with her!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Oh yea, Garland is totally feisty. :-D She is acting just fine. Like her normal self. I check her ketones at least once a week just to make sure everything is okay, even if she is acting normal. The doctor didnt seem to concerned since she is eating and drinking fine. But we will see what the test results say
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Fingers crossed for good test results! Abd sending healing vines- just in case!
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

So the doctor wants me to raise her dose... i just raised it from 3.75 to 4.0 last night. What should I shoot tonight?
 
Re: 10/11 Garland AMPS 263 +2 277 Ketones 3.7 // 2nd test 4

Violet and Garland said:
So the doctor wants me to raise her dose... i just raised it from 3.75 to 4.0 last night. What should I shoot tonight?
i understand his reasoning. he's talking about increasing to 4.25u? you'll have to monitor carefully.

another option is to incorporate the use of R as a bolus. i can't remember... have you used R with garland? i'm having trouble spotting it on your ss if you have.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top