10/11 Charlie amps:390 2.2U, pmps:328 2.2U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
His amps has never been this low before. I hope this means we are approaching his ideal dose! Full disclosure, though, I did have to use a different meter (freestyle lite) this morning cuz I ran out of test strips for my normal meter (rite aid true track). I sure don't think that would account for a difference of over 100 points, though. I hope not, anyway. I'll test around +5 or 6 to make sure he doesn't drop too low! I hope 2.2 u wasn't too much for his bg level- I think it should be ok cuz he has been dropping <250 points around his nadir, so that would still put him around 140. I'd love to see that number!!
 
Re: 10/11 Charlie amps:390 2.2U

Glad to hear he's coming down. Normal bg for a non diabetic cat is between 60 - 120. You've gotten used to seeing those high numbers.

It's a funny thing in the beginning we're scared of the high numbers but we gradually get used to them and then the lower numbers scare us :-D and we have to get used to those again.

I didn't look at you ss first, I'll go look now.
 
Re: 10/11 Charlie amps:390 2.2U

The meters might be different but the effect is the same, he is coming down nicely. It takes a few days for the new dose to settle in and show it's stuff.

We are sneaking up on the right dose. Start mentally preparing to increase to 2.4u. I can't wait to see what his nadir is.
 
Re: 10/11 Charlie amps:390 2.2U

I think I missed his nadir :(
+6:342, and that was 1.5 hours after eating, so I guess it wasn't still a food spike. How long does the food increase the bg? It's funny how nervous I was about shooting his 2.2 just cuz his reading was "only" 390. Sounds silly to veterans, I'm sure! Should I hold his normal dose as long as he's not under 200?
Thanks for the encouragement!
 
Re: 10/11 Charlie amps:390 2.2U

Pmps: 328! Gave 2.2 U. I guess his +6 must have still been from a food spike since he was lower at +12 than he was at +6. I hope I was right to stick to his 2.2u dose. I like these lower numbers, though. They just make me a little nervous.
 
It's normal to be nervous about the lowering bg's, like I said we get used to the higher numbers. You'll get used to the lower bg's too.

I'd say hold this dose for a few more cycles, I'm a fan of 3 to 5 days, he's still settling into the dose as you can see because he's still coming down. When he evens out, AMPS to PMPS, than we can evaluate what his cycle looks like and go from there.

You are doing a great job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top