10/11 bailey uk. giving levermir 1 more day!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126747&p=1309451#p1309451

im going to give the levermir 2 more cycles then heading back to lantus guys!
I know my boy more than anyone else and just know, have a gut feeling this was the wrong move.
im not prepared to watch my iccle guy deteriorate like he has done the last 2 weeks with the weakness in his legs and the constant weeing. we didn't have this even with all the bounces on lantus!
I know you peeps my think its the wrong decision but I just mentally and physically cant do it. its so hard watching him go through all this again. hes been miserable the last few days.back to sleeping under the radiator on his own. I feel responsible for him feeling this way and feel like its my fault so its only right I change him back and cope with the bounces than him feel like this :-(

this has been a tough ride for me and for my boy but I HAVE to do whats right for him. I hope you all understand!

edited to say...... ive given the levermir 15 days and barr the 3rd day on 4 units.weve not had a yellow. even pinks are few and far between! this happened when he was on ALOT of lantus which as crazy as it sounds makes me wonder whether hes on too much insulin yet showing no lows like his pancreas cant deal with it.he was poorly like this until I lowered the dose on lantus! bails is a one off in every way,even the vet says this and I just have to do whats best for him and right now I honestly don't think this lev is!
 
Anna

Of course, the decision is yours but I urge you to give it a little more time. When I switched Gracie to lev, she was on .75u of lantus. I had to take her up to 1.25u of levemir to start seeing the greens she was seeing at .75u of lantus. The most experienced LL member told me it could take weeks, if not longer, for Gracie to get to where she was on lantus. I'm so glad I stuck it out because she has done so very much better on Levemir.

If you keep him on it longer, stay with increasing every four cycles by 0.5u until you start seeing yellow. Then slow it down to every six cycles. Follow the protocol. If the nadirs are above 300, keep raising by .5u but if they are below 300, increase by .25u although if he gets up to about 6u, I'd increase by 0.5u and follow the protocol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top