10/11 AMPS 76, +8 112, PMPS 119, need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have not fed yet...20 minutes after his first test of the day he is now at 200, assuming it's safe to feed and shoot 0.25u now? It will be my first time using this dose and I'm hoping my syringes can handle it - they have 1/2 unit markings but they're so close together! I'm using 6mm 3/10ml 31gauge needles, are there better options out there?
 
U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use. I believe the 6mm refers to the needle length. People have different preferences regarding needle length. The critical factor is that you're using a U-100 syringe.

If you're having difficulty with the 0.25u increments, many of us have used a 4" digital caliper to insure consistency in dosing.
 
@Susan&Felix Yes, definitely a typo - thanks for catching that! And I love Hershel's name too..lends itself well to a multitude of nickames: Hershy, Herby, Hershfield, Chesterfield, even Marshmallow lol. Felix is such a cutie. Orange kitties are my favourite :)
 
We have a Caramello who gets called Marshmallow once in a while. Caramello's an orange boy, too, but fluffy.

Hershel's evolution of nicknames reminds me of a Siamese I used to know called Urban Camera: Samantha, Sam, Kitty Sam, Sitty Kam, City Cam, Urban Camera.
 
Confused by Hershel's PMPS of 74 which has fallen below what appeared to be his nadir of 77 at +6 after rising to 81 at +9. I did just open a new vial of AT test strips for my AT2 machine but I did a test first with the control solution and it appeared fine. He's acting normal, and I just fed his usual meal of Purina DM wet but will not be giving him insulin tonight. How often should I be checking his BG tonight?
 
Giving another bump up for help on interpreting your test numbers..
usually if you don’t give insulin you don’t need to worry about Hershel dropping too low, I used to take the opportunity to catch some much needed rest on the nights we skipped Gussies shots..
I took a peek at his spreadsheet and it looks really nice with those pretty green numbers in there! Today’s curve was very pretty!:D :cat:
 
Sorry nobody was able to answer your question last night. If you skip the shot, then get a +2 to be sure the cat is safe before you head off to bed. The depot is still in play.
 
Thanks so much @Mandy & Rex and @Gussie's mom. I was shocked that he was still so low this morning and has only come up a little since then. Planning ahead for my evening shot which isn't for 3 more hours. Should I stick with the 0.25u I tried yesterday? my vet tells me not to shoot if the pre-shot is less than 12mmol/L, but from what I understand from reading the boards, the decision of whether or not to shoot is based on the day's nadir, and not the pre-shot? If the pre-shot number is low, my understanding is that I should stall, wait 20 minutes without giving food, and then check again. If the number remains low, then no insulin? After multiple checks, what is the threshold for deciding whether or not to shoot? Just trying to wrap my head around all this new information and I'm just realizing now that after spending an exorbitant amount on AT test strips, all the numbers in the protocol are based on human meters and there is no reliable conversion for them. :confused:
 
You can try 0.25u if you are able to monitor. You don't have much data, though, so I don't know if it's safer to skip. If PMPS is higher than the last test, then you should be okay to shoot if you can monitor.
 
I'm pretty new and I'm sure someone more experienced can help but do you know yet which plan you are following, SLGS or TR? They each have different thresholds and you can read about them on stickys on the lantus page
 
I have looked at both protocols but can't tell what the main differences are between them. Would someone be willing to look at my spreadsheet and tell me which protocol would be best for me? I have a flexible work schedule and am generally able to monitor multiple times per day. I am mostly following my vet's instructions mixed in with advice I get on the forums. I sent her the numbers from Hershel's first week on Lantus and this was her response: "I would say that with his blood glucose going down to 4.7 and 3.1 sometimes I would feel comfortable with a permanent switch to 0.5 IU every 12 hours and continue to monitor his blood sugar prior to each injection. Continue to only give him the insulin if his blood glucose is above 12mmol/L. Please keep me updated and if his blood glucose continues to look like these values on the lower amount then we can talk about decreasing one dose to 0.25IU and keeping the other at 0.5IU."

Based on his current PMPS of 119, to shoot or not to shoot tonight is the question, and how much? I will be awake until about +3 or so.
 
I'm sorry Amy, I don't have enough experience to give you dosing advice. I know there are many more on here that should be able to help you out with this. I might add the pmps number to your title so people know you are ready to shoot or skip now, so sorry I can't be more help!
 
Thank you, Amy! I will probably skip tonight unless I hear from someone else as I am still too new and cautious to stray too far from my vet's suggestions. It looks like your Fluffles is doing great and even though I can't offer you any advice I'll definitely be awake for a while longer, sending you support!
 
I think for the sake of your sanity, you could skip tonight and start over at .25 in the morning if he's high enough

But (and this is an important "but") it really is important for you to be getting tests on the PM cycle.....even if it's just a +2 or +3 that can tell us a lot about what he might be doing later in the cycle.

Now IF you have plenty of supplies (strips, HC food, Karo/honey/syrup) and you can test as long as necessary tonight, I think you could go ahead and give the .25

I can't however stay up all night to watch you, so you need to take that into consideration too

You saw what happened when you skipped at 122...119 is pretty much the exact same number
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top