Tigger's Friend
Very Active Member
Good Morning All!
Tigger's URi is better, but swelling is unchanged (gooseberry size) Reg. vet wants me to call if eye swelling isn't better by today. I'd love some help with vet questions & how to proceed. To re-cap:
Tigger got URI Thursday 10/3. (accidentally vet's fault & they're treating him for free). Rx Azithromycin AB & fluids
Friday eve. enucleated (removed) eye socket swollen (marble size)
Saturday not-reg. vet said was prob. mucus & advised histamine. Vet also checked mouth- good. Gave Zyrtex + AB + Fluids + steam.
Sunday Tigger develops 104 fever, not v. interested in food. AB + Fluids + Zyrtex
Monday - Tigger's fever down. Eating well. Eye specialist won't see Tigger w/ active URI - says swelling is prob. a retrobulbar abscess / dental infection. OK'd reg. vet to sample fluid & recommends skull & dental xrays to confirm cause of swelling.
Reg. vet not want to do x-rays / anesthetize while Tigger's uri active -thinks x-ray won't pick up cause. Checks mouth - good - most teeth gone fr. stomatitis. Soft swelling under skin, not behind skull - good. Fluid sample - cells are mucus w/ sm. bacteria - not pus/abscess - good. Sample causes 1 blood drop on outside of Tigger's eye seam. Vet rxs new AB, clindamycin. If no improvement in 72 hours, recheck, possibly to sedate & drain. Gave Fluids, no zyrtec.
Monday night & Tuesday: Swelling increases to double - triple size (gooseberry). Tigger's uri symptoms worsen, but no fever & eating well, just miserable. Reg vet believes sample caused hematoma in socket - lots of small blood vessels there. Advised to wait unless develops fever / not eating. AB + fluids + steam.
Wednesday - No change in swelling. Eating, feeling better. BG still elevated
Thursday - No change in swelling. Eating, URI better. BG @ 462 - close to all time high.
Will need to see vet.
:?: 1) If need to sedate to drain - will that affect Tigger's BG / insulin situation?
:?: 2) Should I increase or hold Tigger's dose (7 cycles) at this point? He's still high & level
:?: 3) How long would it take a large hematoma to drain on its own?
:?: 4) Should I wait to drain swelling yet since it got worse after the sample - will it likely re-fill with whatever fluid filled it?
:?: 5) It's possible a root portion remains in gums from removed teeth - tho' vet saw no inflammation there, it's possible there's an infection. Should I insist on a dental / skull xray before draining even tho' Tigger's still sick & immunity weak? (vet has already offered to do a dental xray for free as a learning exercise when they get their new dental machine & Tigger's better)
Also, I'll call the specialist who removed the eye to see if she will do a phone consult. My questions are:
:?: 1) If Tigger's URi caused tearing / mucus accumulation in the enucleated eye socket, will it drain into the sinuses or is the cavity sealed off?
:?: 2) When eye is removed, is there any tissue / membrane remaining that could be affected by URI & cause tearing or swelling?
:?: 3) does she believe sample could have caused a large hematoma
:?: 4) is drainage the best course of action or is it best to wait if there is no fever?
Any other suggestions??? I'm trying not to seem like a crazy cat lady, but Tigger seems to always have horrible things happen to him - I'm worried this will affect his FD healing process, as well as his general immunity.
Thanks for all your help, sorry this is so long - I'm really trying to understand & help Tigger get over this & heal. I'd go crazy without this forum!!!
Tigger's URi is better, but swelling is unchanged (gooseberry size) Reg. vet wants me to call if eye swelling isn't better by today. I'd love some help with vet questions & how to proceed. To re-cap:
Tigger got URI Thursday 10/3. (accidentally vet's fault & they're treating him for free). Rx Azithromycin AB & fluids
Friday eve. enucleated (removed) eye socket swollen (marble size)
Saturday not-reg. vet said was prob. mucus & advised histamine. Vet also checked mouth- good. Gave Zyrtex + AB + Fluids + steam.
Sunday Tigger develops 104 fever, not v. interested in food. AB + Fluids + Zyrtex
Monday - Tigger's fever down. Eating well. Eye specialist won't see Tigger w/ active URI - says swelling is prob. a retrobulbar abscess / dental infection. OK'd reg. vet to sample fluid & recommends skull & dental xrays to confirm cause of swelling.
Reg. vet not want to do x-rays / anesthetize while Tigger's uri active -thinks x-ray won't pick up cause. Checks mouth - good - most teeth gone fr. stomatitis. Soft swelling under skin, not behind skull - good. Fluid sample - cells are mucus w/ sm. bacteria - not pus/abscess - good. Sample causes 1 blood drop on outside of Tigger's eye seam. Vet rxs new AB, clindamycin. If no improvement in 72 hours, recheck, possibly to sedate & drain. Gave Fluids, no zyrtec.
Monday night & Tuesday: Swelling increases to double - triple size (gooseberry). Tigger's uri symptoms worsen, but no fever & eating well, just miserable. Reg vet believes sample caused hematoma in socket - lots of small blood vessels there. Advised to wait unless develops fever / not eating. AB + fluids + steam.
Wednesday - No change in swelling. Eating, feeling better. BG still elevated
Thursday - No change in swelling. Eating, URI better. BG @ 462 - close to all time high.
Will need to see vet.
:?: 1) If need to sedate to drain - will that affect Tigger's BG / insulin situation?
:?: 2) Should I increase or hold Tigger's dose (7 cycles) at this point? He's still high & level
:?: 3) How long would it take a large hematoma to drain on its own?
:?: 4) Should I wait to drain swelling yet since it got worse after the sample - will it likely re-fill with whatever fluid filled it?
:?: 5) It's possible a root portion remains in gums from removed teeth - tho' vet saw no inflammation there, it's possible there's an infection. Should I insist on a dental / skull xray before draining even tho' Tigger's still sick & immunity weak? (vet has already offered to do a dental xray for free as a learning exercise when they get their new dental machine & Tigger's better)
Also, I'll call the specialist who removed the eye to see if she will do a phone consult. My questions are:
:?: 1) If Tigger's URi caused tearing / mucus accumulation in the enucleated eye socket, will it drain into the sinuses or is the cavity sealed off?
:?: 2) When eye is removed, is there any tissue / membrane remaining that could be affected by URI & cause tearing or swelling?
:?: 3) does she believe sample could have caused a large hematoma
:?: 4) is drainage the best course of action or is it best to wait if there is no fever?
Any other suggestions??? I'm trying not to seem like a crazy cat lady, but Tigger seems to always have horrible things happen to him - I'm worried this will affect his FD healing process, as well as his general immunity.
Thanks for all your help, sorry this is so long - I'm really trying to understand & help Tigger get over this & heal. I'd go crazy without this forum!!!