10/10, Tango, AMPS = 97, +3 = 63 dose advice

Hi all,

Tango has been having a good stretch of lower numbers. Wondering thoughts on maintaining the small dose? I did skip one as he was in the green pre shot and I was home so I could monitor his numbers that day.
 
Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-9-26-amps-286-pmps-173-2-52.294379/

Are you following SLGS or TR? With SLGS every drop below 90 is a dose reduction.

Tango seems to have flipped a switch and is doing really well! If you are feeding only canned or raw food (no dry) and can get one mid-cycle test in every cycle, I would suggest that you follow TR and take reductions at 50. TR enables a cat to spend more time in the normal range of numbers thus giving a chance for the pancreas to heal and improving the chances of remission. With Tango's history of ketones, he would also benefit from staying in better numbers.
 
With TR, you would reduce only if he drops below 50. The next dose after 0.25 is 0.10 and then a drop dose.

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Does he get small meals in the first part of the cycle? Or only with his shot?
 
He typically has a snack later in the cycle, due to work constraints. If I’m home (today) and check him, he will get small meals based on his numbers. With the 50 today, I gave him a small meal and will recheck this afternoon.

Seeing the increase in low numbers I have ordered a time wet food feeder to try and help stabilize him throughout the day and after his PM shot when I can’t feed him.

Thanks so much for the syringe pictures, that is helpful. I’ll keep him at 0.25 as we hover around 50 and then decrease if he drops.
 
Back
Top