10/10 Oz AMPS-281, +4-95, New Member

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian & Oz

Member Since 2014
Hello,
My name is Ian & Oz is my little buddy who was diagnosed with diabetes around 8/14/14.
I've been on the general health forum for awhile but was told now was a good time to head either here or the Tight Regulation
Lantus group & I'm not sure which one is right for Oz & daily life.
First & most important, this is his third day on a dose of 1.75u the past two days his levels have been going down pretty quickly
at the mid cycle readings. He started out at 281 this morning & by 1:00 pm (+4) he was at 95 a Very new number for all of us.
I gave him food (regular low carb) when I saw the 95 since the day before at that time he still dropped another 30 points by 2:30 pm.
I'm concerned about his shot tonight, I don't know whether to give the same dose, lower the dose or skip it & would appreciate any help you could give.
I definitely want to get him into remission & I'm wondering if that's possible with the relaxed approach.

Thank You
Ian
 
Hi everyone,

I was the person who mentioned to Ian that he may want to join an insulin-support group. Here are the previous posts from Health:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=124970&p=1294751#p1294751
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=125808&p=1301883#p1301883
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=125822&p=1302109#p1302109
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=125946&p=1302997#p1302997
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=126388&p=1306355#p1306355
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=126425&p=1306595#p1306595
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=126429&p=1306635#p1306635
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=126749&p=1309049#p1309049

Ian - sorry. I should have explained the "?" icon better. Go back to your very first post here and edit it. Up above the subject line, you'll see the icons (911, candles, OTJ, ?, etc.). Click on the question mark icon there. That way, you can see the question mark before actually opening up the thread. Does that make sense? Again - sorry about that! ohmygod_smile
 
Hi and welcome

I have seen your messages on the main forum.

I can't give advice as I am also a newbie but wanted to let you know my experience. At the moment I am posting on both the tight and relaxed forum and that seems okay to do. Whilst I think I might fall more into the relaxed forum I test quite a lot. I have also dealt with lower numbers recently and found that due to the nature of tight regulation protocol you will likely find more members online to help you. So if you need and quick/urgent response then I would suggest you post there first.

If you look on there you will find a thread from me from Wednesday where remi gave me a low number and I didn't know what to do. Their advice was invaluable and helped me through. You might find it relevant to your situation but I would also advise you start your own thread. Make sure if it is urgent you put that in the title along with the date and the BG reading. You will get replies.

Edit. Here is the thread. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126633&p=1308617#p1308617

Have a look at the stickies in both forums aswell. I really don't want up suggest something and it be wrong.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
I edited my post. I've linked the sticky

One thing about the tight regulation is that members post twice a day so threads more down quickly.

Just wanted to add that Mel is a fantastic moderator on this board and I am indebted to her for her no nonsense advice.
 
Greetings Ian and your extra sweet dude Oz

Remission is very possible with the Relaxed Lantus approach as I personally have two OTJ boys one who will celebrate 4 years insulin free the first of next month.

Yes we are a smaller group which has its perks and it drawbacks. The perks are we get to know you and your cat on a more intimate level the drawbackis sometimes it can be a little quiet in the middle of the night.

We aren't as formal about our posting rules around here since we aren'are smaller. Personally as the moderator and one of the more experienced care givers I don't required a new thread daily in fact I run mine for a month at a time. Nor do you need to post daily once you get the hang of things.

As far as tonight's shot if he's close to 200 then shoot as normal if below 200 post back with the reading and we can go from there. If I know you're going to post a preshot number and need help I'll be watching for you. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thank you Mel,
At this point everything is so unknown, so any bit of information is gold.
I will be testing at 9:00 pm central time & will post if the reading is below 200,
Thank you very much!

Ian
 
Awesome I'm in Central time as well so I'll keep an eye out for you. Off to go poke a kitty and feed the Fur Gang

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel,

Very sorry, I forgot which group I was posting in, I posted this at 9:00.

Hi All,
Well as usual it was the unexpected, he was at 354, we tested him twice, we gave him his (new) usual 1.75u.
Does that mean that this is a bounce from the 95 earlier today, since it was a new very low level?
If this is a bounce, do I stay at this dose & when the bounce clears is there going to be another surprise with a very low reading all of a sudden?

Ian
 
Just checked your spreadsheet and it looks like you two are good for tonight. :-D Don't be too surprised if he's fairly high tomorrow as its been awhile since his body felt those green numbers so more than likely his liver will panic and he'll bounce back up again. That is pretty common in the beginning but the longer he spends down there the less he'll bounce.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Lol we must have been posting at the same time. Yes that's the start of bounce. Once it clears you just keep shooting that dose. He earns a reduction if he falls below 50 anywhere in the cycle.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top