10/10 Oz AMPS-281, +4-95, New Member

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian & Oz

Member Since 2014
Hello,
My name is Ian & Oz is my little buddy who was diagnosed with diabetes around 8/14/14.
I've been on the general health forum for awhile but was told now was a good time to head either here or the relaxed
Lantus group & I'm not sure which one is right for Oz & daily life.
First & most important, this is his third day on a dose of 1.75u the past two days his levels have been going down pretty quickly
at the mid cycle readings. He started out at 281 this morning & by 1:00 pm (+4) he was at 95 a Very new number for all of us.
I gave him food (regular low carb) when I saw the 95 since the day before at that time he still dropped another 30 points by 2:30 pm.
I'm concerned about his shot tonight, I don't know whether to give the same dose, lower the dose or skip it & would appreciate any help you could give.

*Shelly, who sent me here, said I was testing enough for this group, I definitely want to get him into remission, but I'm wondering if I'll have to stay home most of the time to achieve this.

Thank You
Ian
 
Hi Ian and Oz,

Welcome to the TR forum. You'll find a lot of knowledge in here! I haven't read back through all of Oz's condos just yet, but wanted to stop by and say hi! :smile:

~Suzanne
 
Welcome Ian and Oz.

Looks like tonight was a night everyone went out for a while....

Wondering what your numbers are tonight....
Did you shoot?

Yay for touching the green floor! :mrgreen:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! This is possibly the best place you never wanted to be.

It looks to me like Oz really likes this dose! With the Tight Regulation Protocol, we hold the dose until numbers drop below 50. From the way the AM cycle looked, Oz hit the 95 and was then heading back up. Barring that he turned back around, you will likely be fine to shoot the 1.75u dose tonight.

FWIW, I work a full time job and have been managing Gabby's diabetes for 5 years. While there are times when I've had to alter my plans, it's just as important that you have a life as is making sure that your kitty is safe. Gabby has the deserved reputation for fast, early drops in her numbers. I work my testing times around this information. I've also learned to feed her early in the cycle to help offset those drops in numbers. The more you learn about Ozy's cycles, the better you'll be able to manage the cycle.

If you've not already done so, you may want to take a look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. They contain a great deal of information about the TR Protocol, Lantus, and the way this board works.
 
Hi All,
Well as usual it was the unexpected, he was at 354, we tested him twice, we gave him his (new) usual 1.75u.
Does that mean that this is a bounce from the 95 earlier today, since it was a new very low level?
If this is a bounce, do I stay at this dose & when the bounce clears is there going to be another surprise with a very low reading all of a sudden?

Ian
 
This is a bounce! Good call.

It can take up to roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. So the order of the day is to be patient.

There's really no way to know what Oz"s numbers will look like once the bounce clears. What you can likely expect is that you'll start to see more cycles with nadirs that are in better numbers. It will still take some tinkering with the dose but this is a good sign that Oz is liking Lantus.
 
It probably is the start of a bounce for Oz; grabbing a test before bed will help us figure that out for sure. You just have to hold the dose and wait the bounce out. Once it clears, he should get back into good numbers, and as he spends more and more time in the normal range, Oz will stop bouncing so much.

Hang in there. You really are doing great!

Edit: Sorry - Sienne beat me to the punch. :-D
 
Hi Ian and Oz ..... you have definitely come to the right place to help you get through this !
You can do the shots and testing and work a full time job...it just takes some getting use to. With the help of the people here I hope that you can get Oz in remission soon. Trust the advice you will get here ...they are so knowledgeable and supportive and will Coaćh you through this. Just wanted to say welcome and let you know that you can do this !
 
Hi and welcome to LL. As already stated you will find wonderful people here that will help you guide Oz through this dance. I hope the bounce clears quickly and Oz gets back to business.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top