10/10 Milo PMPS 346 Hi pm low am how to get stable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53938

Milo had a 98 reading this morning and I wasnt comfortable shooting since I would be at work all day, how am I going to get to a place where I can shoot him every 12 hours, it's like he is all over the place and I am afraid to shoot 1 unit with a 98 reading because my last data showed he stayed low all day, I started doing his food diffrent today, but he only felt like eating one can before pm shot and I just gave him another and he ate half so far. I am trying to get him on a 1 unit am and om shot. Is this normal that there is such a major difference to the point I keep not shooting? Other than this high evening number he is feeling good, purring and some what playful, but I am never going to get better control of this not being consistant. Has anyone ever experienced this? And is there anything I can do?
 
In part, the issue is you're not comfortable shooting low. That's OK -- you really don't have a lot of data yet and if you don't have the data, we discourage shooting low.

The numbers are jumping around because you're skipping shots. The alternative is to drop the dose further so the numbers may be a bit higher but you'll be able to shoot every 12 hours. How about a dose of 0.5u?

Just to be sure -- has Milo ever had ketones and are you testing for ketones?
 
No he has never had them and I do not test for them, I just feel like Im never gonna get this straigtned out ugh!!! and I hate him going with out a shot. I am off tomorrow so I will be able to test and watch him all day so I hope I can shoot at lease a .50 and stick with it... is this normal?? Should I be testing for Ketones?
 
Actually...it is quite normal. Part of getting them regulated is sometimes getting the bean "regulated." You need time to get comfortable with what you are doing and learning how it is affecting you cat.

Some people start at 1u and go up...other's get reductions.

Milo will bounce around for a bit and it isn't all the unusual. Hopefully we can get him through Liver Training School as a quick study. :cool:
 
Here's my spin. I think Milo was started on too high of a dose (3.0u) and was eating dry. D/M is 13% carb -- if I'm remembering correctly. Once you started feeding canned, Milo's insulin requirements have dropped. Now it's a matter of your becoming more comfortable with lower pre-shots, getting enough data so you are comfortable with shooting progressively lower numbers, and finding a dose that allows you to do this.

It doesn't happen with everyone but we see this process of re-setting the initial dose enough that it's not out of the ordinary.
 
Yes, all that makes sense. My vet had me increase by 1 unit everytime he was high, and he was eating alot of dm freely so with the food and the missing of shots I can see where it could happen and Im glad to know I'm not the only one struggling! I am sure we will get it together soon!! I cant tell u how much I appreciate you all, you all have been so helpful... thank you...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top