Jdubs
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-mar-lei-amps-317.269400/#post-3006789
Shall we go 2f tonight?
Shall we go 2f tonight?
No need to apologize. We have all been where you are and know exactly what you are going through.I am here because it wasn't working and we need help. Sorry if I keep putting a spanner in the works. I will follow your lead.

Ah ok this makes sense. So on an alphatrax with free style lite, the lower numbers could be the same in reality as the higher numbers I am seeing now with the alphatrax strips in the alphatrax metre?As far his numbers go, the AlphaTrak (and any pet meter) reads much higher than human meters. If you were using Freestyle Lite strips with the AlphaTrak, that might be one reason why you were seeing lower numbers and are seeing much higher numbers now. Take a look at this spreadsheet where there was a recent change from pet to human meter and see the difference. The numbers are much lower:
Yes. That's what I was thinking.Ah ok this makes sense. So on an alphatrax with free style lite, the lower numbers could be the same in reality as the higher numbers I am seeing now with the alphatrax strips in the alphatrax metre?
Many of us have met and heard of several vets who next to nothing about feline diabetes. They are all about prescribing the wrong insulin, high carb prescription food, poor dosing in terms of increases by whole units, not recommending home testing etc etc. But TR has worked for several cats here.And ive heard other people with respectful credentials saying the state of veterinary medicine is no different. (I'll dig out their actual quotes, if you are interested).....
Having said that, I know that there will be many good people working within these fields, doing incredible work and that will be finding its way through and especially I do have alot of faith in your experience and all the kind clever people here, - the fact that you have seen this process over and over and used these protocols to great effect. So this I do have so much respect for and gratitude for you.
It's too early to say. Even though he was diagnosed 8 months ago, you have been following TR for less than 2 weeks. i am hoping for the best.Is Mar Lei's process so far normal, or are you sensing he is a bit tricky? On the last protocol, I saw newer cats come in and get regulated quite fast, but just couldnt get there with Mar Lei. I do think he suits habits and schedules so I am really hoping here we will make progress.
Btw, how many strips of the AT do you have left?
If his nadirs start moving up. Let's see where he lands after he clears the bounce.When are you thinking we can raise the dose?
I believe the Freestyle Lite uses less blood than other human meters. Is getting blood an issue with Mar Lei?I looked up the really cheap one you recommended but I am worried about the fact I'll need alot more blood than I do with the alphatrax or freestyle lite.
I dont suppose you have any other recommendations for acceptable cheap metre that doesnt need as much blood as the SD code one?
How do we know the high numbers aren't simply because there isnt enough insulin on board?If his nadirs start moving up. Let's see where he lands after he clears the bounce.
The freestyle lite is fine and I will use up the test strips I have, but I would ideally like to get a metre with cheaper strips than the freestyle lite. The freestyle lite are £21 a box (50 strips) and the SD codex or whatever its called are £7 a box - 50 strips. That would really be a good drop in price. But the SD strips call for more blood.I believe the Freestyle Lite uses less blood than other human meters. Is getting blood an issue with Mar Lei?
Have you tried warming or massaging his ear before you poke? Sometimes you have to "milk" the ear after you poke to increase the size of the drop.I dont feel he has a problem with his blood as such. Sometimes I guess if I hit a vein it gushes and sometimes I really have to work the ears to get it, but as I am testing him alot I'd rather not always hot a vein, id like to be able to use lots of places so that its kinder on his ear. Some of those places dont give much blood.
This looks like a perfect option!!!! Thank you so so so so so so much!Looks like a meter called the Gluco Navii is also an option. See these posts:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-bewildered-member-continued.262958/#post-2947487
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-from-kent-uk.238676/#post-2682773
Any chance you can return the unopened AT strips and switch to the FSL (till you have strips) and then the Gluco Navii?This looks like a perfect option!!!! Thank you so so so so so so much!
They have already charged my insurance company.Any chance you can return the unopened AT strips and switch to the FSL (till you have strips) and then the Gluco Navii?
Nothing really. Just lower numbers when using a human meterThey have already charged my insurance company.
Why?
Because the cycles of higher numbers have come after a cycle of much lower numbers. You have seen, by now, that a preshot is not a determinant of how the cycle will play out or how low the BG will go.I hope you dont mind me asking but I am curious, I like to understand things.
How do we know the high numbers are bounce and aren't simply because there isnt enough insulin on board?